We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A french touch in Yverdon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Grenette

La Grenette
Rue du Four 1, Yverdon-les-Bains 1400 , Switzerland
+41 (0)24 425 25 56
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Yverdon-les-Bains, Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A french touch in Yverdon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

La Grenette is a small restaurant ideally placed in the historical center of Yverdon.
The kitchen is now under the command of an excellent french chef who cooks meals that you would ideally place between the typical french brasserie and gastronomic.

Everything is cooked and presented with great care.
The menu is not large, but you will find something you like.

There is also a very nice selection of wine serbed by the glass. Since local wines have been steadily improving in the last 10 years, this would be a good opportunity to try one.
The desserts are excellent ! I took the "café gourmand" which was served as an expresso accompanied by several different small sweets.

Prices are quite fair when you look at what is in your plate.
The restaurant is small and just adds a few tables outside in summer, so do not forget to book.

All in all a very good experience, I will eat there again soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    31
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“If you will have one dinner in Yverdon, have it here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The food was absolutely fantastic! A feast for the senses, everything we had was delicious. The service is a bit slow though, so reserve plenty of time. Reserve a table too, at least if coming with a group and/or on a weekend night - we were turned down on our first attempt without a reservation. Was worth the wait though!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
435 reviews 435 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Best food in Yverdon ?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

This place is strange because of the layout.... You feel eating in a window and everyone walking the street look at you.... Therefore I never try to go there in winter even if rating was high.
In summer you can go on the terasse and you don't have this feeling ;-)
It deserve the good ranking and it is definitely one of the best place in Yverdon. Food is pricy however you get premium choice of ingredients (e.g. the fresch fries are homemade) and it's really good.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A welcoming place with good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I had lunch at the Grenette in a professionnal context. The service was very friendly and I know this is considered by the locals as one of the better places. It was packed full at lunch time. The plat du jour is a great value at 20.-, although to my taste a bit heavy on the sauce. Also, it's a bit surprising to find on a same plate potatoes, pasta and rice...but I am being finicky here. There is a free amuse-bouche that was delicious.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“simply very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

First: there are not loads of decent restaurants in Yverdon, second: even less in the old town. Still, I consider this a good adress even coming from Lausanne.
I was there on a Saturday night, we unfortunately got the table in front of the closet, service was almost perfect, could have been better though. Accidentally my steak was a bit burned, but it would have been perfectly delicious.
Fantastic ardoise au foie gras, tartare de saumon, and very good wine. Will definitely go back hoping for a better table! It's definitely a bit expensive, but the portions are good and it's probably worth for special occasions of if you can afford it!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grenette also viewed

Yverdon-les-Bains, Canton of Vaud
Yverdon-les-Bains, Canton of Vaud
 
Yverdon-les-Bains, Canton of Vaud
Yverdon-les-Bains, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to La Grenette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Grenette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.