We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence

Save Saved
You added Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Centrale | Case postale 147, Villars-sur-Ollon CH-1884, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

What could have been a lovely location turned out to be a disappointing experience, which we will not repeat. We were literally talked out of the small budget room we had originally booked and offered a payable upgrade to a holiday apartment, which was too big for two, had the questionable charm of the 70tees and was not at all warm and chalet-like but run down and somewhat neglected. The empty picture hook in some rooms left the impression that previous customers had taken the decoration home with them and had never been replaced. We ended up arguing about the price for breakfast which needs to be pre-ordered in order to qualify for the lower price (indeed only 10CHF instead of 16CHF), but the pre-ordering conditions were not quite clear so we ended up paying the higher price. Altogether we spent ~ 500CHF for two nights and were very disappointed with what could have been a great stay in a great place in a lovely setting.

Room Tip: if you are a couple don't opt for an apartment, ask to see it first
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michellod_S, Directeur général at Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Once in a while we get a comment from a guest that seems to be coming out of nowhere and this one is surely among them. How often do you have a guest complaining that the room is too big for them? We offered them to upgrade in this room for half of its price because it was the last room available; they visited the room and could have obviously gone back to the “Small Budget room” they previously booked. The breakfast situation need some explanation as well. The restaurant offers a buffet breakfast for CHF 16.-; nevertheless, you can choose to book it for your entire stay at the preferred rate of CHF 10.-. Those guests have decided not only to book it for the 2 nights they were spending with us, but also for 7 extra guests. We decided to let them have breakfast at CHF 10.- even though they were not staying with us. On the first morning the 7 friends did not turn up. Part of the food prepared for those 7 guests obviously had to go to the bin. On the second morning, one guest comes to take a coffee and says that they are coming back for breakfast. It ends up that nobody came back for breakfast on that day: It is food for 9 guests that we had to bin. The guests have been charged 2 breakfast at CHF 16.- at check out. We strongly believe that a bad comment should be treated with most care and must help us improve. Everyone makes mistakes, and we gladly send an apology (often together with a voucher) when we have made one. But in that case, the hotel should be the one complaining about a very unfair review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    15
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just opposite the mountain railway and with good views out over the valley from our first floor rooms away from the railway the location of this small hotel with various connected annexes was excellent for our short family skiing break. But even aiming off for Swiss prices it seemed a touch expensive for what it was. The restaurant, which oddly didn't belong to the hotel but provided the breakfasts and dinners, was very good - quality Swiss mountain dishes, friendly and efficient service, helpful willingness to serve dinner later than foreseen due to travel problems, good DIY breakfasts with excellent bread, coffee, yoghurt, cereal,and lots of trimmings If the restaurant and bar was part of the hotel we would give a very good rating overall.

However we never really had any contact with the staff of the hotel proper except on check in and check out and we found the whole hotel side of the experience a bit bland and characterless. The rooms were very adequate, a good size with plenty of cupboards with good bathrooms and lots of shelving space.

If there was a good rating we would probably give it, but overall and taking account of value for money we think average is fair.

Room Tip: rooms on the side away from the railway have better views and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Readers of my reviews will have discerned by now that I am a value traveler ~ lets say I am plain old fashioned frugal, so it delightful when I find a great property at a great price.

Alps Fleurie is perfectly located in the mountain centre of Villars, 30m from the cog railway that takes you upto Bretaye and skiing, or mountain activities in the summer.

My single room was (mountain) traditionally decorated and of good quality. The single bed ~ comfortable (I slept like a log). The bathroom is an even nicer surprise, stylish with good quality materials throughout. Wonderfully warm (so important in winter) and a great rain shower ~ don’t see too many of those in the mountains.

Free and fast wifi ~ see photo

A great breakfast and an enthusiastic front desk. Parking outside the front door. Worth CHF50 alone

Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain facing, stunning views of Dent de Midi and Mont Blanc ~ extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a ski weekend. Perfect location across the road from the train station, bus stop and small ski train to take you up to the slopes. The inhouse restaurant is good. The staff are friendly, there's free wifi and a discount at the ski hire place next door. The cheapest rooms are small - cosy and rustic - but absolutely fine for a short no-frills stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights last week and its one of the best hotel we have ever been in. The views across the mountains from our balcony was breath-taking. The service was brilliant. The bed was comfortable. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is perfect - right in the centre of the town just across from the bus and train station. We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel and would certainly return.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the alps - its amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend's skiing. Great location - just a few metres from the train station (coming up from Bex), next to the ski-rental shop and across from the train up to the ski slopes at Bretaye. We had a standard room, with a view of the mountains (which we didn't see until the clouds lifted on the second day of our stay!). The room was quite small but adequate. A small balcony gave us access to fresh air which was quite welcome as the room got quite warm. The avocado bathroom suite was something of a surprise - but it didn't detract from the pleasure of the hot bath after a day on the slopes! The restaurant is excellent - under separate ownership from the hotel with a Michelin starred chef. We had the tasting menu on Saturday night which was excellent - although the bill gave is a slight hiccup at the end! Seven exquisite courses of delicious ingredients - all served with panache and an element of surprise. The bar area is 'gemuetlich' with a log fire and lounge seating as well as a 'sit-up' bar. The large screen TV is a bit intrusive - with Eurosport on permanently - but handy to keep up with the Australian Open as it happened! Overall the staff are very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed recently and had the most amazing views of snow topped mountains. The service was brilliant , beds super comfortable, balcony, modern renovated bathroom with amazing shower which also had a mountain view. The Internet was super fast. perfect location in Villars. The woman who worked on reception was friendly, helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend it.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence

Address: Rue Centrale | Case postale 147, Villars-sur-Ollon CH-1884, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Vaud > Villars-sur-Ollon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Villars-sur-Ollon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.