We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent raclette, good service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Tenne

Hotel Restaurant Tenne
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Restaurant Tenne to your Saves list
Hotel Restaurant Tenne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Saas-Fee CH-3906, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Saas-Fee
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent raclette, good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Over the Easter weekend, we dined at the Restaurant Tenne. We called ahead for reservations which was imperative as they were busy. All of the staff spoke english. The service was very friendly and the restaurant was decorated in a typical Swiss manner. The hotel is located right across from Hotel Artemis.

We had a portion (100g) of the raclette, which is melted cheese with pickles, pickled onions and baby corn. It was very good.

We also had a portion of roesti (with ham and cheese), and found it to be very oily. I'm not sure if this is the typical way of making roesti but it was very heavy and really too oily to be very enjoyable.

We also had the schweizenschnitzel, which was similarly oily. Just a few weeks ago, we had wienerschnitzel at a restaurant in Vienna (which was great) and this schnitzel unfortunately did not fare well in comparison.

Despite this, we had a lovely evening and the service was good. While we felt the raclette was very good at this restaurant, the rest of our meal was fairly average. The pricing, however, was reasonable compared to the rest of Saas-Fee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Although received not so good comments in advance, we tried it and we are happy we did. Great raclette (8.80 fr 130g) and even better fondue with herbs (29.90 fr) and another one with tomatos. We recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Our Swiss friends booked us into this hotel. We had our children (teen and early 20s) with us. The room, number 37, had a loft in it so they "kids" could stay in the room too. We much preferred this instead of renting two rooms. The room was 320 Swiss Francs per night which was though was reasonable given the accomodations. The hotel is very centrally located in Saas Fee. The room had a balcony and faced the mountains and glaciers and was on the 4th floor (Europeans start with 0 as the first floor - different for us Americans). A typical European breakfast was included - all you can eat - eggs, meats, cheeses. All very good. The owners of the restaurant were very helpful. The first night here they picked our luggage up at the bus terminal and took it to the hotel so we could go to dinner (it was late) at a restaurant. They checked us in the next morning with the typical Swiss, pleasant and helpful attitude. We highly recommend the hotel!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

I really recommend this small hotel. We were so happy. The room was very clean and confortable. It had a beautiful view to the montains. The staff in the hotel was friendly. For a two stars it was very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

When I should pay the bill in the restaurant did I only get the choice of pay in NOK. I refused and let my buddy pay, with his Swiss visa card. When I arrived back home they had still charged my credit card. Be aware of this restaurant/hotel.

The food all tasted the same, at least the two different we tried. Be smart to choose something else, at least I'd do the next time I am in Saas-Fee.

More about paying in local currency:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dynamic_currency_conversion

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

i stayed with my wife for 3 days sep. 2010
the hotel is modern , clean and is situated in the center
sass fee is a good starting point for hiking
the hotel gives you a voucher for which you travel free on any bus or cable lift in the area
you can not enter with your car to the town, so riding free with the bs helps
the hotel has a very good restaurant (don't go elsewhere)
we recived guidance to where to go each day from the reception (always with a smile)
recomend this hotel highly.
breakfest continental but more the stasfactory

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

The Hotel Tenne is a perfect option to spend your holidays in Saas-Fee, first of all it´s owners are realy kind and helpful, the breakfast, meal and dinner (four courses) are quality prepared and quantity plenty. We always choose this hotel for our holidays and have stayed there three or four times and always glad to come back. It´s location is in the center, at main street, five minutes walking to the ski area in wich the hotel gives you a place for the skis. It´s also realy close to the parking and bus station. Thinking about location, meals, comfort, attention and price, we realy recomend this hotel.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Restaurant Tenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Tenne

Address: Saas-Fee CH-3906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Tenne 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Tenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Tenne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.