We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Schweizerhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Schweizerhof to your Saves list
Hotel Schweizerhof
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   123 Schweizerhof Rd, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Excellent both food and service in the restaurant, excellent spa facilities, excellent swiss service, excellent, friendly staff. Just everything in this hotel deserves excellent rate. Wish only wi-fi be better during peak times and rooms more stylish/modern. Will definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    19
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
28
66
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swithland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were made very welcome at this lovely standard classy hotel. A little surprising was the quality cuisine and pool sauna amenities on offer, but nevertheless much appreciated. As was the exceptional pianist to accompany dinner every night. Would. Come back most definitely, would I recommend it? Most highly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We went to schweizerhof Saas fee last year and we found it lovely. We went back this year and it is still a fantastic place. Nice rooms, spacious and designed to house all the skiing gear, warm welcome from staff and owners, delicious food, excellent spa and - last but not least - fantastic weather. To be tried!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. Some have a carpeted floor, while others have a parquet floor. Just in case you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Medium sized hotel, in a quiet part of the village, close to the main street. Decorated with love. Very friendly staff and owners. The hotel chef even sings some tunes along with the piano player that plays during diner each night. Allthough the design of our room was somewhat outdated, it was clean, spacious, comfortable and complete! The beds and bedding could be beter. The food is superb. The wellness is a real treat and has a beautiful, warm and modern design. The view from the relaxing area and outdoor hot tub is marvelous. It also has a good swimmingpool in which you can swim a few laps.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horgen, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

As a newlywed couple we were choosing this hotel for our honeymoon, especially to let my Chinese wife experience the beauty and atmosphere of the Swiss mountains.

We were picking this hotel because it is a member of the freedreams hotel program offered in Europe, which basically lets you get rooms to discounted prices during the off-season. Our excitement already began 1 week before checking in as the management confirmed that it is possible to even get one of the suites for a massive discount, even though the rooms listed in the freedreams catalog were only of the standard type.

It just got better upon arrival, the driver of the hotel picking us up from the Saas-Fee bus terminal was really friendly and helpful, checking in totally uncomplicated and the offering of a welcome drink of your choice really nice. This is a hotel which staff goes all out to make you feel welcome and at home from the moment you enter the door. Little touches that helped making our honeymoon a romantic unforgettable time were already arranged by the hotel: Nice rose flower arrangements, a free champagne waiting in the cooler, readied Jacuzzi with bath salt and aromatic oils, and with the suite facing the near mountains offering a stunning view, a perfect first impression for my wife of the typical Swiss landscape.

What I have to commend the hotel most about though is their chefs ability to create little culinary wonders each evening of our stay. I mean taking the fact into account that we stayed there off-season (in between the summer and winter season), and Saas-Fee seemed a little sleepy, I imagine it cannot be that easy getting across the quality ingredients needed to create such imaginative menus fusing international cuisine and local specialties. There was only 1 occasion I thought the vegetables tasted a bit like ready-serving ones out of a bag. But all in all amazing food. They also feature a really nice wine menu with a huge section of Wallis-based wineries accompanied by international selections. Great chef, great dining! A minor gripe is that I thought the service in the restaurant was a bit distant, but maybe that's us being a relatively young couple not used to this level of dining ;-)

Another very nice touch is the fact that the Schweizerhof team offers visitors the Saas-Fee ''Buergerpass'' which is a card allowing you free use of all the cable trams and the public bus service in the area, so doing day trips was totally hassle-free.

Last point of this review is about the SPA, although there are certainly bigger SPA's around in hotels, this one has class a massage center offering all kinds of massages, a whirlpool and a small swimming pool certainly are enough to make you feel completely relaxed after this one day out on skis, or a longer hike around the Saas-Fee mountain landscape.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise E, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We were very happy to read your rating and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay that much. We hope to welcome you again soon in the Schweizerhof Gourmet & Spa in order to make your next holidays as great as those you just spent.
Warm greetings from the whole Schweizerhof team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We spent 7 nights here during August 2012, having stayed at the hotel several years earlier when we had a wonderful time.

The hotel is based in Saas Fee which is a delightful Swiss German car free town. It is a reasonably sized mountain town with great hiking possibilities and has all the amenities you need (supermarkets, pharmacies, bakeries, restaurants etc).The Schweizerhof is centrally located, but is next to a church and school, so can be a little noisy during the day if your room is at the front of the hotel. The church bells stop at night, so didn't impact our sleep. If you are in Saas Fee on a Thursday (certainly during the summer), you can experience the village market day which is a lot of fun. Just make sure you leave room for lots of food.

We had a deluxe room which was very roomy and included a modern bathroom, powder room, sitting area and balcony. The hotel also has first class spa and swimming pool facilities which we used every day. We are not normally "spa" people, but these were so good and were included in the room rate. We also had a massage, which was outstanding.

Another standout is the restaurant. The breakfast buffet is one of the best we have seen and the half board dinners are a true work of art.

Lastly, everyone from the owners to the staff, are very friendly and helpful. On a couple of nights, the owners invited the guests for drinks, canapes and some Swiss yodelling.

Although not cheap, this hotel is all class, and worth the price. We plan to return for a third visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have visited Saas Fee a total of 9 times in the past 10 years and stayed in a number of places, both hotels and self catered appartments. This was our first time in this hotel and I would certainly not hesitate to stay there again in either summer of winter. It's got a great location - right in the centre of the village,just over 5 minutes walk from the Bus garage/car park. As it is up a slope just off the main high street the rooms have great views out across the mountains. When we arrived we got the usual fantastic Swiss welcome. Offer of a drink, our cases immediately whisked away to our room, a chance to ask anything we wanted to know and the owners themselves came to greet us. A really nice welcome and the best bit of all, you get a free lift pass included. This is extremely useful - you can get a ticket everyday which means you can use all cablecars, and buses for free! A real perk and so worth having when going to Saas Fee in the summer. The room was lovely - we only had a standard one but faced directly onto the mountain - a truly fabulous view of Saas Fee. It wasn't huge but large enough and with a good sized balcony. The bathroom could have been a little larger but this is a minor point. Breakast was good - huge choice and you can order eggs cooked to order as well. We didn't eat in the hotel for dinner. I'm sure it would have been nice although the dining room is a little formal and could do with dimmer lighting - it seems a bit bright rather than being relaxing. It has a good swimming pool, although it can feel a little small if more than 4 people are in it, and a nice area to have drinks outside the hotel. When we left they had taken care of our car-park ticket so we didn't have to bother to go to the Tourist Office to get it validated and qualify for cheaper parking. They also gave us a bar of chocolate as a goodbye present. I love Saas Fee and this hotel is now definitely on my list to use when I visit. Relaxing, comfortable and the staff can't do enough for you.

Room Tip: higher floors will give you a better view. Make sure you face the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof

Address: 123 Schweizerhof Rd, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saas-Fee
#10 Family Hotel in Saas-Fee
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Schweizerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Saas-Fee Hotel Saas-Fee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Schweizerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.