We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff, Very clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Christiania

Save Saved
You added Hotel Christiania to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Christiania
Dorfstrasse 19, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 55 hotels in Saas-Fee
Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly staff, Very clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in superior double on top floor with lovely big bath. Travelling with a group, and all happy with rooms and breakfasts. Enjoyed the opportunity to eat in different restaurants in the village each night. Ski room good, and boot drier worked well. An ideal base for a ski holiday. Staff very friendly and helpful. Saas Fee beautiful.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    33
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
49
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Murren, Switzerland
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

delightful family run hotel in the centre of the town. they pick you up in their electric car and take you back when its time to leave. very spacious rooms and well fitted out. lift access to all but the top floor and importantly to the boot and ski room. its a ten minute walk to the uplift and there are busses that can take the pain out of that. its a car free location so walking is a pleasure. some good restaurants in the immedaite vicinity. breakfast was good but the egg machine made an unpleasant and irritating noise. would stay again if in the area. the skiing is excellent and we were blessed with great snow and weather.

Room Tip: go for the superior facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We've spent 3 nights at hotel Christiania during the February break. We especially appreciated the location of the hotel, which is close to the ski slopes and in the centre of the village. At night, it is easy to go out and eat at one of the many great restaurants that you can find in Saas Fee. We did not try out the restaurant of the hotel, as the decoration is a little bit out of date (or many too Suisse) and it did not feel very appealing to us. The service of the hotel is excellent. They picked us up at the parking 5 minutes after we called them that we had arrived. They were even happy to sterilize all of our baby’s bottles! They offered us a very nice room (clean and a good size). Our son slept a separate room, separated by a curtain, with his own sink and television. It is not cheap, but then again, nothing is in Switzerland… It certainly is a hotel that we would recommend if you want to go to Saas Fee as a couple, with friends or as a family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campos Do Jordao, SP
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

It was one of the bests surprises from my trip. Saas-fee is excellent, lovel city, lovely community and a really charm atmosphere. This hotel is fantastic, very personal and lovely staff, traditional, family owned and they are really supportive and great people. The rooms are really comfortable and the beds are excellent, i had some of the best sleepy nights of my life ! Excellent localization (just 2 or three minutes walk from the sky station and a few more from the city pool that is really funny!). Great breakfast and everything was perfect. Price is great too ! Ony have good worlds to describe, nothing negative to comment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Hotel christiania offered us pleasant stay. We got comfortable rooms with great view of snow peaked mountains. Hosts were friendly and we were pleasantly surprised when we were picked up from the bus stop when our arrival was beyond check-in time. The host even helped us with travel plan to get back to Geneva on time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We so enjoyed our shirt stay at the Hotel Christinia in Saas Fee. From the moment we were picked up at the bus station to the last time of our departure, we felt welcomed and cared for. We felt treated like a member of the family and an honored guest, not just a paying customer. The room was quite comfortable and spotless with a great balcony door which let air into the room in two different ways.
We would not hesitate for a second to recommend this place and to come back if ta all possible.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the mountain; that really adds to the experience of being in The Alps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel is OK and clean and a central location (on the main road), staff generally friendly and very helpful. Breakfast choice a bit sad, missing croissant, bread roll or Hefezopf!
Strangely, although booked a standard room and normal price, we did not get the web and board announced special exchange rate SFR/EUR of 1.35.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christiania

Address: Dorfstrasse 19, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Saas-Fee
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saas-Fee
#4 Best Value Hotel in Saas-Fee
#5 Family Hotel in Saas-Fee
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3-Stars hotel in the car-free glacier village Saas-Fee, Wallis, Switzerland. Families and couples are welcome as well as single persons. Modern / comfortable non smoking rooms with bath or shower / WC, hairdryer, safe, cable TV with radio (some have flat-screen TV), alarm clock and information channel, direct dial telephone, freeWIFI acces - thereof 95% of the rooms with balconiesThe price includes:- rich breakfast buffet with vital corner in the redesigned dining room- free use of the spa area - visitor’s taxes- VAT- lugguage transportation and shuttle service with the electric taxi- free WIFI access quietly and centrally located within a walking distance of three minutes to the lifts and ski slopes, 100 meter from the village square place, very close to all the shops and restaurants.free lugguage transport and electro-taxi transfer, breakfast buffet, menu dinner, wellness, lift (wheelchair accessible), hotel-barrich breakfast buffet with vital corner, 5-course set menu in winter, 4-course set menu in summer28 rooms* 12 Double rooms Standard * 3 Single rooms Standard* 5 Double rooms Superior * 4 Single rooms Superior* 3 Family rooms * 1 Junior suite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Christiania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christiania Hotel Saas Fee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Christiania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.