We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cheese fondue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of du Saas-Fee

du Saas-Fee
Untere Gasse 3, Saas-Fee CH 3906, Switzerland
+41 79 356 40 92
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 57 Restaurants in Saas-Fee
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Du - Fondue and Raclette in Saas Fee Your host Astrid knows how to celebrate the alpine way of life, mixing the trendy and the traditional. With its sincere and down-to-earth ambiance, du is fitted with two large tables where guests can enjoy informal and authentic valaisian interaction. There is no better way to have conversations that are as rich in content as the valaisian meals we serve. The menu covers freshly prepared meat and cheese Fondues, Raclette and valaisian dried meats as well as crisp salads. We only use seasonal and regional products of the highest quality. The wine menu is literally a declaration of love to the Valais; the selection ranges from a brisk Heida to an earthy and flavorful Humagne Rouge.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best cheese fondue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We have eaten here twice this winter and will definitely return when next in Saas Fee. Astrid is a perfect host and the cheese fondue is the best we have had anywhere. The local Heida wine is a perfect accompaniment to the cheese.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dueSaasFee, Inhaber at du Saas-Fee, responded to this review, October 17, 2014
Thank you Ian. We hope to see you again this winter season 2014 / 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nathan's Best of 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We were very lucky to find place without any booking in this 25 sits, two benched single room cozy restaurant, which we decided to try following the comments of previous reviewers.
Those comments proved to be completely true.
The place is located on a lateral road from one of the main streets of Saas-Fee, close to the main church, and it is specialized in few cheese-based Swiss traditional specialties, which it does divinely: the raclette and the fondue ("dü" or "due" in latin alphabet, hence the name of the restaurant).
My wife and I were served a superb creamy fondue unspoiled by the usually too much wine, which was the best we have tried since we moved to Switzerland, 10 years ago, while the little one (6yo) tried a delicious set of cold cuts from the valley. The meal was accompanied by the young fresh and fruity wine Heida from a Wallis producer - a pleasant surprise.
A nice talk with the friendly owner (who was previously working in another "hutta" now closed) cheered up a very pleasant evening.
One remark: maybe an air ventilation was operating, but we didn't feel the air in the room particularly hot.
Finally, that is not clearly a gala restaurant where to pick a course from a 30 entry list of "menu a la carte", but if you want to try one of the best fondue ever, this is your place (but don't forget to book in advance).

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dueSaasFee, Inhaber at du Saas-Fee, responded to this review, October 17, 2014
Thank you very much for those nice words. We gar glad you all enjoyed the time at dü Saas-fee. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Welcoming atmosphere, outstanding food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

It's with good reason that this is one of the top-rated restaurants in Saas Fee. The small setting, which seats ~20 people at two long tables, is very cozy and welcoming when you arrive. We came for an 8pm seating, and enjoyed chatting with the people beside us while our meal was prepared.

The host (who we learned afterwards runs the restaurant entirely on her own), is friendly, cheerful, and just wants to see her guests enjoy a good meal. And a good meal you will have.

We enjoyed a starter of raclette and salad , and then shared a fondue Chinoise for our main. All of the food was exceptional, and the friendly and neighbourly environment only served to augment the experience.

This place tends to book up so make your reservation a couple days in advance if possible. You won't regret it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dueSaasFee, Inhaber at du Saas-Fee, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you so much for this great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal and the time at dü Saas-fee. Thank you also for recommending our restaurant to other visitors.
Astrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A real gem in Saas Fee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had an excellent meal in this charming restaurant last night. It is an old, tastefully restored barn. It is centrally located just 40m off the main village street. The restaurant is small and only seats about 20 people at 2 large tables on benches. This did not disturb us. The benches are comfortable and there is enough space between diners. We had a mixed cold meat plate to start and fondue to follow. Both were absolutely perfect. The wine list is of top quality. The host/owner was extremely friendly and obliging. I saw in a review that someone was too hot in the restaurant. This seems to have been sorted out as we found the temperature comfortable. My only suggestion would be for the owner to engage someone to help her. I think that she will be very successful and may find it difficult to keep up the pace without help.
This was by far our best meal in Saas Fee!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dueSaasFee, Inhaber at du Saas-Fee, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for this review and the positive feedback. Yes, we did some improvements concerning the room temperature.
I also appreciate the recommendation and your worry. I do already have many people secretly working in the background and supporting me in my daily work. We are glad you did enjoy the time at dü Saas-fee and hope to see you soon again.
Astrid and her team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“traditional dishes in a great setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

great restoration job on a traditional hut on stilts. just off the main drag, two large communal tables. great care has gone into decor, table settings, atmosphere. open kitchen. this may very well be the ONLY place in town where you can have traditional local dishes (cheese or meat fondue, raclette) without the unwelcome addition of those horrid "flavor enhancing" chemicals the swiss seem to be so fond of (read MSG). The meat fondue is also made with real meat, of excellent quality, not the usual rolls of frozen cardboard. even in the middle of winter, remember not to dress too warmly! it's a bit of a sauna, though the owner/chef says they're working on installing some ventilation. tasty and original nibble things to go with fondue and raclette, not the usual ten kinds of mayo offered in most local eateries.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dueSaasFee, Owner at du Saas-Fee, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for this positive feedback. We are sorry if the temperature was too high this evening. We are working on this and will install an additional ventilation system soon. We hope you will visit Saas-Fee and dü soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed du Saas-Fee also viewed

Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
 
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
 

Been to du Saas-Fee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage du Saas-Fee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.