We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally fine dining in a casual setting!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Le Sonalon

Restaurant Le Sonalon
Rte de la Marlene 110, Verbier 1936, Switzerland
+41 27 565 35 30
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 65 Restaurants in Verbier
Price range: $34 - $68
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Finally fine dining in a casual setting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Verbier restaurants tend to be overpriced and serve typical Swiss mountain fare such as fondue and raclette unless you want to go all out to the one star Michelin restaurant! Now former sous chef at the now folded Rosalp restaurant, is running his own restaurant bringing the same refined touch in his dishes without the fanfare. As I don't eat red meat, it's been a pleasure to find fish on the menu! I look forward to going back there. It is a bit out of the way but can be reached by car or walking for those who want to walk up from Verbier.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesonalon13, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Sonalon, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your appreciation. We are glad that you enjoyed our suggestions fish. Our little cottage is simple and friendly and we are happy that your visit was a success. Hope to see you again ...
Valerie and Eric Jan., his team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“A rare find these days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This restaurant is QUALITY all the way. Superb cuisine. Priced right, quiet, beautiful position, spotless loo's, easy parking and unpretentious ambiance. Chapeau! a M et Mme Jan and Frederick our charming waiter.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesonalon13, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Sonalon, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you really for your encouragment and your notation.
Valérie, Eric and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“coffee with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

probably the best view i saw from any deck in Verbier. Quiet...... unlike the craziness at Carrefour..... and much much nicer. We had a few coffees and read a book for a while. Service was efficient and friendly.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant and friendly owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have taken the "fondue tomatée" and it was very good! The tarte tatin was freshly cooked and delicious.
We were siting next to the fire place, very cosy place! Service is excellent and prices are ok for Verbier.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“I will not be back!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I gave this place a second chance since it has changed owner...not liked at all ....tables for two are miniature food was average and not well served.,,,probably if u eat in the terrace on a sunny day things souls look better.....,,

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Sonalon also viewed

Verbier, Canton of Valais
Verbier, Canton of Valais
 
Verbier, Canton of Valais
Verbier, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Restaurant Le Sonalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Le Sonalon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.