We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on the Lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wellness & Spa Hotel Beatus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wellness & Spa Hotel Beatus to your Saves list
Wellness & Spa Hotel Beatus
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seestrasse 300, Merligen 3658, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Merligen
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great location on the Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stopped by and had coffee and desert while overlooking the lake . What a relaxing time sipping coffee and eating a variety of locally prepared treats with family. We will definately stop by this beautiful tranquil location again

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at Wellness & Spa Hotel Beatus, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Sir, dear Madam

It is nice to hear that you have enjoyed your visit at the Wellness & Spa Hotel Beatus.
We are already looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards from the shore of lake Thun.

Jasmin Helwig
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    23
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
68
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kyiv, Ukraine
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel spa area is practically second to none, with great outdoor saltwater pool and multiple saunas in two sauna "parks".
You would feel very refreshed after the day in wellness area, and great gourmet experience at in-house restaurant with great sunset views would round it up perfectly.
The room was outdated, but I haven't spent any day time in it, so not a problem.
The water in indoor pool too warm to my liking, not comfortable for making laps in it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Wellness & Spa Hotel Beatus, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear madam
dear sir

Many thanks for your kind review on your stay at the Hotel Beatus. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us and especially appreciated the Spa facilities as well as the meal offer. We do thank you for your compliments, which we will be happy to pass on to our staff.
We have renovated most of our rooms in April 2014 and would be happy to reserve one of these rooms for your future stay.
We look forward to welcoming you to the Wellness & Spa Hotel Beatus for another visit soon.
Best regards
Jasmin Helwig
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flims, Switzerland
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The hotel has a idyllic and quiet setting at the Lake Thun. The garden with the lounge right at the lake is fantastic. Great view. Be aware at your arriving, the hotel looks from the outside very ordinary. But the hotel is better than it looks and is in good shape. The village there is small. Few roads, few houses. But from there, you have many opportunities. You can go everywhere by ship, the landing is right at the hotel. It is always a special thing, when the ship stopps there. We stayed at room nr. 210 with lakeview and balcony. The beds are of good quality, fine linens, new matresses. The rooms are not very big. Breakfast and dinner is rich and of good quality. The sweet buffet is extraordinary. Staff and management are professional and helpfull. The Spa is nice and an important part of the hotel. We could soak in the pool and jump right away into the refreshing lake. Overall this hotel is a hidden gem, everything is of good quality. The price is high enough, this might be the only negativ. It was our second time at that hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at Wellness & Spa Hotel Beatus, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear madam
dear sir

Many thanks for your kind review on your stay at the Hotel Beatus. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us and especially appreciated the Spa facilities as well as the meal offer. We do thank you for your compliments, which we will be happy to pass on to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you to the Beatus for another visit soon.
Best regards

Nathalie Hanslin
Head of E-Commerce and Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
354 helpful votes 354 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My family and I spent a week end in Wellness & Spa Hotel Beatus Merligen, from 31.05.2014-01.06.2014. We stayed in Deluxe room Spiez number 303, 3rd floor with lake view. We are normally used to stay in the brother Hotel of this group which is Wellness & Spa Hotel Ermitage Schönried. Therefore, we are now able to compare both Hotels and we found out that Hotel Ermitage was much more corresponding to our expectations, here are the reasons why :

Positive points :
----------------------
1) Great view on the lake and sunset from our Deluxe room balcony.
2) Nice balcony to enjoy view and drinks in full privacy.
3) Water bed in the relaxation room are really great, with music, drinks and fruits.
4) 35 degrees Celsius outdoor pool is excellent, with water massages, water bubbles, strong current.
5) Quiet rooms on lake side, as no car passing by.
6) Large boats are stopping just in front of the Hotel, really nice to watch.

Points to be aware of :
------------------------------
1) It was quite hot in the room during the night and we did not find out how to cool it down...
2) Very few privacy in the restaurant during breakfast and dinner (hotel was quite full !).
3) When buffet during dinner, you have to queue as there is not much space where the food is located.
4) Old style Hotel, compare to fully renovated Hotel Ermitage.
5) Missing flowers on the garden side.

Well, we can say that we enjoyed our stay, but when there are too much people inside the Hotel, it loses the charm and you don't feel at ease, better to go there during low season. Kids are also welcome and can enjoy the pools and water bed, but they should not be too noisy or people will complain very fast...

We will not come back to Beatus Hotel but we will definitively continue to come back to Hotel Ermitage, which has a higher level of everything if to compare.

I will soon add some photos so you can see what I'm talking about, enjoy your stay if you go there :-).

Room Tip: Ask for high floor room and lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at Wellness & Spa Hotel Beatus, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Otter

We thank you very much for your kind feedback on your stay at the Beatus. We are thrilled to have had the chance to welcome you as a regular hotel Ermitage guest also to the hotel Beatus and hope to welcome you to Schönried for many years to come.
In the last four years we have had several renovations at the hotel Beatus, for example our lobby as well as most of the rooms have been remodelled. Other areas of the hotel will follow.
We will be happy to pass on your compliments to our staff and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best regards

Nathalie Hanslin
Head of E-Commerce & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosh ha'ayin,Israel
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had 5 nights for a romantic relaxed vacation, we had a front of the lake room with great view and nice balcony. the place is beautiful with plenty of nice flowers and sitting opportunities at the garden. the sauna area as a nice variety and is comfortable,
Staff is amazing in service and from the manager Peter to the last one they are giving you a warm very nice service.
we had breakfast and dinner - the breakfast is excellent whit a huge variety of food , dinner is 5 course gourme which is very good but we loved it less than breakfast
to conclude - we had excellent vacation , relaxing and enjoyable

The only thing to mention - we think that the price of spa treatments is too high in value for what you get

Room Tip: high floor with balcony facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at Wellness & Spa Hotel Beatus, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir

We thank you very much for your kind review on your stay at the Beatus. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and especially appreciated our staff as well as your breakfast experience. We hope you will be able to benefit for a long time from your relaxing vacation and hope to welcome you to Merligen for another visit in the future.
Best regards,

Nathalie Hanslin
Head of E-Commerce and Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langenthal, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Spent a spa day there with a friend for my birthday. It was terrible. For the price they charge you'd expect good customer service, which was absolutely not what we got. They let us wait in the reception area for twenty minutes until we were too late for the first massage. The spa lady then refused to do the whole program since she probably would have had a shorter break. After I complained she was very rude for the whole day. The baths by the way are okay, some of the steambaths are pretty good even, and the food was excellent. The spa day package however I can't recommend at all. Horrible experience!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Guest Relations Manager at Wellness & Spa Hotel Beatus, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir
We thank you for your feedback on your day at the Beatus. We sincerely apologize that your day spa turned out to be such a bad experience. We can assure you that this is certainly not the way we usually treat our customers and we will look into this matter immediately. If you would be so kind to send us your coordinates (email and/or phone number), we will be happy to contact you directly to discuss the possibility for us to make amends.
Kind regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We have been there in January 2014 and have been very satisfied with the offered activity from day to day. The care for all guests is attractiv. It brings people together. You are never lost. Yearly we visite this Hotel 1-2 times. Bad weather is no problem. There will be always something to see to do and the restaurant is excelent too. The service is perfect and we will stay in this Hotel in the future.

Room Tip: The rooms to the spa are quied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at Wellness & Spa Hotel Beatus, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir
We thank you very much for your kind feedback on your renewed stay at the Beatus. We are thrilled to have you as regular guests and hope to welcome you to Merligen for many years to come. We will be happy to pass on your compliments to our staff and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wellness & Spa Hotel Beatus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellness & Spa Hotel Beatus

Address: Seestrasse 300, Merligen 3658, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Merligen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Merligen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wellness & Spa Hotel Beatus 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No matter from which direction you approach our hotel, you will always feel the reassuring effect of this truly special place right from the very first moment. If you arrive by boat and walk across the landing jetty, you will be welcomed by our hotel park with its southern flair. If you come through the main entrance, you will have already been impressed by the magical effect of the lake-view from our Panorama Hall. You will instantly be certain of one thing: “Here I will find peace and be able to recharge my batteries.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Escapio, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wellness & Spa Hotel Beatus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellness And Spa Hotel Beatus
Wellness Hotel Merligen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellness & Spa Hotel Beatus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.