We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hayloft

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandersteg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hayloft
Save
You added The Hayloft to your Saves list
Butschels, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Kandersteg B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Hayloft for two nights in July and had an incredible experience. Kerry, Peter, and James were wonderful hosts and some of the most interesting people we've ever met. They made us feel like family during our stay and provided us with delicious dinners each night. There was no shortage of laughter at the dinner table as they have great senses of humor and amazing stories. We also enjoyed their dog "Anchor" and their cat "Snorkel (Darth Snorkel)" They are very knowledgable about the area and were able to offer advice on where to hike. We would definitely like to return to Kandersteg someday and will stay nowhere other than the Hayloft. I really can't say enough. You'd be doing yourself a disservice if you were to visit this area and stay anywhere else. Thanks Kerry, Peter, James for such an amazing time!...... Jon and Ami, Austin TX

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
51
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Three friends, motorcycling through Europe and seeking a sanctuary in the Swiss mountains to chill out in - well, we found it!! Peter, Kerry and James could not have made us more welcome - from the chilled beers the minute we arrived to waving us on our way a few days later. We enjoyed breakfasts around the table with all, swapped stories with a drink in hand by the hot tub overlooking the waterfall and had two fantastic meals including a brilliant BBQ with local wine, endless jokes and Kerry ( eventually ) showing her prowess with the Swiss Horn. Magical memories with fantastic hosts in a magical place! Thanks you for making it so special.......oh and please can we stay again?

Jerry, MC and sausage eating Pete x

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Peter and Kerry are outstanding hosts, and the property is beautiful. Waterfall view. They served us great meals. Don't miss the wood-fired hot tub. The Oeschinsee is unbelieveable. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Depends on how many people you have. The 2 bed room just off the kitchen is nice, and the 6 bed off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had two lovely days in Kandersteg and loved staying at The Hayloft. Kerry and Peter are souch great hosts and are very helpful with everything. We can recommend this to anyone whether you travel alone, with family or with friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I booked a six night stay nine months in advance--to make sure that our month in Switzerland ended perfectly. The reviews were uncommonly positive, the valley another example of Berner Oberland superlatives. But it was even better than expected. And six nights? Long enough to feel we had made friends, but not long enough. Kandersteg overflows with beauty and there is a month of possibilities within an hour's train, bus, boat, or lift. But all this can be duplicated in a dozen other alpen valleys.

What is compelling about the Hayloft is the family that adopts you and the ancient farmhouse they have transformed. With only three cozy rooms, you will never get that hotel feel which separates the traveler from the experience. Peter, Kerry, and son James know all the best stories, activities, and walks. They mix their Swiss/English/Kiwi roots into a potion guaranteed to make the lucky traveler feel part of the village and part of the family. Meals are events to be savored and lingered over. (Do book the optional dinners!)

Avoid the Hayloft, however, if you have no sense of humor. Or, if you are afraid of the dog (a happy, tail-wagging, frisbee-fetching mutt) or cat (who allows you the privilege of her company and performances). We'd hate to recommend the wrong folks.

We've traveled widely--the Hayloft ties as one of the best experiences we've ever had.

Room Tip: The Hayloft has three rooms; one sleeps a small family; the other rooms are good for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed for a week at the Hayloft and had a great time. The house is lovely, very comfortable and the surroundings are beautiful. Kerry and Peter are great hosts and together with their son James really welcome you into their home. The food was delicious and we enjoyed the interesting and often hilarious conversations at mealtimes. Nothing seemed too much trouble and they were happy to help us plan our days. We would definitely recommend anyone going to Kandersteg to stay at the Hayloft, it is right at the top of our list of best places to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Kerry & Peter is the best couple I met in my entire life. I know them since the last year and I can confirm that no one will regret staying at the beautiful hayloft. They treated & helped me & my family (wife & 3 kids) in a very friendly manner. Everything is wonderful there. We are visiting them again next July 2012. For sure this place is our favourite and it is our annual vacation plan !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hayloft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hayloft

Address: Butschels, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kandersteg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hayloft is 1200m above sea level, south-facing and stands in about two acres of its own meadowland. The property is bordered by a trout stream and is very quiet; it has its own private access track and there is NO passing traffic. We have a superb outdoor hot tub for you to use. The house boasts stunning mountain views (over 3,600m) in every direction, clear views of glaciers and a magnificent waterfall. The Hayloft is about 1 mile from the centre of the village of Kandersteg in the Bernese Oberland. Kandersteg is a rural working village but has a parallel tourist-based economy. The village has all the expected range of facilities without losing its unique Swiss atmosphere. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hayloft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.