We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Capone

Al Capone
1936 Verbier, Verbier, Switzerland
+41 27 771 67 74
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 63 restaurants in Verbier
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Paris
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

great atmosphere, friendly service and good food. My favourite in Verbier. Try the Tarte as entrée and the poulet en panier.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    36
    33
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Al Capone for dinner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Ok - the place was crowded but the service was very slow and the food was terrible. The pizza was dry and steak tasted off

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Typical Swiss Chalet mountain restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

A friendly welcome on each visit by the owner. Wonderful views overlooking the mountains. A great atmosphere particularly in the evenings. A varied menu with reasonable prices. Locals as well as holiday makers frequent this colourful oak beamed restaurant. You need to book a table in the evenings to avoid disappointment as it becomes very busy, particularly in the skiing season.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Hands down, the best value for money restaurant in Verbier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Yes, there are other places in Verbier with higher end food, but I seriously doubt that you will find a place where the value for money fits as well as it does at Al Capone. This is by far my favorite place in Verbier - mainly because they have understood what good customer service is. The phone is ringing off the hook, so book a table several days in advance.

Tip for families with small kids - you can book as early as 5pm but between 5 and 6pm you can only order Pizza - our kids don't mind that at all.. The Al Capone pizza is probably one of the best if not the best in town, so... When we cannot get a table, we call and order the pizza - you can then pick them up within 30 minutes and still enjoy their great pizza's - even when you forgot to reserve ;-)

Service:
Oh, don't even get me started - this is the MOST FRIENDLY place I have ever been to in Verbier! There is a sign on the wooden post at the bar reading "Warm beer, Cold Food and Lousy Service - Welcome" Nothing could be further from the truth - Al Capone is Top notch, friendly and helpful customer service. They are accommodating to kids - our 7 year old got her wish fulfilled with a smile causing her to state afterwards that this was her favorite restaurant, so guess where her parents will take her next time? I could rave on about Al Capone, but I will keep it short - just know this; Al Capone sets a new standard for customer service in Verbier, many could learn from them.

Coffee
Why a separate section on Coffee? Because I enjoy a good espresso produced with good quality coffee beans grinded in a separate grinder on the spot and then brewed on a good semi-automatic espresso maker (E61 group head kind of thing - for those who know about stuff like this). Al Capone brews the best espresso I have ever had in Verbier.

Food:
Our whole family loves their pizzas. My wife and I have also gone here for a romantic tête–à–tête and we can honestly say that the rest of the menu is also really good. The fillet of beef with the five sauces is absolutely worthwhile. I focus on the value for money and there are, as previously said, other places in Verbier serving much more flashy food than Al Capone but in my humble opinion not with the same value for money. Al Capone rocks!

Atmosphere:
Al Capone has the authentic Verbier decor with wood shingles on small roofs and wooden decor, dark wooden tables and dimmed lights. Simple, excellent and cosy. The place can be a bit noisy because of the high amount of guests along with the steady stream of people picking up pre-ordered pizza's but as said, I love the place, so I will happily accept that, if I can just enjoy the pizza, the excellent service and then round if all off with a great espresso afterwards.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asse, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Fantastic Pizza and friendly helpfull service in a authentic place in Verbier. We didnt try the other dishes, but they all looked tasty and great portions.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Capone also viewed

 
Verbier, Valais
Verbier, Valais
 

Been to Al Capone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Capone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.