We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange Hotel.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hotel de la Prairie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added L'Hotel de la Prairie to your Saves list
L'Hotel de la Prairie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue des Bains 9, Yverdon-les-Bains 1400, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Strange Hotel.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days whilst on a work trip, arrived in the early hours and check in was quick and easy, hotel foyer and corridors were clean and welcoming.
Got to room and thought I had gone back in time but it was clean so not too concerned.

It was only the next day when I met colleagues it was clear that there was no real consistancy with the facilities. Eg: some had robes/slippers, curtains, proper duvet, safe, balcony etc.
Things like balcony, robes etc may be trivial but in 2013 I would expect a safe and definately proper bedding and curtains!!!!
No tea/coffee making facility either.

The breakfast was pleasant enough and the staff were friendly, prices very extreme in the bar/restaurant.

For us the best thing was the on site mini golf which is free for hotel guests and there is a tennis court but don't expect to play unless you take your own racket/ball!!!

It was an ok stay but the hotel needs to catch up with the times in terms of in room facilities and maybe decor.

Room Tip: Not 102 if you wan't to secure your valuables!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    15
    10
    4
See reviews for
9
26
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Decadent and dusty atmosphere with plastic flowers in the french restaurant and high volume music from the radio ...
The rooms are really small with an old and dirty moquette and the tiny bathroom totally from the '80 taste. When I saw the rooms I couldn't believe this was a four stars hotel! The garden is nice and the food is ok. The wellness was pathetic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The pluses - Very good Bistro and separate French restaurant, the food is excellent in the bistro.

The Downs
First night and the first room.
TV not working - ok a small point.
When I went to get into the bed there was blood on the sheets, the hotel did then swap me to another room.

Second Room
Was ok but they really need to refurbish the rooms, very old radiators, old build in cupboards and the decor was hmmm maybe 1950's but not in a quaint way.

Hallway and stairway carpet has seen better days.

Room Tip: I am told by other colleagues who have stayed here that some of the rooms have been refurbished, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hotel is only 5 minute walk from the thermal baths. Very convenient. Our room on the 3rd floor was quite spacious and obviously recently renovated. Shower exceptionally spacious. Fancy light controls, but not necessarily practical. They have also a Jaccuzzi, Hammam and Sauna (all fairly new). "French" restaurant and Brasserie with same menu (for the time being). We had a 3 course menu of exceptional quality in a very nice, quiet atmosphere. Good wine list. Pleasant staff allround.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

What looks at first site a nice hotel (and it certainly has a good restaurant), as far as accomodation is concerned it is very disappointing. The rooms are quite small and the bathrooms likewise; to have a shower you have to stand outside the cubicle to soap yourself and it is virtually impossible to turn around inside the shower itself. The room was very hot and the bed-linnen seemed not to be cotton, thus making it even more uncomforable to sleep. There is no lounge area for relaxing or reading either. I would say it is in need of a major refurb....

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Hotel has been taken over by Guignard who usually does a great job, but still many details to be improved.
The bathrooms have been redone but not the rooms, which need it. The shutter did not close, so before going out for dinner we told reception to deal with it. We arrived back at 1am and nothing had been done - no word from reception, no suggestion to change room. That is not 4* at all.
Staff charming but really lacking experience.
On the right path, but still needs some work

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I reserved a non smoker room and very calm through a web site.

I called 2 days before to go to be sure that the reserved room is calm. I informed the receptionist that is very important as I will have exams the days after. The receptionist answer was " do not worry our hotel is next to the forest...." .

What I received: a smoker room and next to the ventilators...very old room, no shampoo, nothing that you expect from a 4 star hotel in a bathroom.

If you would like to go to SPA there is no robe bath and no slipper... is on demand.

When I mentioned to the receptionist the problems they answer " We did not know that you had request a non smokier room and calm" and all this said in a way, I would said to be polite, no customer orientated and no worry for the image and word of mouth best way for the advert...

No sorry, no a symbolic discount for the bill, not a word from the manager after I left the customer satisfaction form. And you pay foe all this service very expensive. At least the breakfast and the restaurant is very nice and makes you forget the rest.

Room Tip: Check that you receive what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Hotel de la Prairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel de la Prairie

Address: Avenue des Bains 9, Yverdon-les-Bains 1400, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Yverdon-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Yverdon-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hotel de la Prairie 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your L'Hotel de la Prairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hotel de la Prairie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.