We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Year-round locals favourite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Martin - Verbier

Chez Martin - Verbier
Verbier, Switzerland
+41 (0)27 771 22 52
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 60 Restaurants in Verbier
Cuisines: Pizza & Pasta
Restaurant details
Verbier
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Year-round locals favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Open most of the year, affordable local favourite. Each week-day there is a choice of menus including lots of fish dishes and traditional local alpine dishes. A good pizza chef adds to the choice. Service is good and the staff don't change much year on year. Decor is clean, modern and modest, recently renovated with good sound proofing. Outside on the terrace is a traditional mongolian Yurt with a log fire, perfect for a cheeky post or pre dinner drink. In Summer there is a nice terrace with good views of old chalet and the mountains. Onsite parking is never busy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    18
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Value Italian fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

As with other Verbier establishments, I have eaten here on many occasions. The fare is good wholesome and we have never had any issue with any aspect of the restaurant. Is it the most interesting place around- No but there are nights when only a plate of pasta or a pizza will do and this is it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Good food, but the place is a bit chaotic.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

In Verbier, Friday and Saturday nights are busy - the first and last nights of appartment rental week, when everyoen eats out. Chez martin squeezed us in without a reservation, but the waiting staff seemed to be rushed off their feet, and struggling. Our maincourses arrived before starters (which we of course declined). But quality and speed in the kitchen, were not compromised, with veal and pizza dishes being very enjoyable, desserts likewise. The staff worked hard, and remained pleasant throughout.

I can recommend Chez Martin, if you chill out and go with the flow, you will have an enjoyable meal, reasonably priced by Verbier standards.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson Estates
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Quite Acceptable Place with decent meals, service, and no real complaints”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Lots of restaurants to choose from in Verbier. We're working through them one by one, but with a single visit, I'm not sure you can make great statements. I can say that this place was quite good, which is "average" in Verbier because a lot of the restaurants are quite good. But in comparison to some others, I don't think this quite delivered the goods, but came close. If you go, you'll be satisfied for certain but it's not that special.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verbier
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A once good reputation destroyed by poor food & service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I have eaten many times at Chez Martin but last night was an extraordinary lapse
I ordered a particular wine but was brought another.My daughter salad was completely drowned in the dressing and her following course was incorrect with the response (Are you sure you didn't order this & no apology )) My lamb cutlets were over cooked & dried out instead of rare.There was a certain graciouslessness as we were thought to be English which we are not-but if that was a reason the service was unprofessional

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Martin - Verbier also viewed

Verbier, Canton of Valais
 
Verbier, Canton of Valais
Verbier, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Chez Martin - Verbier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Martin - Verbier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.