We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not in a tour group!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bernerhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bernerhof to your Saves list
Hotel Bernerhof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aeussere Dorfstrasse 37, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Gozo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not in a tour group!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel was cosy and friendly, but reviews I had read did not account for being a member of a tour group. I stayed there as part of a group in September and my criticism is of the food. The group's food was definitely not of the standard in the restaurant. For example: soup which tasted like a bouillon cube plus salty water; desserts were over-sweet and sickly always with 'squirty' cream; a fish curry had 2 bite-sized pieces of fish and 2 prawns in a sickly sauce, tinned pineapple - with 'squirty' cream [!] and cold fried banana - that evening we had to wait an hour for the dish, they clearly could not cope with 2 groups in the hotel; another fish dish was like fried thin cardboard. I did eat another good fish dish. The vegetarian food was apparently tasteless. All the meals were very salty, some people had to leave potatoes for example and vegetables soggy and overcooked. I suggest they need a less processed food approach to tour groups, and more staff for a faster service. The rooms are actually very unequal - some large and some so tiny that 2 people could barely pass each other.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    19
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
12
69
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Bernerhof which was the 6th place on our trip. We were personally greeted by the owners who introduced themselves with a friendly Handshake. They remembered our names throughout and just had wonderful interpersonal skills. This was not our experience at all places we have stayed.
The room had a magnificent view - it was roomy and the en-suite was ample.
The food was extremely nice and well prepared with notable attention to detail. The staff are a credit to the owners and I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I recently had a most enjoyable stay at the Hotel Bernerhof as part of a Great Rail Journeys holiday. The hotel is extremely well-managed by the owners and all the staff are very attentive. Our room was small, especially the en-suite, but this was compensated for with a glorious view of the mountains.

As we were with a group, we had a limited choice of dinner menu (one fish, one meat and one vegetarian, to be ordered beforehand in the morning) but what we got was of good quality. The only gripe would be the over-seasoning of the meat. The chef needs a lighter hand with the salt. Breakfast was excellent although the so-called soft boiled eggs weren't at all soft.

The spa facilities were excellent and very much appreciated after a day's walking in the mountains.

Overall, a highly recommendable hotel for mountain lovers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly reception by the owners, personally introducing themselves. We had two rooms. The larger was perfect with magnificent views however the twin which our kids stayed in was rather small.
Our meal in the restaurant was top quality however again with great service. Breakfast was a little disappointing with the only hot option being boiled eggs. Overall a very pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel is run by Claudia and Gerhard Lehrman who give their guests personal and friendly service, nothing seems too much trouble for them. Our tentative request to have breakfast on the terrace was met with an enthusiastic response and from then on for two weeks we enjoyed breakfast with mountain views.

The hotel's restaurant provided excellent meals, beautifully presented with a good choice of menu. The waiters gave attentive, cheery and personal service, always on hand to top up wine and water glasses

Kandersteg is set in a steep sided valley, sometimes sheer cliffs but cable cars can be used to get over these and onto the alpine valleys. Be warned that the walks can still be rather steep!

Room Tip: "Blumlisalp" rooms on the front look out over a meadow to a fantastic mountain view - but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I are presently staying in rm 103 at this fantastic hotel for a 9 night stay in the wonderful village of Kandersteg. I was going to wait until we got home to write a review but really couldn't wait! Not only is this the perfect base for exploring and walking but the hotel is without doubt one of the best I have stayed in for a long time, and we travel a lot. The owners Claudia and Gerhard go out of their way to be helpful and pleasant; the attention to detail is beyond belief. The rooms are lovely...we are in a superior double at the front with terrific views and private balcony. We are half-board and thank goodness...loads of choice for breakfast and the dinners...oh the dinners are amazing! The food is simply incredible, four courses every night with choices to suit everyone, of the very best flavours and presentation. The staff are attentive without being over-bearing and make sure that you have everything you wish. I might sound gushing but we are seriously impressed. We will sadly be leaving on Friday but will certainly be returning. Thanks to all.

Room Tip: Superior double at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This was our allotted hotel as part of an organised walking tour around Kandersteg. The food was very good and the service excellent. Located on the edge of the town it was quiet, but Kandersteg is small enough for everywhere to be accessible. The views are as picture postcard as can be got in any hotel. I would have no hesitation in using it again if I returned to Kandersteg.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bernerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernerhof

Address: Aeussere Dorfstrasse 37, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bernerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bernerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.