We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hotel. Not expected from IBIS” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Leysin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ibis Budget Leysin to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Leysin
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue de Cite, Leysin 1854, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Leysin
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Poor hotel. Not expected from IBIS”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We visited this place from our tour operator Cox & Kings and disappointed with the service we received in the hotel. Rooms were very spacious but no proper lights, room arrangement was poor, and also the view what we got was off the opp building which spoilt our holiday mood completely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    21
    10
    0
See reviews for
20
24
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

It was definitely the cheapest in the area, but having stayed in Leysin a couple of times previously, it felt pretty disappointing and I was glad I was only there 1 night.

On the plus side is was very cheap, the room was spotlessly clean and the off road parking was fine. The inclusive breakfast at the Mercure over the road was ok and despite us arriving 15 minutes before the restaurant closed in the evening, they did cook us a really good Salmon plate du jour and were very polite (once the initial panic subsided).

On the downside..
We couldn't get in for some time as there was nobody at reception and the front door was locked and all the lights were off(seemed 'reception' was in the Mercure over the road and all the corridor/lobby lights are operated by motion detectors).
Had to pay in full on arrival which was unusual.
Leysin is a bit of a language school haven and the only other guests were unaccompanied teenage students who spent all night making lots of noise. The rooms have very thin walls/ceilings which means you can hear enough to require a night in ear plugs.
It was 28 degrees C and there was no AC in the room and only blinds which can be fully open (so everyone in the street can see into your room) or fully closed (so the window can't be opened and you have no air whatsoever).

In summary - very cheap, functional and clean but I wish I'd payed the extra to stay in the Mercure or in the valley below.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iran
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

When we arrived at the hotel, no one was in the reception and after waiting about 15 mintes, some one came and told us that we should ask the receptionist of the Mercure Hotel(which was opposite the street) to come for checking in!!.Finally we checked in, however again for anything you may need you should call Mercure hotel! ofcourse by your mobile phone as the rooms has no telephone inside. The location is the same place as Mercure hotel with poor view compared to that one, however the rooms are renovated and specially electrical facilities is much better than Mercure hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel during our trip with friends around switzerland. We were very satisfied with everything.
The rooms are spacious, clean, modern, and comfortable. During our stay the reception was always closed, and were reffered to the reception of the Htel MERCURE on the other side of the road. Staff were all friendly and helpful.
WE strongly recommend this hotel !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Spent a couple of nights here recently. Hotel is twinned with the Mecure accross the road.
Very spacious rooms, clean but lacked any decoration, rather clinical.
Did not eat here so cannot comment on the food, we ate in a very nice restaurant down the hill hidden away in a back street which doubles as a museum and also serves delicious food.
PS do not eat in the restaurant a short distance down the hill on the corner, whilst their lunch was OK the evening meal was attrocious

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Lyesin, gateway to Alps. Ibis nestled in small town of Leysin, which is a picturesque town like many others.
I and my wife, used it as a stopover from Paris towards Lucerne, Switzerland en route Gstaad.

Hotel is located on the lower half of the city. They have a sister concern across the road too.
Swiss hospitality at its very best; sweet and nice. Rooms are cozy, sometime you may be given a room with and extra bed too (bunk style) for a child ; even though you may have not asked for it.
Mezzanine flooring !!! a bit confusing, as the lift level and the rooms level are on different levels ; takes a while to figure out, which is the best option !! whether to climb up or down :-)

Nice range of food available, multi-cuisine, which was quite surprising !!



Some of the travel adapters dont work in Switzerland, recessed hexagonal wall plug point. Ask concierge for assistance

Room Tip: Road facing rooms offer a good view of the Alps on the other side of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Leysin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Leysin

Address: Rue de Cite, Leysin 1854, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Leysin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Leysin
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Leysin 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis budget Leysin is an economy hotel located in the centre of the resort Leysin at an altitude of 1250 meters surrounding the valley, 20 min. from the highway, 30 min. from Montreux. The hotel is a 5-minute walk from the shops, the sport facilitiesand the cable car to the ski slopes. The hotel has 47 comfortable rooms, a nice breakfast room, Wifi access, free parking and a restaurant nearby. Enjoy an economical stay on a weekend or during the week in Leysin for two, with the family or in a group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Ibis Budget Leysin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Leysin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.