We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find - after 3 years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essstube

Essstube
Hannigstrasse 47, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
+(41)27 957 15 53
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 56 Restaurants in Saas-Fee
Cuisines: European, Swiss
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Spalding, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great find - after 3 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We've holidayed in Saas Fee three times now and have only just found this place, what a shame we hadn't discovered it before. A total of eight of us ate there, four German, four English covering a mixture of ages and we all quickly found lots on the menu we liked and really enjoyed the experience. At first glance the menu is traditional but you soon realise everything has an interesting twist. The fillet steak has a ‘coffee crust’ for example and the Schnitzel is described a ‘crispy’ and is much the better for it. The salad even comes with a 'beetroot froth' which entertained the children. The venue has an upmarket but friendly feel with lots of quirky touches to the decor and by Saas Fee standards it’s not too pricey either.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    7
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had heard how this restaurant had quickly gained great reviews in Saas Fee so we stopped by with our kids yesterday. The decor is super, quirky and fun. The service was excellent and the food was spot on. We find vegetables in Switzerland are generally over cooked and covered in butter. Here they were fresh, perfectly cooked and tasty. The salmon and tiger prawns were excellent and our youngest loved the burger and twice-cooked chips (which we couldn't help but keep stealing from him!). Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of our best meals ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We enjoyed this restaurant so much we ate here twice in a week - it's that good. The service was excellent with some great and interesting suggestions for wine to complement the food. The dining room itself is lovely and has a very nice atmosphere. The real star of the show though is the food - it's amazing. Some clever combinations such as the fillet steak with coffee crust and nut sauce or the wonderful vanilla ice cream with pumpkin oil and toasted seeds or chocolate mousse with an elderflower sauce. My kids loved their burger and amazing chips, my wife her salmon with sesame seed coating and steak with bearnaise sauce served with fresh asparagus. It is superbly presented and exceptionally well cooked. It was tremendous to see the chef also chatting to customers in the dining room later too. Wonderful!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food, gracious service and fun dining room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

A truly good experience: our host were so attentive at every single step, from food ordering to drinks, from giving us advice to accommodating our requests.

We had two different salads as starters and both were very good and the Wienerschnitzel main my sister ordered was really nice. My pork fillet were so tender and juicy.

Presentation was great too!

I would definitely recommend this restaurants for friends, couples, families as it has a very welcoming attitude to all.

They also spoke good English and French!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best choices in Saas-Fee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Mix of traditional and innovative styles, the food, chosen from a discrete variety of entries, was very good and served with creativity to please both the taste and the eye.
One mention of honor: the french fries are superb, crunchy outside but soft and tasty inside.
Booking recommended in high season.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essstube also viewed

Saas-Fee, Valais
Saas-Fee, Valais
 

Been to Essstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essstube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.