We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceptive advertising” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Cambrian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Cambrian to your Saves list
The Cambrian
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 7 | 3715 Adelboden, Adelboden 3715, Switzerland (Formerly Solis Cambrian Adelboden Hotel and Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Adelboden
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Deceptive advertising”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have never written a review on a hotel before, but felt compelled to do so relative to The Cambrian as I had such a bad experience. The advertising for this hotel is very deceptive. The photos on their website are taken from angles, and in locations which intentionally exclude the immediately surrounding buildings, to make you think you will be staying in a peaceful, park-like setting out in the countryside. On the contrary, the hotel is in the middle of a city, sandwiched between other buildings, and with tight parking. My wife and I were looking for a peaceful hotel in the countryside, and were willing to drive some distance to achieve this objective (The Cambrian is about 45 minutes away from all the major attractions in the Interlaken area). However, The Cambrian obviously doesn't meet the criteria of a countryside environment.

After we arrived at the hotel, I spoke to the manager, and explained that the setting of their property wasn't what we were expecting, with their website pictures leading us to believe the hotel was in a countryside setting. I told her that we didn't get the opportunity to travel to Europe very often, and wanted to make sure our trip wasn't ruined by staying in accommodations that weren't in line with our expectations. I went so far as to show her pictures of their website on my iPad, to let her know how their photographs were deceptive. We had booked the hotel for four nights, and were willing to pay for the first night, but then wanted to move to another hotel. The manager was totally inflexible, and informed me that my deposit was non-refundable, and that I would be required to pay 100% of the room rate for the duration of my booking. She had a contrary argument to any line of reasoning I presented to her. The upshot is, that if you plan on staying at the Cambrian, you better make sure you are 100% certain you want to stay at the property, as they won't let you get out of your booking, and you'll be stuck. They'll charge your credit card whether you stay at the property or move somewhere else.

As I previously mentioned, the parking is an issue at this hotel. The property is crammed into the middle of a city, with limited spaces in front of the hotel, and additional parking at the rear in a multi-level parking garage, with maze-like access to the hotel, which requires you to walk outside around the building. One night we came in late, and there was no parking available at the hotel, and I was required to park a block away. The hotel also requires you to pay $15 Francs per night for parking, which they don't let you know about until you arrive.

I also wanted to further elaborate on the inconvenient location of the hotel relative to all the major attractions in the Interlaken area, such as Jungfrau, the Lauterbrunnen Valley, the Schilthorn, etc. You will need to plan on driving 45 minutes to 1 hour to reach these major attractions. Then you'll have to drive back to the hotel at the end of the day, so you'll end up driving 1-1/2 to 2 hours every day to see the most spectacular features of this area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    116
    56
    14
    10
See reviews for
45
268
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a thoroughly rave review. No constructive criticism here. Pros/Cons:

Pros starting with the lobby: spacious yet oozing-with-coziness with many well-designed seating pockets - whether around an amazing smelling fire or out near the deck with killer views. There's a cool yet pointless bar off the lobby (pointless because there's no view). Instead I'd recommend ordering your drink from the bar and taking it out on the patio. Cons: Parking is offsite around the corner and can be a bit confusing to navigate. That said, it's certainly the best option for the hotel. Not sure where else you'd park. Oh, and I do not recommend the afternoon tea. It's expensive (as most things in Switzerland) for a poorly tended tea service with dry little date cakes. Why not order a glass of champagne or a Kirsch aperitif instead! Pros: even though our room did not have a view of the mountains, I cannot complain about waking up to green hills and chocolate box alpine houses and the sound of cowbells. The room was so beautiful, it was a dream room -- a dream room with a bed lit from underneath, topped with down-stuffed crisp white linens. Super spacious and well arranged to provide great use of space. The TV and cool book shelves provided a half wall in the middle of the room that made it feel like a suite. The bathroom was gorgeous and soothing, much like the rest of the space. Cons: how do you turn on the awesome looking towel warmer? Also why no iron in the room? Pros: the spectacular indoor pool and outdoor infinity pool are pure class. They are truly so memorable. There's no experience like this anywhere else in the world. This hotel just nails it. Cons: pool hours are limited, I would've liked it to stay open a couple hours later. I wasn't able to make it to the steam room/spa during my entire stay since I would always run out of time before they were about to close and I had to choose which I wanted to do. Ultimately the pool always won. So unfortunately I cannot speak to the steam room/spa facilities. Pros: far and away the best breakfast I've ever had in my journeys around the alps. It was so comprehensive and had such awesome variety... man that was a spectacular breakfast buffet!! I'd go back for the breakfast and pool alone -- not to mention the rooms, the space, the views, and on and on.

This hotel is perfection. A first class experience all the way -- at honest prices! What you're getting is actually a fantastic value for this thoroughly luxurious experience. I can't recommend it enough. If you don't like it you're probably devoid of fun and humanity.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Saphorin-Lavaux, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Born in Switzerland, having quite a good overview of hotel management, I was a bit disappointed by the hotel.
Yes, the design is perfect, the location is amazing, but it's not worth the price.
Rooms are not totally sound insulated, the spa is quite small and the outside pool cannot welcome more than a few couples. You definitely have to choose your moment to enjoy the spa, given the 71 rooms in the hotel !
Breakfast is a nice buffet

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Beautifully decorated hotel-friendly staff. Public areas clean and tidy. Rooms very clean and tidy. Food is excellent-just wish there was tea/coffee facilities in room... Need tea in the morning before I face the world!
Spa was great but fully booked for treatments-would be useful to be advised to book in advance of arrival.
Town is lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We just returned after staying 5 nights at the Cambrian in Adelboden, and I simply can't wait till the next time.
Adelboden is a lovely village with kind and welcoming people, and the Cambrian is not different.
Service was great, every question that we had was kindly replied by the staff, recommendations and reservations were done by them to other restaurants in the village as well.
Our room with a breathtaking view of the alps was simply amazing, and the bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in!
The external poos was a nice treat as well, as it is so relaxing to simply enjoy it (or the jacuzzi) with this amazing view.

The only thing we had a minor trouble with was the parking as there are only about 10 external parking spots for the hotel (that for some reason charge 10 CHF per day) and some additional spots in the Garage which is shared with other (and costs 15 CHF per day). If no place left you will be sent to park at the street and use the parking meter...

I hope we'll get to visit this lovely hotel someday in the future as we already miss it.

Room Tip: Order a south room with a view to the alps, it is simply breathtaking to wake up every morning with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We've stayed at the Cambrian for the second time and were not disappointed. We love the friendly staff, great location of the hotel, amazing alpine view, generous breakfast and wonderful spa. This is a small, personal hotel where you instantly feel at home, ready to kick off your shoes and just relax. If you love personal service with a local, effortless touch, this is the right hotel for you.

Room Tip: Rooms to the south are more expensive but you'll get a wonderful mountain view that will be wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Cambrian hotel is located in a quiet village of Adelboden, great place for a quick escape from the busy city lifestyle. The hotel has fantastic facilities, and the service staff was superb, staff helped me organizing few romantic surprises. The hotel offers fascinating views of the Swiss alps, be it by the outdoor infinity pool/jacuzzi or by the tea and lounge room, and even on the restaurant. The room we stayed in was very stylish loft type, elegantly designed and very comfortable bed, it also offers a very nice view from the balcony. Spa facilities are very clean and amazing, I highly recommend their spa, even for a day trip.. I might go there even just for a day trip to their spa.

Room Tip: Junior suites or rooms on the higher floors offers a better view of the alps and the horizon. Spa i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cambrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambrian

Address: Dorfstrasse 7 | 3715 Adelboden, Adelboden 3715, Switzerland (Formerly Solis Cambrian Adelboden Hotel and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Adelboden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Adelboden
#2 Family Hotel in Adelboden
#4 Spa Hotel in Adelboden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Adelboden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Cambrian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine authenticity meets design We at The Cambrian passionately believe that during your stay, you should feel every bit as relaxed as you would in your own home. The Cambrian provides authentic local colour, cosmopolitan comfort and inspiring cuisine. It is sophisticated and reliable, and dedicated to providing its guests with unrivalled service. Explore, engage, enjoy, relax, restore and create experiences that will stay with you forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Cambrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cambrian Adelboden Hotel And Spa
Solis Cambrian Hotel
Hotel Solis Cambrian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cambrian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.