We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Walter Mittelholzerstrasse 8, Glattbrugg 8152, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Glattbrugg
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel in July 2012. Excellent hotel and good Breakfast. The spread of their breakfast was just excellent. The provision of ice machines on each floor is very thoughtful. Good service to airport for pick up and drop. The ambiance also is nice. Good lawns in the front and nice flowering plants around. Very convenient and cost effective hotel. Can be a regular hotel for people coming into and leaving from Zurich.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter. Rooms facing backside are also quiet rather than facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    262
    84
    26
    13
See reviews for
115
167
61
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here before our Avalon River Cruise. Shuttle from airport great. Check in was easy and staff very helpful. Room was beautiful, very large bed and extremely comfortable. Well appointed bathroom. We ate in the bar, food was very pricey but tasty. Bar staff very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent one night at this hotel. The room was very hot and once we called to report this discomfort, we were IMMEDIATELY moved to another room. The food in the hotel was fine, the cost was quite high. I had a 500 ml bottle of water for 6 CHF! The shuttle service was outstanding. We were picked up upon arrival within minutes and found the every 30 min. scheduled departures easy to work with when returning to the airport. The rooms were clean, the linen was okay not the best quality but certainly not the worst. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrington Park, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We choose the Moevenpick because we were meeting our Avalon Waterways cruise group at this hotel the next day and wanted a day to tour Zurich. Our plane arrived at 10:30 A.M., we walked downstairs to meet the shuttle bus. The bus arrived within 5 minutes and brought us to the hotel. Upon arrival, we went to the desk --- we were expecting to leave or luggage and hop on a train into downtown Zurich. To our surprise, the room was available. They even upgraded us to a high floor and an executive room. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and well stocked with towels, etc. The front dest staff was helpful and courteous. We spent about 1 hour resting and ventured into Zurich. The hotel was able to sell us a train ticket. The station is a very short walk. You can either take the local #10 or the fast train #57. They run on different tracks so beware. We took the local to get a flavor of the area. It takes 30 min. to downtown. On the way back we took the fast train. Our evening stay was great. We meet our tour group the next AM. at the hotel. If you are taking an Avalon cruise, this is a great place to stay. Would do it again. We did not eat at the hotel.

Room Tip: e-mail ahead if you are arriving early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The shuttle bus picks up right outside of the arrival area. It was easy to find and we only waited a few minutes. The shuttle stop was clearly marked. We decided to stay near the airport since we were meeting up with friends flying in at different times. We were pleased with our choice. The room was clean, room service charges were fair, and the food was good. We took the shuttle bus back to the airport jumped on a train from there. It was easy and stress free. I liked having a hot pot and an iron in the room; in older hotels you don't find this! Housekeeping and room service staff were excellent.
The Internet service was weak, and it is an additional charge, but they do have computers in the lobby. Overall a nice hotel with good service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My meeting at Rorschach - Bodensee was starting early before noon the next day. Thus I preferred to stay overnight in Moevenpick airport hotel and drive early to my destination the other day.
The room was very clean and simple with a perfect sound insulation especially at its fenestration. I could hear nothing from the motorway less than 100 meters away from my window! the bathroom was OK with a very clever solution against annoying humidity blurring the mirror after your bath. A metallic panelling covering all ceiling condensed all humidity clouds coming from hot water, keeping thus the atmosphere at high visibilty in the room.
Finally, I would suggest that a simple cotton blanket would be more comfortable for summer times as the light but still thick bed cover gave me a little bit overheating when sleeping, I can narrate though a lot about tough and hot experiences of that sort in all Europe..
They called me after 40 minutes to inform that my table was expecting me at "le chalet" restaurant within Moevenpick.
I started with a beef carpaccio that was very good (not excellent though) and had a juicy grilled salmon for main course. Both dishes were designed for your eyes very much so.
Feldsclosschen beer was very light and will not be my choice next time.
The lemon/lime ice cream was divine to be followed by a wonderful esppresso (afterall this country is Nestle..)...
I had a calm night and a GLORIOUS meeting the other day.
Hotel personnel is very friendly and polite.
Restaurant personnel needs more experience, I think.

Room Tip: Maybe I could not find the hotel socket-adaptor, but I nearly ran out of my laptop battery as in Swi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed here for three nights in May. I was working just around the corner so it suited me very well location-wise. Staff is very courteous and professional. The rooms are very good, without being outstanding. Basically, clean, functional and comfortable without too many frills. The bathroom was spotless, but frankly, not very inviting with all that cold grey granite. What this hotel excels at in my book is the food though. They have the best burger I've ever had for room service. Outstanding! One small negative thing: they could be more flexible. I asked for a small customisation of a room service order and they downright refused to do it and made up excuses. Also, would be nice if Internet were free. But overall, a nice hotel and I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport

Address: Walter Mittelholzerstrasse 8, Glattbrugg 8152, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Glattbrugg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Glattbrugg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first-class Mövenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport is the perfect hotel to stay at during your trip to Zurich, whether it’s for business or leisure. The accommodation has 333 modern bedrooms to choose from and a variety of fine restaurants. Our fully equipped conference rooms with top notch facilities make our hotel the ideal venue to hold your meetings and conferences for up to 400 participants. The hotel runs a free shuttle bus to and from the airport, which is only minutes away. Quick connections to both the airport and the city centre make the Mövenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport the perfect choice for exploring the city of Zurich and its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport Canton Of Zurich/Glattbrugg
Moevenpick Hotel Glattbrugg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.