We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hot water, dodgy electricity and not clean, but otherwise fine” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Garbo

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Verbier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garbo
Save
You added Garbo to your Saves list
Rue de Medran 5, Verbier 1936, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Verbier
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No hot water, dodgy electricity and not clean, but otherwise fine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

The staff were really friendly and helpful and the location is great, however the hotel rooms are not worthy of 2 stars. I struggled to get a warm shower after coming back after skiing, apparently due to limited water tank capacity. The electrics are also faulty; we experienced a power outage whilst there. Not worth the CHF 200+ rack rate.

They would do well to invest.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax West Yorks
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

Having booked the hotel for a party of 8 I was worried when I was subsequently alerted to the reviews on this site. I needn't have! The hotel is absolutely fine. It is a 2 star hotel so if you are expecting a 5 star experience all I can say is get real! The location is superb; 150 yds to the ski lift and 50 yds to the Farinet bar which has the best apres ski in the resort. Rooms on the small side but warm and very comfortable. Lots of hot water and fresh towels each day. Staff were friendly, spoke good English and very helpful. Breakfast fine although not cooked. Nice bar and 2 restaurants. Reports of excessive noise groundless in our experience ( in fact very quiet). Would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

I read the reviews on here so expectation was not high but there is nothing wrong with the Garbo.
It is slap bang in the middle of the village, minutes from the lifts. No messing about with buses and handy for the bars, shops and restaurants.
Breakfast is more than acceptable and the staff are friendly.
The rooms are a bit small / cosy. Bathroom and shower are fine.
If you are going for the skiing and the nightlife, this is great. If you are going to spend all day in your room, you could be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

The hotel is very well located (between the central plaza of verbier and the ski lifts), the staff is very nice and ready to help you at anytime. Eventhough the it is not luxurious, the rooms are clean and the two restaurants have a very good quality food and service. The receptionist are very professional and advised me on how to enjoy my stay

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

This is a horrible hotel, even worse than some realy realy bad hotel experiences I had in New York. It has only 2 stars so one can't expect much, but also keeping that in mind, it is shocking and should be avoided at all costs. The rooms are very small, dirty sheets and old towels with strange spots, too soft beds that are very unconfortable and small (basically only suited for children or dwarfs), it smells to rotten eggs in the room, the shower is old and doesn't get warm and last but not least, the heating is not functioning properly so it is freezingly cold in the rooms. Oh yes, and not to forget that it is extremely noisy (from neigbouring rooms, the bar downstairs and noice from the street). And the breakfast is a laugh. And the electricity equipment is dangerous.

Well, is everything bad? No, not the service. Service is not bad, it is absolutely missing. Please, don't go to Garbo!!

  • Liked — Nothing - horrible place
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumrbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

Just returned from a weeks skiing booked a part of a package deal. We went to Verbier and stayed at the Hotel Garbo.
It is a 2 star hotel and this is worth bearing in mind however even taking this into account it was a poor hotel.
Location was good, being only a 5 minute walk from the main lift out of town and onto the slopes but that’s where the positives stopped.
The rooms (we had 3 twin rooms between us) were tiny and where 2 beds were squeezed one would have been more appropriate. The walls (facing the corridor) and doors were very thin resulting in the ability to hear every single word and footstep at all hours.
The light fittings (in ALL 3 rooms) were dangerous to say the least. With exposed wires and lights hanging by their wires out of the wall and ceilings this is surely an accident waiting to happen.
The bathroom was adequate with a decent shower.
When doing snow sports a good breakfast can set you up for the day. I have never seen such a miserable array of ‘food’ for breakfast. A choice of 2 cereals, coffee, orange juice and a stale communal baguette with a choice of jams and one type of suspect looking ham. Hardly enough to satisfy a bunch of lads about to embark on a long days skiing.
Staff were pretty friendly and the bar (also open to the public) is quite nice and blatantly where the money has been spent.
If you’re not that hungrier a person, can sleep through a bit of a racket in what resembles a cell then go for it, you won’t be disappointed!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garbo

Address: Rue de Medran 5, Verbier 1936, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Verbier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Verbier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Garbo Hotel Verbier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garbo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.