We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems mean to pick fault, but .......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waldhaus-Huldi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Waldhaus-Huldi to your Saves list
Waldhaus-Huldi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 77/88, Adelboden CH-3715, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Adelboden
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Seems mean to pick fault, but .......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and was lucky enough to have a bright, spacious room - certainly some I saw were quite the opposite! Food was OK but no more than that. Service can't be faulted and the free wifi was brilliant!

If they improved the food (and bought some better bath towels) it would be an excellent hotel.

I would happily stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
15
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Family-owned hotel a couple of minutes walk from the centre of town, but away from road noise etc. Only stayed 2 nights, in the Huldi part of the twin hotel, but made to feel very welcome by Kurt, Margaritte and Jacqui. Single room small but functional, with comfortable bed, and terrific views from the balcony. Shower room small but more than adequate. Spotlessly clean everywhere. Extensive buffet breakfast, and very good 4-course dinner. The decor in the dining room and sitting areas looks a little dated, but I suspect this is deliberate, to give a traditional appearance. Service here is with a smile, and nothing appeared to be too much trouble. Most staff speak fluent English as well as French and German.

Room Tip: All rooms have mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Adelboden is a lovely resort and, thankfully, one that the British Ski tourist market has not broken into yet. This also means booking a hotel is difficult but we came up trumps with the Waldhaus Huldi,. A family run hotel with several generations of the family very much in evidence. From the friendly pick up to check out nothing was too much trouble for the owners and their team. Our room was not large but had everything we needed and the space was well designed. Good breakfast buffet and good choice of food at dinner.


The complementary massage was a joy and the masseur very good - was a bit off putting he was our waiter too but very professional and soon got over shock!

Bit disappointed that we could not exercise the eat around option ( where guests on half board can eat at another hotel in Adelboden)
Don't stay here if you want night life and excitement ( come to that don't stay in Adelboden) but everything you would want is on site. Sehr Gemutlich.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

The hotel was selected by HF Holidays as a base for its winter walking trip. There were about 10 other participants including my husband and myself. This was the perfect base for exhausting days, withs its cozy rooms, the welcoming sauna and the healthy, delicious breakfasts and dinners. In addition it is perched at the edge of a tiny Swiss mountain Village, enabling us to stroll through the village when we were free. The family that has owned the hotel since 1914 is justifiably proud and two generations are always around and visible. We were there over New Years and the owners went out of their way to provide a special dinner and a lovely evening, at no extra charge. We really felt like valued house guests and that's a great feeling when traveling. We hope we'll have a chance to go back.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

This year was the first time we went to Adelboden in summer, although me and my family have been going to the same village and hotel for about 50 years, every winter. I guess this fact alone underlines that the hotel is good otherwise one of the three generations of my family would have decided to go somewhere else.
Adelboden is a lovely village, typically Swiss with chalets etc. There are no big modern building or tower blocks and the valley is very pretty. In sumer it is great for walking, mountainbiking, climbing, sightseeing and paragliding whilst skiing / cross country skiing in winter has kept imrpoving and is really now just as good as any other big station. It is definitely no ghost town as one reviewer says, there are restaurants, bars, a cinema, nightclubs and icehockey games, of course if you want to go hardcore partying it is not your place.
The hotel is family run and they have kept the same look in the spacious living area and so it appears very homy and cosy if you're sitting by the nice open fire enjoying a piece of cake. They even have a multilingual library for you to hire book if you have forgotten yours. The staff is freindly and multilingual. Breakfast and dinner are delicious and there are more than 6 parking spaces, the writer of that article simply didn't find the big car park behing the Waldhaus catering for about another 15 cars...
Some of the rooms are quite old-fashioned, but in a Swiss cosy way. They are however constantly renewing their rooms and if you go for the more expensive rooms (like my parents do) they are very big, brand new and have even a whirlpool in the bathtub! They have a nice sauna in winter and a lovely garden /openair heated pool in summer. And the views from the balcony are amazing!
The hotel is situated at the end of the village which used to be a bad thing until 15 years ago when they built the new cable car and so now it is actually one of the closest to the main town cable car station which takes you to the mountains (about 20 minutes away).
I can only recomend the Huldi and Adelboden if you want a nice, relaxing holiday with your family / partner where you can enjoy the charm Switzerland has to offer!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

10 of us stayed in this hotel, 4 adults, and the rest teenagers. Staff were very kind and helpfull. Rooms were beautiful, with spectacular views especially room 16, and 24.
Food was just as good as a 4 star service, especially the cheese they serve, top class. The lounge area hasnt changed since 1984, no jokes.
The person who wrote that adelboden is a ghost town after 18.00 is clearly confused. Their's about 6 bars in the village of which about 4 of them are buzzing till about midnight. Remember though your going to a swiss town in the mountain, if you want to go clubbing go to ibiza.
Would stay again. ski area is fairly big, not the best ive been to, but not bad at all. My personal favourate would be flims, but the village isnt so nice their, compared to Adelboden ( typical beautiful swiss town)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2008

My husband, 8 yr old son and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Waldhaus-Huldi Hotel. We had a double, corner room with connecting door through to a single for our son. Between us we had a total of 3 balconies, each with a spectacular view. Our bathroom was of generous proportions, warm and comfortable. The hotel is situated at the far-end of town, which does entail slightly longer walks to the gondola stations and restaurants, however, the quieter location made for a far more peaceful time. Hotel staff were extremely polite and helpful. Breakfast is buffet-style, ready and waiting, just the ticket for when you're raring to get on the slopes. And, upon your return, the newly finished Sauna/Steam Room puts you nicely back together again. Go on - pull the rope connected to the cold bucket of water!! Lucy & Mark

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Walk to centre of town
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldhaus-Huldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldhaus-Huldi

Address: Dorfstrasse 77/88, Adelboden CH-3715, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Adelboden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Adelboden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waldhaus-Huldi 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Waldhaus-Huldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldhaus Huldi Adelboden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldhaus-Huldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.