We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Christiania

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Christiania to your Saves list
Hotel Christiania
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 19, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Extremely Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent 7nights here as part of a large fairly loquacious group of Scots. From being picked up at the bus terminus in an electric car by the owners vivacious daughter after an exhilarating journey up the mountainside from Visp to being deposited at the same terminus at journey's end - we were treated like family. We arrived late , the friendly house cat was prowling , it was that late. we had arranged to meet our friends at a nearby restaurant so the wonderfully fluent vivacious Danielle suggested that we check in properly in the morning but in the interim invited us to choose a room to suit from the two left available by our more punctual friends. We chose the one with the wraparound balony facing south and west allowing perfect views of both the mountains above and the chocolate-box village beneath. The bathroom was long and spacious with a giant shower at one end and a deep bath at the other all spotlessly clean and white wiith lots of crisp white towels and products and even a door to e balcony should one wish. We opted for B and B as wished to partake of the abundance of decent restaurants in the town and were not disappointed.Breakfast was super with something for all tastes and epicurean desires -grains, oats, seeds and fruits , yogurts , delicious healthy breads and crisp breads and a boiled egg cooker complete with marker pen to ensure you collected the right one when the bleeper went off. One night we stayed home and enjoyed a convivial meat fondue , the Swiss way, cooked in stock instead of oil and accompanied by bottles of Swiss wine and deliciously chilled mountain water. Talking of mountains the ski lifts are a mere five minutes walk away,the ski hire shop is bang opposite the hotel probably three steps away as streets are narrow and the boot/ski room is accessible via lift from reception- another bonus at the beginning of a new day. Downside is that such beauty and year round skiing conditions do not come cheap , be prepared to pay Swiss mountainside prices for everything , even postcards,however even the hard core skiers in our group who have been skiing for some 45 years had a black run story to recount with pride and pleasure over dinner . Something then for all standards, a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    43
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
64
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in superior double on top floor with lovely big bath. Travelling with a group, and all happy with rooms and breakfasts. Enjoyed the opportunity to eat in different restaurants in the village each night. Ski room good, and boot drier worked well. An ideal base for a ski holiday. Staff very friendly and helpful. Saas Fee beautiful.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murren, Switzerland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

delightful family run hotel in the centre of the town. they pick you up in their electric car and take you back when its time to leave. very spacious rooms and well fitted out. lift access to all but the top floor and importantly to the boot and ski room. its a ten minute walk to the uplift and there are busses that can take the pain out of that. its a car free location so walking is a pleasure. some good restaurants in the immedaite vicinity. breakfast was good but the egg machine made an unpleasant and irritating noise. would stay again if in the area. the skiing is excellent and we were blessed with great snow and weather.

Room Tip: go for the superior facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We've spent 3 nights at hotel Christiania during the February break. We especially appreciated the location of the hotel, which is close to the ski slopes and in the centre of the village. At night, it is easy to go out and eat at one of the many great restaurants that you can find in Saas Fee. We did not try out the restaurant of the hotel, as the decoration is a little bit out of date (or many too Suisse) and it did not feel very appealing to us. The service of the hotel is excellent. They picked us up at the parking 5 minutes after we called them that we had arrived. They were even happy to sterilize all of our baby’s bottles! They offered us a very nice room (clean and a good size). Our son slept a separate room, separated by a curtain, with his own sink and television. It is not cheap, but then again, nothing is in Switzerland… It certainly is a hotel that we would recommend if you want to go to Saas Fee as a couple, with friends or as a family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campos Do Jordao, SP
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

It was one of the bests surprises from my trip. Saas-fee is excellent, lovel city, lovely community and a really charm atmosphere. This hotel is fantastic, very personal and lovely staff, traditional, family owned and they are really supportive and great people. The rooms are really comfortable and the beds are excellent, i had some of the best sleepy nights of my life ! Excellent localization (just 2 or three minutes walk from the sky station and a few more from the city pool that is really funny!). Great breakfast and everything was perfect. Price is great too ! Ony have good worlds to describe, nothing negative to comment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Hotel christiania offered us pleasant stay. We got comfortable rooms with great view of snow peaked mountains. Hosts were friendly and we were pleasantly surprised when we were picked up from the bus stop when our arrival was beyond check-in time. The host even helped us with travel plan to get back to Geneva on time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We so enjoyed our shirt stay at the Hotel Christinia in Saas Fee. From the moment we were picked up at the bus station to the last time of our departure, we felt welcomed and cared for. We felt treated like a member of the family and an honored guest, not just a paying customer. The room was quite comfortable and spotless with a great balcony door which let air into the room in two different ways.
We would not hesitate for a second to recommend this place and to come back if ta all possible.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the mountain; that really adds to the experience of being in The Alps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christiania

Address: Dorfstrasse 19, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saas-Fee
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saas-Fee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saas-Fee
#8 Family Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Christiania 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3* hotel Christiania and Saas-Fee offer you perfect conditions for a recreative and active holiday in our beautiful Valais Alps. You can expect a unique mountain and glacier world with a stunning panorama in the car-free and pleasant village Saas-Fee. In our hotel Christiania you can relax and feel good in a family atmosphere. Our attractive offers make it easy for you to choose your holiday in Saas-Fee and to fulfill your holiday dreams. Our hotel offers 27 non-smoking rooms* with bathtub and showerhead or shower, toilet, hairdryer, safe, mini-fridge, cable-tv with radio (all with flat screen), alarm clock and info channel, direct dial telephone and free Wi-Fi internet access. 98% Of our rooms have a balcony with magnificent view to the mountain world of the Saas Valley The hotel has a elevator and is partly wheelchair accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Christiania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christiania Hotel Saas Fee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Christiania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.