We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend in Kandersteg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hayloft

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandersteg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hayloft
Save
You added The Hayloft to your Saves list
Butschels, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Kandersteg B&B and Inns
Pécs
1 review
“Great weekend in Kandersteg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Surrounded by a beautiful landscape, we spent a great weekend with our amazing hosts Peter and Kerry. We have visited the Hayloft first in 2011, and ever since we are returning guests, because of the good food, the great hospitality, the romantic atmosphere of the rooms and the house. Dinners and breakfast promise not only fine food, but also great conversations and true cultural experience. The hot tub is the cherry on the top the cake, so one can be sure to spend a relaxing and great weekend!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
49
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Dear Reader,

With a group of friends we go back to Kandersteg now every year, as a matter of fact even more frequently than annually for the view, the mountains, the activities in the area. We always stay in Kerry's and Peter's home es they are the most welcoming family i have ever spent time with when travelling. The athmosphere is really like staying with friends, home-made meals together, great chats, laughs, good times! They never run out of jaw dropping or funny or just simply interesting stories as they experienced the world outside Switzerland fairly extensively;) The home is placed next to Via Ferrata and it has a hot tub outside, which is highly recommended to be used in the evening when the stars and the moon makes the view breathtaking. Go and have fun!
Gurly from Bangkok (not a shemale:)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is a magic place, competely relaxing and welcoming. We went there with our two kids and two dogs and met the most amazing hosts, Kerry and Peter as well as very nice and friendly guests. We had a large room for 6, wonderful breakfasts and an all around great time. Highly recommend this place for longer and short stays. We will be back...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is a fantastic place where you feel like at home!
Highly recommended to anyone, why taking an ordinary hotel when you can stay in such a special place with lovely hosts for less money! Will definitely be back very soon!

Room Tip: Select the hayloft room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is no ordinary B&B, this the Rauber family home, filled with big smiles, loving hugs and great banter, no wonder they are NUMBER ONE! After our millionth holiday to The Hayloft, it still feels like the first time all those years ago. Breakfast and dinner are a moreish affair, I have never left the table hungry....or sober (well I am on holiday after all)
The hot tub and its dramatic backdrop, is a fabulous addition,especially after skiing in Narnia! my husband and I love to drink fizz and gaze up at the night sky whilst relaxing in its warmth, towels are provided by the loving hosts.
Each morning when I wake up, I think "what shall I eat at breakfast?" the answer is pretty much everything, such a scrumptious spread of my favourite things it is hard to choose!
Not only are you trip advisor's number one, you are our number one too....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at the Hayloft for three nights in January. We definitely had an excellent stay; Kerry and Peter were absolutely perfect hosts in all respect: picked us up at the train station and gave all sort of useful advice. And not least both Anchor and Snorkel are lovely!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is the type of place you hope will remain a well kept secret, because it's, "Simply Superb!" There is little to add to what has been said by other reviewers, magical setting, delightful accommodaion and wonderful hosts. The breakfasts are great and do yourself a favour and check in for the evening meals. All in all, not to be missed! "

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hayloft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hayloft

Address: Butschels, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kandersteg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hayloft is 1200m above sea level, south-facing and stands in about two acres of its own meadowland. The property is bordered by a trout stream and is very quiet; it has its own private access track and there is NO passing traffic. We have a superb outdoor hot tub for you to use. The house boasts stunning mountain views (over 3,600m) in every direction, clear views of glaciers and a magnificent waterfall. The Hayloft is about 1 mile from the centre of the village of Kandersteg in the Bernese Oberland. Kandersteg is a rural working village but has a parallel tourist-based economy. The village has all the expected range of facilities without losing its unique Swiss atmosphere. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hayloft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.