We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - poor hotel!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Restaurant Oeschinensee

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandersteg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel-Restaurant Oeschinensee
Save
You added Hotel-Restaurant Oeschinensee to your Saves list
Oeschinensee 10 | 3718 Kandersteg, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Kandersteg B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location - poor hotel!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, the lake and the mountains were fabulous but the hotel isn't worth the money! Rooms are too small, toilets and showers are not en-suite (which would be ok for a hostel but certainly not for a two star hotel). Dinner already at 5pm (kitchen closes at 6pm) and breakfast was just a bad joke. The dinner itself was quite ok but for what we got it was overpriced too. I'd love to go back and enjoy the beauty of the nature again, but I definitely wouldn't stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeschi1, Owner at Hotel-Restaurant Oeschinensee, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear nairn74.
Thank you for your honest feedback. In the meantime many things changed trying to improve our quality. The kitchen still closes earlier than in other hotels which is communicated with every reservation. Our brakfast variety has been improved over the last 2 years since you stayed in our house. However we still hope to welcome you another day in our house to prove that we can do better... All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
18
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

The location of the Hotel Oeschinensee is truly magical located on the shores of one of the most beautiful lakes in Switzerland. Teh hotel itself though fails to live up to this promise.

The kitchen shuts at 6 so if you are arriving after a long days walk make sure you are there early. The rooms and bathrooms in particular are not up to the standard of other similarly priced rooms nearby. You are paying a premium for the views.

Travelling companions stayed at the Berghaus Oeschinensee next door that has the same views but lower prices and a restaurant open in the evening. No competition.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeschi1, Owner at Hotel-Restaurant Oeschinensee, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear northumbrianscot
Thank you for your honest reply. We adapted dinner times and in the past 1 year we did not get any complaits again about dinner time. Taking complaints very seriously we are always trying to improve our quality.
We hope to welcome you again at Oeschinensee and send you our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

great location at 1600 m above sea level, close to Lake oeschinen, one of the most beautiful mountain lakes. Open in summer and winter, ideal area for trekking in summer and skiing/sleighing in winter. Food from schnitzel to pasta and Swiss meat and cheese.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

Hotel Oeschinensee is a great little family run hotel, located on the beautiful shores of Lake Oeschinen, abotu 1600 meters above see level. The hotel is only accessible by taking the chairlift up from Kandersteg, then hiking 20 minutes on foot to reach it. The hotel sits just directly on the lake. The restaurant is open only until 6, but if you plan to arrive afterwards, you can arrage for the hotel to provide you with a boxed meal. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. with the bathroom down the hall. There was a sink in the room. There was a great little meeting area in the middle of the hotel where guests gathered at night....they even had an "on your honor" self service bar with drink and finger foods for late night eating. Breakfast was very basic but included in the price. This hotel is a great starting point for many hikes in the Kandersteg area and has stunning views across the lake. We brought a portable grill and made a campfire everynight to BBQ meat. One day we rented a row boat to go across the lake to the see the many waterfalls that fall in to the lake. It was very cold for swimming even in July, as the lake is made from glacier melt. There was a playground at the hotel, and the cows were let to graze freely everyday right in front of the hotel. There was a horse carriage ride offered at 10 euros per person to take you back up hill to the chairlift to leave the hotel but I wouldn't count on it. You must be able to walk to get to this hotel, and please note that when the chairlifts close at 6 p.m. you will not be able to access the hotel, or leave the premises until the lifts open the next day. Great, relaxing hotel. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Oeschinensee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Oeschinensee

Address: Oeschinensee 10 | 3718 Kandersteg, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kandersteg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Restaurant Oeschinensee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.