We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitschy, but in a good way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet-Hotel Adler

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chalet-Hotel Adler to your Saves list
Chalet-Hotel Adler
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aeussere Dorfstrasse 19 | 3718 Kandersteg, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Kitschy, but in a good way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Kanderstag in one of the infamous "love rooms" at the Adler on the third floor. The room would have been cute enough with its rustic charm, but the Adler is unabashedly trying make this room romantic. There were candles, heart-shaped pillows, heart-shaped chocolates, and assorted heart-shaped decorations. The only thing that seemed out of place was the gigantic flat screen tv that hung from the ceiling right over the bed. Our room had a jacuzzi tub that rolled onto the balcony, a feature we learned when we said "wonder what this button does?" Once you wrap your brain around the fact that you, the tub and part of the wall are slowly exiting the building, it's actually an enjoyable amenity. The love rooms at the Adler- check them out!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    60
    29
    16
    16
See reviews for
17
158
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wil
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel is located a 5 minute walk from the train station. You can use the blue buses free of charge after check-in. We stayed in the hotel for one night only having booked one of the bigger rooms the hotel offers. The room romantic and lovely decorated (incl big LCD TV). The bed was very comfortable. The light was not bright enough and should be replaced. The bathroom was offering a extendable jacuzzi which worked great. The bathroom facilities should be replaced though. They work great but look old. Everything else was great in there. The floors and room numbers should be renewed too in the next couple of years. Dinner and breakfast (nice continental breakfast) was delicious. There is actually only one thing I can complain about, the wellness area. Everything there needs to be renewed (they already started during our stay). The pool was ok, but the the cover for the outside area should be replaced as soon as possible. But think about that...you won't find too many *** star hotels which are actually offering a wellness area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed in room 36 - our second time in this room - the first time was 8 years ago on our honeymoon. I don't think this hotel would be close to as wonderful as I am describing if you don't have a room looking to the waterfall on the mountain with a jacuzzi tub that rolls out on rails on the balcony. The room was clean and nice. We purchased the package that includes the room and a romantic dinner for two. The dinner was very nice - a four-course meal with pepper steak and very imaginative accompanying courses (for example, a salmon mousse within a cannoli of beet juice gel - delicious!).

Stay in any room overlooking the mountains and with a jacuzzi tub that rolls out onto the balcony. Just not room 36 - that's the best room in the place, and it's ours. Don't expect a Marriott-style room. These rooms are a bit rustic, but it's appropriate in a place like this. It's good - really!

Room Tip: Absolutely choose a room with a roll-out jacuzzi tub on the side of the hotel overlooking the waterf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our second trip to Kandersteg and both times we have rented an apartment right behind the hotel. They are a real bargin even when you pay the cleaning charge. The apartments are large and clean. There is a nice market right across the street from the Adler that has a large choice of foods including fresh coffee at 7am in the morning along with a wide variety of fresh rolls and pastries. There is a small cheese shop around the corner that sells about 80 different kinds of cheese including some made by the owner. Buy some wine and cheese here and eat them on your patio or balcony and enjoy the view of the mountains towering over you. Sabine at the reception desk is most helpful.

Room Tip: If you rent an apartment ask for one overlooking the Kander River right behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The hotel is located close to the station, and at the main street of Kandersteg. We had a small room, with a beautiful view on the mountains. Our room had a balcony, but no jacuzzi or other specialties, like some other (more expensive) rooms. The room was small, but lovely decorated with woodwork and bright colors. The finishing touch was a bit sloppy. Not much room for the luggage, except for a small walk-in closet, without light (didn´t work). Nice bathroom too, and everything spotless. The walls are paper-thin. Breakfast was good, and we had a couple of dinners in the hotel; but they were average. Staff was polite, but not particularly friendly. The swimmingpool was nice. Only thing here was, the lights kept going off and one of us had to go out to activate the sensor again. Another negative point was that the free wifi never worked. We stayed here for 5 days and it hasn´t worked at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The Adler Hotel is an awesome family run hotel. It is in a central location, the rooms are comfy and cosy, and the food in the restaurant is great, there is also a mini golf for downtime when you want a break from hiking/skiing

It is definitely in the heart of the village, and seems to be the most lively hotel around. (the locals seem to enjoy coming here to relax, which gives it a good atmosphere)

Room Tip: take the jacuzzi rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I had actually stayed at this hotel on another hiking trip about ten years ago. There is nothing wrong with this hotel but nothing particularly great either. Our room was rather small and, although we had the mountain view and a balcony, we were also right on the main street and right over the downstairs bar where the smokers sat outside and smoked and talked until relatively late. We could smell the cigarette smoke and the street noise required us to sleep with ear plugs.

One the positive side, the half board food was good. Although I would suggest considering another hotel off the busy street, a back facing room would probably be fine. This is what I had before. Give up the view for the quiet and you would probably also pay a little less. The hotel is also only about two blocks from the train station which makes it convenient.

There may be better choices in Kandersteg but this is an acceptable hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet-Hotel Adler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet-Hotel Adler

Address: Aeussere Dorfstrasse 19 | 3718 Kandersteg, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet-Hotel Adler 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Fetzer welcomes you to the Chalet-Hotel Adler in the bernese alps. Since 1906, already in the 3rd-5th generation, our family takes care of our guests. Our Hotel is based on tradition and innovation. The Hotel offers you comfortable Rooms all with balconies and beautiful views of the surroundings, some with fire-place and some with whirlpools. Apartments in chalet style, for small and big families can be hired. Couples will enjoy our Loverooms some with rolling whirlpools to the balcony. Of course we have a Wellness area with swimming pool, sauna and massage. If you are travelling by train, we will be pleased to pick you up at the station. Guests travelling by car can use our free parking lots. We hope to meet you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Chalet-Hotel Adler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Hotel Adler
Chalet Hotel Kandersteg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet-Hotel Adler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.