We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, convenient and cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Monte Rosa

Save Saved
You added Aparthotel Monte Rosa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aparthotel Monte Rosa
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Tasch CH-3929, Switzerland (Formerly Neue Kantonsstrasse )   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, convenient and cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Very good stay at Monte Rosa. The hotel is super clean and very well kept. The price was low compared to Zermatt options and the access to Zermatt was super convenient - within walking distance to the train station. The staff is lovely and goes out of their way to make you happy. You cannot go wrong

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We arrived at the hotel very late, the host was kind enough to give us a tour of the hotel and showed us all the facilities including the laundry, she made us feel like home. There were some glitches with the key access but it was quickly resolved. The hotel has all the basics at very affordable price. I only wish we could spend more time here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This cost saving hotel gave us the best meal we had in Switzerland. The host cooked us a local specialty dinner that was incredible. He also was very helpful in planning our trip into Zermatt. The hotel allows you to leave your vehicle in their parking lot (underground and secured) after you check out so we could spend the morning in Zermatt and head out to our next destination that afternoon. The price was great, a short walk to the train station, a train to Zermatt every 20 minutes and inside tips on where to get the best pictures of the Matterhorn (bridge and half mile outside of town on the main walking street) from the hotel host.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel is the first when entering Tasch. It has several properties at the both sides of the road. They offer free and secured underground parking, wellness center and free breakfast.

We stayed in an apartment on the ground floor. The room is spacious but a little bit old, found some bugs in the bathroom... If staying less than 7 days, you need to pay 35CHF / day for using the kitchen. The wifi is only available in the building of restaurant and wellness center.

It's about 10 minutes walk to the train station for connection to Zermatt. There's also a supermarket beside the railway station. Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Someone told me to choose Tasch to Zermatt from economic point of view. Therefore I selected this place. While searching Tasch Hotels, I just came across Aparthotel Monte Rosa and booked an apartment. We were so happy with our selection, that I would like to visit Switzerland again just to stay in Aparthotel Monte Rosa. The hotel had an excellent quiet location. Size of the apartment was impressively big compared to other hotels in our Switzerland trip. Apartment lounge had a very comfy set of couches with central table, with studio kitchen (even burners) and dining furniture for 4 persons. What we loved the most was deck with outdoor furniture with a view of Mt. Matterhorn. The apartment was clean and had well thought of kitchen requirements. We are so happy with this hotel and its location that out of our 13 nights in Switzerland what we enjoyed the most is our stay in Tasch. Bedrooms were very clean and beds were very good. If at all we we think of negatives, I can say that I found very strange to find that there was no arrangement to lock the apartment main door from in, which made me feel little insecured. I don't know whether it was the case only with our Apartment, or this is a trend in Tasch.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor facing Mt Matterhorn are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here in July for only one night. Rooms are somehow outdated, but they compensate greatly by cleanliness. Excellent!
Reception was in the restaurant and apparently we came too early. It was 1200pm and checkin starts at 1400h. The girl at the reception was unimpressed by all arguments I brought in discussion. Checkin before 1400h not possible / to make formalities for check-in without picking the key not possible. We were free to go, but had to be back before 2000h, as the reception closed and the girl was were completely inflexible to allow us to come later and leave the keys at the restaurant. We felt as on parole (we criminals!), or as 15 years old, not allowed to stay out too late. We went to Zermatt and was splendid. We run, rushed, stressed, beg, run again and finally made it on time to 2000h curfew. Thanks God, otherwise the consequences would have been terrible.
However, this did not change my opinion that hotel is good. It is something to remember over years about culture differences.
It was not clear to us until we booked that the use of kitchen is free if one stays one week or longer. For only one night we had to pay 35 CHF on top of anyway spicy price. This is only for extra cleaning required for the kitchen. We agreed not to use the kitchen, but we were tired to go to a restaurant, too late to eat in the one upstairs (last order is at 2030h), hence used the kitchen (yes, for free!), but left it very clean afterwards. Win-win situation.
All in all, a good stay and I would recommend.

Room Tip: don't come before 1400h, nor after 2000h. Big trouble!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A friend and I had signed up for the Zermatt Ultra Marathon and chose this hotel to avoid the high prices at Zermatt hotels. We did not expect a great deal but the hotel (and the personel working there) was a great, positive surprise. The rooms were spacious and immaculately clean; the view from the hotel was excellent (we could not see Matterhorn, but Kleine Matterhorn was an excellent substitute), and we especially enjoyed the views of the neighbouring mountains at sunrise and sunset. The hotel is situated next to a road, but as cars are not allowed into Zermatt, the area was absolutely quiet at night. The very well-informed owner makes sure that the hotel combines the reliability of a major hotel chain with the cozyness of a family-owned hotel - and an eye on every finger with discretion. Furthermore he clearly has a great eye for recruitment - every single employee was competent, kind and very helpful. We did not find time to see and take advantage of the fitness facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aparthotel Monte Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Monte Rosa

Address: Tasch CH-3929, Switzerland (Formerly Neue Kantonsstrasse )
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Tasch
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Tasch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Monte Rosa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Aparthotel Monte Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Monte Rosa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Monte Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.