We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Au Vieux Verbier

Au Vieux Verbier
Verbier, Switzerland
4127 771 1668
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 60 Restaurants in Verbier
Price range: $70 - $200
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Pfäffikon
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Potence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have never had anything else than a Potence which is slices of beef hooked up on a hot gallow and served with french fries and different sauces. Needless to say it's excellent otherwise I wouldn't always choose the same dish. I was told that all the other items on the menu are delicious too. Staff is experienced and prices are on Verbier level which means it does hurt a little. Reservation required!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Resting on its laurels”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

In the past I've enjoyed this restaurant but on a recent end of season visit it was as if they just were not trying. There is a lovely terrace which has been slightly ruined by an enormous new build which blocks the view. It will always be popular because of its position at the bottom of the Medran lift where skiers can meet non skiers for lunch. My steak was tough and the frites were old and cold. When I complained they did nothing about it. The staff were courteous and said they'd tell the kitchen. Verbier really needs to improve its restaurants. They are expensive and not very good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

try the "potence"..... grilled beef on the stick. Just Excellent. One of my favourite meals in Verbier. Good service and value for money

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verbier, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

we had dinner there 2 days ago with 8 friends the place was crowded like hell and we had to wait 15 min for our table to be ready but the owner a funny guy when you get to know him offers us a bottle of petite arvine at the bar and a second one.. i think he wanted to party this night and what a funny guy..ok at least our table is ready we have the best warm foie gras to and then te house speciality la potence..everything was serving very quick despite all the peoples and the waitress Nelly la boulotte was great to us ...best experience in Verbier by far

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I've been to this restaurant and both times have been excellent. I love the steak that they do on the gallows, I've never seen this done anywhere else. I even liked the Swiss wine that the waitress persuaded us to try.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Vieux Verbier also viewed

 
Verbier, Valais
 

Been to Au Vieux Verbier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Vieux Verbier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.