We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cross country skiing at Christmas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ermitage Kandersteg

Hotel Ermitage Kandersteg
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Ermitage Kandersteg to your Saves list
Hotel Ermitage Kandersteg
Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Cross country skiing at Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

We made our first visit to Kandersteg in Dec 2011 at Christmas to try cross country skiing for the first time.
We chose the Ermitage for its' quiet, yet convenient location and good value.
We were not disappointed.
The welcome was warm and understated. Our room was fine, with roomy balcony overlooking the front of the hotel and the nearby skilift.
The food at the hotel was good. We were half board and enjoyed breakfast and the variety at dinner.
The Ermitage offers a quality stay at reasonable prices in a quiet location.
We had a great holiday in Kandersteg where we enjoyed the outdoors and the peace & quiet of the hotel at night.
We plan to return.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We've been going to Kandersteg for years and usually stay in a chalet, but for one reason or another we ended up booking a hotel for our skiing trip this year, and the Hotel Ermitage made a very good offer. The hotel is literally 10m from both a ski-hire shop and the cable car. You can sit and have breakfast and see when the cable car starts, or if a queue is starting to build up. If you prefer cross-country skiing then the tracks pass within 5m or so of the car park, so the location is really ideal. We didn't have to use the car once on this holiday.

The hotel itself is nicely laid out and decorated. When we arrived it was just at the start of dinner service, so they didn't have much time for us, but they gave us the key and we settled in, without having to fill in any forms or other administration. We had a family apartment consisting of two bedrooms with separate shower and toilet. It was underneath the dining room, but we had very little noise. The apartment even has its own separate door so you can get in and out without traipsing through the hotel in ski gear. The rooms were functional, rather than comfy, but were fine for us. The shower was very small though, and it would have been nice to have wi-fi.

The food was great: we were on a half-board package so there was a choice between two options for a starter, main course and dessert, with a salad bar and bread as well. With these options everyone managed to find something they liked. It's not fine dining, but it's certainly high quality. There is a typical continental breakfast, with lovely muesli. Service is friendly, but very discrete. It can get very busy if there are groups eating at the hotel, but the staff are attentive and responsive. The a la carte menu looked good, and plenty of people who were not staying at the hotel came in to eat, which must be a good sign.

Overall with the location, rooms, food and the price we had a very good stay.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a sun balcony - ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

This is small hotel ideally situated right next to the cable car station to Oeschinensee and five minutes walk from Kandersteg. The views are magnificent from all sides. Ample parking for visitors, nice restaurant and playground for kids. Excellent and friendly service.
Reasonable prices given the quality of the hotel. A really relaxing stay with nothing to complain about. I would definitely like to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

The hospitality was very family oriented and laid back. The restaurant and its menu were excellent specialising in local produce including quite a number of vegetarian meals. The wine selection was also good. Although the decor in some areas could be updated everything was in excellent condition. The ski room, which was easily accessible from the car park, included heated boot racks. The rooms themselves were nicely appointed with sufficient storage. The only negative was the lack of a lift for moving our baby's pram but it is only two floors, so is manageable.

  • Liked — Homely ambience and location
  • Disliked — Over heated rooms and lack of lift for pram
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ermitage Kandersteg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ermitage Kandersteg

Address: Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ermitage Kandersteg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ermitage Kandersteg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.