We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vibrant place to stay in the middle of a Swiss village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Hotel Weggis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Post Hotel Weggis to your Saves list
Post Hotel Weggis
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Seestrasse 8, Weggis 6353 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Weggis
Vevey, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“vibrant place to stay in the middle of a Swiss village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Weggis being an actually small village in Switzerland, I did not expect a lot from a hotel. However, it was an amazing suprise! Extremely convenient location straight next to the pier which connects Weggis to Luzern, respectively, amazing view of Luzern lake, and covered parking available. The room was big and comfortable, with a rather large balcony and quiet, despite for a church being just next door. Breakfast is quite nice as well. The only thing that was not really comfortable was the need to take a modem at the reception and perform some complex manipulations to connect to wifi (which I did not manage finally), but you will get much more value from spending your time not browsing but tasting some nice Swiss wine and traditionally Swiss food in the very atmospheric restaurant, which nicely continues into a wine cellar. As I am an art lover, top of the rock for me was an exhibition of beautiful photos of a famous photographer, Howard Schatz so nicely integrated into the interior. (prints available for sale, I would be popping up for one next time in Weggis).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POHODirector, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Navratri

Wow…. What an amazing respond. Thank you very much for taking the time for this detailed feedback. We are so pleased that you did enjoy the POHO Cosmos.
The photographs from Howard Schatz are just splendid and it is good to hear that you did value that.

We would be more than happy to welcome you again.

See you soon… The POHO Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    113
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
44
238
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

I spent almost a month in this lovely hotel. The service was great and everyone was very friendly and helping.
Location is very good with amazing view to the lake and boat station.
Lunches at poho cafe were also really good.
I definitely recommend staying in this hotel for short getaway. Enjoy SPA and view.

Thank you, POHO team!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwAdmin, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear "Tani N"

We hope you had a save journey back home.
Thank you very much for taking the time to rate us.
We are glad that you did enjoy your stay at the Post Hotel Weggis. We hope to see you again.

With kind regards

The POHO - Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
189 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This modern hotel is located at the lakeside in the middle of this small typical Swiss village. In order to arrive at reception you have to climb a few stairs (as the elevator did not work and there was no one to assist with our heavy suitcases). Check in was quick. Friendly staff. In the reception area there is a small table with complimentary different kind of (local) water for tasting. A nice gesture. The room are in bright colours, comfortable with a nice bathroom (bath) and balcony with two chairs. View over the lake. In front of the hotel departs the boat service to Lucerne and other places around the lake. There is an inside pool and very well equipped gym. Superb breakfast buffet with different kind of eggs, cheese, bread, Asian soup, cereals, muesli, salmon etc.
Two aspects were however less positive. There is only cable internet in the rooms and when you ask for a later check out immediately a hug extra amount is requested. Imagine we booked for a very large group and received nothing extra at all. Not even two hours later check out for two persons. Very disappointing attitude of the management.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POHODirector, General Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear “JAEMH”

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate us. We really appreciate your feedback.
It is great to read that you were actually happy with your stay at the POHO.

It is a normal standard that we charge an late check out. The reason for that is, that we can`t sell the room properly for that particular day. We guarantee Check in at 03:00 p.m. so we charge the late check out until 02:00 p.m. with CHF 50.00 and until 06:00 p.m. with CHF 100.00

We are really sorry that you are disappointed about this. We hope to welcome you again soonat the POHO and pamper you with great food and lake view.

Warm regards

The POHO Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Spent one evening and everything at the POHO exceeded our expectations
We had a nice reception the staff were very friendly. The beds were comfortable and bathroom was super clean.
Will return for a longer stay next time in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POHODirector, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear “Bob715”

It is great that you have taken the time to rate us. Thank you very much for the good feedback.
We would love to welcome you again at the POHO Cosmos.
Until we send you sunny regards from Weggis.

The POHO Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent only one night there but sure we'll come back ! Everything was first rate (except the Geneva in one room wasn't working - we had a suite of 2 rooms - nothing very serious). Personnel is very kind and ready to satisfy your needs. Just one thing : breakfast is very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POHODirector, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear “EI D”

Thank you very much for staying at the Post Hotel Weggis. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you would visit us again. That is one of the bests compliments we could get. We are really sorry for the problems you had with the not working Geneva Lab. This shouldn`t happen and we apologies for that.

See you soon @ POHO with Chill out in Style.

The POHO Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vesenaz, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent two nights in this hotel in the double communicating "family" rooms.
The rooms are great, nice decoration (except the hallway carpets), soft crisp bed linnen, good & very friendly service, great view and fantastic location (we came by boat), and a real good breakfast buffet. We enjoyed the village, its unique calm, the fact you can stroll quietly without many cars, the Rigi excursion, the free concerts in the summer, and we had a great meal on a stunning lake terasse in the RIVA restaurant about 5 minutes walk. (which we really recommend by the way.)

Our two daughters (3 and 6) loved the hotel internal pool, and thoroughly enjoyed themselves with the ice cubes from the sauna...:)

The kids playroom is a bit bare, not many toys in there, but at least there is one!

Great breakfast in the morning, although it is a bit expensive considering it is not included.

There is only setback, we were in family rooms 3019-3020, which is on the north-eastern corner of the hotel. There is a bus stop just below our window, and the busses start at around 07:15. This makes sleeping with the window open past 07:15 virtually impossible....

Room Tip: We were in rooms 3019-3020, which is on the north-eastern corner of the hotel. Great rooms with a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTi_123, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear “WLelij“

Thank you very much for been our guest and taking the time to rate us. We are really pleased that you did enjoy our family room and the services of our spa area. Even the kids had their fun also, that is brilliant. We are really sorry for the noise from the busses but this is unfortunately something we can`t change.

So we hope to welcome you again in Weggis.

Your POHO Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

spent two nights at POHO - directly opposite paddle steamer docking point adds to experience. in centre of pretty little village 5 minutes walk to cable car for mount RIgi. go for lake view room worth the money, rooms clean and well equipped with comfy beds. Lovely gym with view to lake and pool / sauna on site we had facility all to ourselves on two occasionswhich added to experience. Have asian restaurant on site food good and typically priced for Switzerland. TIp here if weather is nice to book early aslimited places if food is served outside by the lake. THey also have a terrace cafe accross the street overlooking the lake , range of simple food and ice cream - all delicious.Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is an extra and like all hotels pricey for what it is, although plenty of choice locally if you want a cheap option. Saw some reviews complaining about noise and we were worried about sea front road outside - was not an issue as road serves only local traffic and public transport meeting the ferry. The slogan on the hotel door says it all - check in and chill out !. We will be back to WIggis an excellent base for exploring the mountains and most certainly will stay again at the POHO.

Room Tip: go for a room with lake view (think all have balconys) - views are stunning and better than some mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POHODirector, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear “stuart w”

Thank you very much for staying at the POHO Cosmos. We are really delighted that you have taken your time to rate us.
For your next stay in Weggis be would be more than happy to welcome you again.

We wish you all the best and enjoy the rest of the summer
The POHO Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Post Hotel Weggis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel Weggis

Address: Seestrasse 8, Weggis 6353 , Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Weggis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Weggis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Post Hotel Weggis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Post Hotel Weggis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Hotel Weggis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.