We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel and great value compared to central Zurich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Romantik Seehotel Sonne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Romantik Seehotel Sonne to your Saves list
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Seestrasse 120, Kusnacht 8700, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kusnacht
Dubai
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming hotel and great value compared to central Zurich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Sonne is a charming hotel, well located near Zurich. We came for a bit of a weekend getaway but, having stayed in tiny, exorbitant, dated "5-star" hotel rooms in central Zurich, I would also recommend it for budget-conscious travellers intending to explore Zurich as it is a 2-minute walk to the train station and then only 12 minutes to Zurich's main station. The airport is also easily accessible (about 30 minutes), and there are boats plying the lake that can take you to Zurich or other destinations.
It seems from other reviews that all rooms are not created equal, but we were happy in the courtyard rooms 138/139-- nonsmoking, spacious with comfortable seating area, good storage. The only downside was the lack of a view but we were prepared to sacrifice that.
Our only gripe regarding the hotel in general would be that the front desk staff were not all equally helpful/friendly (most were, but not all).

Room Tip: 138/139 in the annexe building don't have a view but are modern, spacious and nonsmoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine J, Manager at Romantik Seehotel Sonne, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Many thanks for your very positive comments. In fact all our 40 rooms are different and it make most of our returning guest curious to explore all of them. The categorie lake, lake deluxe and
the juniors suites have an amazing view of Lake Zurich.
We do apologize for the front desk employee who was not very service minded to you....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    48
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
68
6
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I often go to Zurich and it happened to me to enjoy lunch or dinner at the hotel restaurant, which has a very good offer.
I stayed there for the weekend and I found the accomodation very nice and clean. The room dimension is large enough for bed + sofa + desk and I found the staff very kind and gentle.
They welcomed us with a glass of wine and left a bottle of water in our car.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine J, Manager at Romantik Seehotel Sonne, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Valeria
Thank you for your positive review. We are looking forward to welcoming back soon.
Summertime at the lake Zurich is so wonderful....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

A wonderful hotel, in prime location - close to the train station, right on the lake, with its own garden and lake access / small beach, and an ice skating rink in the winter, which becomes an outdoor restaurant in the summer. If you plan to come to Küsnacht or just want to stay in an enjoyable place within EASY reach of Zürich's old town (15 min by train to Hauptbahnhof with trains every 15 min), Sonne is a place to be. And when all restaurants are closed on Sunday or holidays, the Sonne always has visitors and a lovely kitchen. The service is cordial, the feel of the place - warm and inviting, and the overall experience quite relaxing. The rooms are nicely appointed, and not as tiny as some Zürich hotels can be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine J, Manager at Romantik Seehotel Sonne, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your postive feedback. Hopefully many readers decide to stay with us - you won't be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

One of the best locations (if not the best) on the Zurich Lake, at short distance to Zurich by car or even by train ( train station 200 meters away).

Rooms are cosy, impeccably clean as well as the bathrooms, but they are small and noisy on the street side.
On the lake side, especially in the nearby building across the courtyard , the rooms are lovely with a great view on the lake and quiet,but expensive.

The "Burstube" is ' gemütlich ' , the cuisine correct but without imagination, and the other stuben ( Küsnachterstube and Gaststube ) are less appealing with too bright a ligntning.
The wine list in all restaurants is limited and expensive.

The breakfast in the Sonnengalerie is perfect, service good and attentive.

Last but not least a dinner on the terrace during warm nights is an wonderul experience.

Do go !

Room Tip: Book well in advance, hotel always full !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine J, Manager at Romantik Seehotel Sonne, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Bruce

many thanks for your very nice comment about the Romantik Seehotel Sonne.
In our Buurestube we serve Swiss cuisine which consist of traditional Swiss dishes.
Guests who are up to more modern cuisine are welcome in our Sonnengalerie where we service traditonal dishes as well as modern cuisine. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards Catherine Julen Grüter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our room was small, but beautifully laid out, and the bed was very comfortable. Service was impeccable: available and efficient but never pushy. I loved the small, sophisticated cocktail lounge, and salute the barman for his topnotch dry martinis. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We opted for the expense of a lake view room, which had obviously been recently painted. The room was nice, but very tight for our family of four, and the smell from the paint was strong. The skating rink had limited hours, so we were unable to enjoy that. The breakfast was decent. Overall it just was not worth the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine J, Manager at Romantik Seehotel Sonne, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We are very sorry, that you could still smell the new painting in the room and we do apologize for this inconvenience. Our rates are very competitive with similar hotels in the city (small first class hotels) and the breakfast buffet is always included. Our double rooms facing the lake have a nice size 25 to 35 m2. (of course with two children it is not spacious) and we charge CHF 30 per child until 3 to 12 and CHF 60 over 12 years (also with breakfast included). The ice skating rink will be open again next winter. Usual opening hours are: Thuesday to Friday from 2pm until 8pm and on Weekends from 1pm unil 9pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

A lovely hotel with wonderfully friendly and efficeint staff. It is unfortunate that the smell from the smoking bar does overflow into the lobby. However the rooms are charming, the food is good, and one always feeel most welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine J, Manager at Romantik Seehotel Sonne, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comment.. Almost all our rooms are non-smoking. Nevertheless many of our guest are still happy to have an opportunity to smoke in the bar.
It is also for us a subject which we follow very closely.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Romantik Seehotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Seehotel Sonne

Address: Seestrasse 120, Kusnacht 8700, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Kusnacht
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kusnacht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Romantik Seehotel Sonne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is precisely what we hope to offer you in our historic hotel on the beautiful shores of Lake Zurich. And with your permission, that’s precisely what we’re able to do: our hotel has everything a guest could ever desire for complete comfort and wellbeing.Tastefully furnished bedrooms and suites with a very personal touch; excellent restaurants to effortlessly fulfil any gourmet’s dreams, whilst simultaneously satisfying the urge for hearty regional fare or even conjuring up light summer dishes in a relaxed lakeside atmosphere.With its distinctive Turmbar (Tower Bar), the small but elegant Wellness Oasis and the magnificent and beautifully equipped Function & Banqueting Rooms, our hotel is a stylish venue for weddings, seminars and other special occasions where success is a matter close to your heart.Come and see – and enjoy. The Romantikhotel Sonne lies on the shores of Lake Zurich in the very heart of Europe. It is just a few minutes from Zurich by car, bus, tram or boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Romantik Seehotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Seehotel Sonne Hotel
Seehotel Sonne küsnacht
Romantik Seehotel Sonne Kusnacht, Switzerland - Canton Of Zurich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romantik Seehotel Sonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.