We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and service at a nice hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Hotel Weggis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Post Hotel Weggis to your Saves list
Post Hotel Weggis
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Seestrasse 8, Weggis 6353 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Weggis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value and service at a nice hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

On the second leg of our holiday, we stayed at the Post Hotel Regis next to Lake Lucerne. We had two comfortable adjacent rooms linked by a private corridor(which afforded a great deal of privacy), with views of the mountains behind the hotel. The hotel staff were very warm and welcoming throughout our stay. At every area, be it the reception , restaurants, transport, housekeeping and room service, there was a genuine warmth and helpfulness that made our stay memorable. The reception staff like lnke and Michelle as well the rest, really went the extra mile in answering our queries. We're also eternally greatful to Inke from for finding our carry bag which we had left at the Weggis ferry terminal ticket office by mistake.The hotel is just opposite the Weggis ferry terminal, where you can take ferries to Lucerne and other lakeside towns. It is also a short distance to the cable car station that straddles Mount Rigi. There is also easy access to Kussnacht train station via bus number 2.
Breakfast was nice, with very good service. Perhaps a wider international spread on the menu would help further enhance your good efforts.
All in all, a really excellent effort from the Post Hotel Weggis team. We look forward to coming back again.


  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POHODirector, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear “Ashok M“

We're delighted that we were able to welcome you and look after you at the Post Hotel Weggis. We are pleased by your positive assessment and we'll be happy to forward your remarks to all our staff.
We look forward to welcome you again soon and wish you only the best for the future!

The POHO Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    113
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
44
238
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Schindellegi, Switzerland
Top Contributor
559 reviews 559 reviews
147 hotel reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
329 helpful votes 329 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

we purchased a package for one night, dinner and some extras.

the overall impression was good. the staff extremely helpfull; the hotel is cozy (if like the style, some people may not like it, please refer to the photos available); the hotel carpark isgood enough as to park big cars without problems; the view is great (even in misty rainy days) with a nice lake and mountains in front...

the room was clean and well equipped, the bed and pillows were excellent; the minibar could have a better selection; the safety box had good size; there was an ipod deck / radio; the balcony was nice... however as many hotels in switzerland, the size of the room was too small for the price paid. there hardly was space for two persons and the minimum belongings left around. the bathroom was well equipped with good amenities. no noises were heard neither from inside the hotel nor from outside.

the free wifi workedwell, although you need to get a modem from the recepcion desk.

the indoor swimming pool had a problem for not so tall people: those below 1,70 m height necessarily need to be floating as too deep for them allover the swimming pool. the sauna area was not big however was empty (the hotel did not seems to be very busy either).

i read in some reviews about lack of air conditioned. that is not the case if you payy a de luxe lake front view room, slightly more expensive than the lower class rooms.

dinner at the asian restaurant was ok, but nothing from naother planet. same referred to the cold and warm breakfast buffet, slightly higher than swiss standards, however they should take care about the condition of bacon and scrambled eggs by 9.30 hrs, as it tasted as if it had been cooked days before.... i must admit however that you can also order your preferred eggs from the kitchen but i did not want to spend much time.

dogs are accepted with an extra price of 20 sfr per night, and the hotel provides with a tasty treat, bowl and a bed for the dog.

weak points: poor selection of tv channels (standard swiss cable menu, without channels in other languages than german, french and italian). also, despite wewere two persons, only one bathrobe and slippers were initially provided; upon request another bathrobe was brought, but secod set of slippers never came.

all in all, a pleasant stay, not cheap but in line with swiss usual prices. i would not mind to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POHODirector, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear “atontao“

Thank you very much for your detailed review. Your assessment of the services we offer is enormously important to us as our overriding objective at all times is to minimize mistakes and optimize our services and offers. We are pleased by your positive assessment and we'll be happy to forward your remarks to all our staff.

We hope to welcome you again soon at the POHO Cosmos
The POHO Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was our second stay at the Poho. This time we went for a lake view room, certainly worth the extra cash.

Our room was similar to our last visit, spacious and modern. The wellness area was also just as good as I remembered it, with the pool being exactly the right temperature. We treated ourselves to massages which were also very good & done by a lovely Thai lady.

One evening the bar was closed, but as soon as the reception staff saw we wanted a drink, she immediately opened up and got someone to take our order, which was a nice gesture.

Two negative points: one restaurant is completely Asian, not to our liking and the Swiss restaurant had a special Austrian menu. There was no vegetarian dish on offer. When I asked about this, I was given the snack menu and ended up with cheese tart & salad, which was not really what I wanted. I think a four star hotel should be able to come up with something more substantial.

Secondly on the second morning there was no breakfast set up and the room was empty. After searching for a member of staff we were told that as so few guests were in the hotel no buffet was on offer. We were given a menu to choose from. What was brought was plentiful, beautifully presented and done so with a smile. However, half the pleasure is being able to choose what you fancy from the buffet so this was a disappointment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POHODirector, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear “hanval”

Thank you so much for your feedback, this is so important for us. You are already POHO repeater and addicted to the POHO Cosmos… great ;-)

We are really sorry for the fact, that we had no other vegetarian option to choose for, at that time at the Weggiser Stübli. We should have thought about that before we have creative the Austrian menu.

We regret that you were disappointed about the á la carte serving of the breakfast. The reason we serve á la carte breakfast instead of Buffet, is to contain the quality, even we have not so many costumers.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Regards,
The POHO Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Beautiful location with view on the lake. However, noisy (street in front of hotel, school and lorries unloading). The atmosphere in the hotel is very stylish. The staff is very friendly, rooms are very nice, also stylish and very clean. The spa did not meet my expectations as I booked a week for wellness retreat. Massages absolutely need to be booked in partner hotel Park Hotel Weggis. Would recommend hotel rather for business meetings, not for wellness holidays.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POHODirector, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear „IA“

Thank you very much for your rating. We are really sorry that you were not totally satisfied with your stay at the POHO. Our Spa area is not one of the biggest area if you compare with proper Spa Hotel, this for sure, but still we have a choice of different facilities (steam bath, sauna, gym and indoor pool) It is also possible to book a massage in the hotel, we have a treatment room for massages. If this offer is not enough, you can book your treatments at our partner Hotel Park Weggis.
So we hope to welcome you again at the POHO and that you can attempt our treatment room also.

Warm regards
The POHO Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We LOVED our stay at the Park Hotel Weggis. The accommodations were spectacular - if you like the view of Lake Lucerne and mountainsides outside your two outdoor bedroom or patio ...The staff was incredibly knowledgeable and accommodating with information and booking(s) - even out of town requests. The dining room is beautiful, and the breakfast was splendid, complete with mimosas, and made-to-order eggs. We used their bikes to bike around the lake and explore the other little towns in the area -- the lake was our view as the path banked the lake- so sailboats, ferries, and lush, gorgeous mountains and greens were our guides. The outdoor pool warmed to spa-like temperatures was a treat. Wonderful experience. Expensive, but worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where both windows face the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POHODirector, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear “Videomac1"

Thank you so much for your excellent rating for our Sister Hotel Park Weggis….
we will let them know :-)

Sunny regards from Weggis

The POHO Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Weggis being an actually small village in Switzerland, I did not expect a lot from a hotel. However, it was an amazing suprise! Extremely convenient location straight next to the pier which connects Weggis to Luzern, respectively, amazing view of Luzern lake, and covered parking available. The room was big and comfortable, with a rather large balcony and quiet, despite for a church being just next door. Breakfast is quite nice as well. The only thing that was not really comfortable was the need to take a modem at the reception and perform some complex manipulations to connect to wifi (which I did not manage finally), but you will get much more value from spending your time not browsing but tasting some nice Swiss wine and traditionally Swiss food in the very atmospheric restaurant, which nicely continues into a wine cellar. As I am an art lover, top of the rock for me was an exhibition of beautiful photos of a famous photographer, Howard Schatz so nicely integrated into the interior. (prints available for sale, I would be popping up for one next time in Weggis).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POHODirector, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Navratri

Wow…. What an amazing respond. Thank you very much for taking the time for this detailed feedback. We are so pleased that you did enjoy the POHO Cosmos.
The photographs from Howard Schatz are just splendid and it is good to hear that you did value that.

We would be more than happy to welcome you again.

See you soon… The POHO Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

I spent almost a month in this lovely hotel. The service was great and everyone was very friendly and helping.
Location is very good with amazing view to the lake and boat station.
Lunches at poho cafe were also really good.
I definitely recommend staying in this hotel for short getaway. Enjoy SPA and view.

Thank you, POHO team!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwAdmin, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear "Tani N"

We hope you had a save journey back home.
Thank you very much for taking the time to rate us.
We are glad that you did enjoy your stay at the Post Hotel Weggis. We hope to see you again.

With kind regards

The POHO - Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Post Hotel Weggis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel Weggis

Address: Seestrasse 8, Weggis 6353 , Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Weggis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Weggis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Post Hotel Weggis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Post Hotel Weggis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Hotel Weggis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.