We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Vache

La Vache
Attleas Mountain, Verbier, Switzerland
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 63 restaurants in Verbier
Price range: $22 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Went on spect on the 6th of March for lunch around 1.30ish, good ambiance it's a busy place, my recommendation is to book in advance especially if there are a few of you. Do make contact with the restaurant manager when you enter, the staff will say hello don't assume that means a table will be set aside for you there is only one person who does that .

The weather wasn't great and the terrace was closed making it even busier. The menu is limited which is good, for mains there is burger, pasta and pizza as staples plus a few other bits, I had the cheese burger which was good, the chips even better, my wife had the pesto pasta excellent, chocolate tart to share after.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

46% Recommend
    15
    12
    15
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a way to treat clients!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Having made a booking for a 1.30 lunch at 10am that morning you can imagine my chagrin to find upon arrival that the place was shut. I had broken my days skiing to accompany my non skier wife up the Medran and Funispace lifts at a cost of CHF30. If we could get there as did another couple standing forlornly at the door why couldn't you, or why take the booking. You owe me CHF30!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaVacheManagement, Public Relations Manager at La Vache, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
I feel really bad that you had to spend 30CHF to bring your non skier wife up, but that was the one and only day we had to close the place in the whole season due to bad weather condition.
Since early morning, 8:00, Televerbier advised us that due to the really powerful wind the James blunt lift would have been closed.
To every person that called in the morning, for the porpoise of booking was told that the lift wasn't working and we might have to close aswell, so we couldn't take the booking for that same reason, but would have been more then welcome to come and check if we were open for service.
I'm pretty sure you had the same explanation,if you called that morning.

Sorry again for the issue, but it was not our decision.

thank you for you time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Guess who came to lunch......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Popped in out of curiosity, after reading a piece in a paper before our ski trip.

So had to take a look.

Very inviting once past the rather stark ( not Phillip sadly !!) looking exterior, with a cosy feel and a solid menu choice inside- saw previous comments about Mr Blumenthal's involvement but cant say I would guess that from the food.

So when up a mountain with limited places to eat its a winner !

Oh and the terrace is great to sit with a beer on a sunny day ( second visit) and guess who popped out of the restaurant...only Prince Harry et all.....

So give it a go when heading to Le Tortin and have a congratulatory beer once you survived it on the way back....!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Oh La Vache!,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Was curious to try out this new restaurant on the pistes...a bit wary of Verbier prices and a star's backing.... True, a little chaotic when you arrive with everyone clamouring for a table so reserve ahead of time. While the menu is not huge, the quality/price is there and the staff do their best to please. Decor is very cosy (as can be the seating arrangements when busy) but having visited most other restos on the pistes in Verbier we were very happy with our meal...in particular- soups are delicious with generus portions, hamburgers, assiette valaisanne etc worth mentioning. The manager (Christian) is very pleasant and accommodating.....keep up the great work, we will make the trip from Nendaz again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“So cold by the door”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Really wanted it to be fab after mad skiing morning but so cold stuck by the door- wind whistled through the restaurant - many people sat with coats on ! Our waiter was great but food was slow and random. Nicely decorated! Also shame you have to go outside to come back in from going to the toilet.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vache also viewed

Verbier, Valais
Verbier, Valais
 
Verbier, Valais
 

Been to La Vache? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Vache, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.