We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Lorraine - Friendly staff - Food OK - does take-away too” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant La Lorraine

Restaurant La Lorraine
pl. du Marche, Leysin, Switzerland
024 494 15 72
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 17 Restaurants in Leysin
Price range: $14 - $29
Restaurant details
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“La Lorraine - Friendly staff - Food OK - does take-away too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a family run restaurant in the heart of the village that does eat in and take away. The friendly manager speaks good English and will do what he can to help you out with any special requests. The downside for some children (well English ones) is that the restaurant serves fondue a local speciality that has a very acquired smell and can be off putting. Take away is a good option, well packaged and hot. A pizza will cost about 20SF as will hamburger and chips but in Switzerland this is about average ! Been to this restaurant about 8 times over two years holidays in Leysin and would use it again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent food and service, very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Our family visited this Resturaunt twice on a long weekend in Leysin. The food was excellent. We had one of our steaks a bit rare for medium but they sorted it straight away without any question. Lovely steak in a lovely mushroom sauce. Their pizzas are nice as well.
Would definitely return again if I am back in Leysin.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leysin, Switzerland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Simple and a good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

If you want a good value, and a quick meal, this is it. Nice service and a vast amount of choices on the menu. The Ostrich Carpaccio is excellent. This is simple food, but there is a lot of it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good pasta and pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

A group of us had dinner here. Of the three nights we ate in Leysin this was the best meal we had. The salads were good, and the fresh pasta dishes and pizzas were very good (the pizza base wasn't quite traditional but the toppings were good and overall very tasty). I'd go back next time I'm in town.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Service with a frown!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

This restaurant/cafe is situated in the heart of Leysin. One can obviously sit outside in the summer, if the chairs are anything to go by, but doesn’t have the same appeal in January!
Inside has seen better days, the food is Swiss & Italian based as the owner said he is of the latter origin, but I have to say that the food served up was average, no more than that. The staff could do with practicing smiling a bit more and iI didnt appreciate the atitude when i asked for Mayonaise!!
This place seemed to popular with the locals and is in a prime location in thus charming town,
Price wise on the expensive side, but then again we are in Switzerland and everything is expensive here!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Lorraine also viewed

Leysin, Canton of Vaud
 
Leysin, Canton of Vaud
Leysin, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Restaurant La Lorraine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant La Lorraine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.