We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday excellent accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Europa
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Hannigstrasse 41, Saas-Fee CH-3906, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Saas-Fee B&B and Inns
Wrexham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday excellent accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Do not normally leave reviews but thought that my stay here deserved a word or two.Food was excellent 5 course every night with a choice.Staff have a great sense of humour even Lutz you just have to understand him a bit "Manuelish".Did not use wellness centre but others in party had only praise for the facilities.Rooms in the annexe had great view shower was brilliant clean towels/shower mat every day./fromTransport to slopes available but enjoyed the walk to loosen up in the morning able to leave skis local to slope at sister hotel Saaserhof.Would definitely return and recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    12
    10
    1
See reviews for
11
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

My wife had to cancel her trip just before the start so I got a double room just for myself without any extra charge. The room was spacious and quite recently renovated. The same cannot be said of the "single room" that an acquaintance of mine was given: there was sparsely room for the bed and no other furniture, not even a place where to put his clothes. And this at an extra charge for a single room compared to myself. The personnel was not very friendly, rather slightly unfriendly. The food was okay but not especially tasty. This has so far been the only hotel in my life where I have been charged for tap water in the restaurant. The hotel is quite long away from the skilifts, but provides an opportunity to keep the skis in another hotel during the stay. On the day of our departure the brand new skis of a member of our group were stolen from the skiroom of hotel Europa and old, worn-out ones left instead. From those we knew that a member of another group who had left earlier the same day had taken the skis but when we reported the theft the personnel of the hotel refused to co-operate in the matter. We could have had a more pleasant week in another hotel than this.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed at the neighbouring hotel, Hotel Artemis, and thus were allowed to use the spa facilities at Hotel Europa. Twice we went to the wellness centre: the sauna is very good, the steam is not so well devised (steam outlet should be lower), and a nice relaxation room (other parts were not in operation) but: the floortiles are EXTREMELY SLIPPERY when wet! ANd since there is no staff around to clean up, this creates a verz dangerous situation. One time I had a nasty fall coming from the whirlpool, while I really took care... luckily my head narrowly missed the stomne steps, but my backside ended up black an blue. All the time you see people almost losing their balance. But the wors part is, when we talked to the receptionist, she was extremely rude to us. Later, when we wanted to have dinner in the restaurant, the same lady made us feel so unwelcome that we decided to leave after 10 minutes. Please managment, do something about the welness floor and this particular staff member.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

My 17-year-old daughter and I booked a last-minute deal and really landed on our feet (or skis?) at the Europa 3*. Very friendly staff, room with a view, lovely spa facilities.
I would describe this hotel as a good 3*. Some friends stayed in the next door 4* but although their room was bigger the view looked out on other buildings, whereas we had a good view of the mountains.
Breakfast was a buffet with a good choice and the evening meal, while not a gourmet experience, was varied and filling. Service was always friendly and quick.
The spa area is excellent, with a jacuzzi, steam and sauna rooms, and a very light, open, airy relaxation room. Free too!
It's quite a hike to the slopes - perhaps my only criticism - but there is a shuttle bus from the hotel and you can leave skis etc. in the Hotel Sasserhof boot rom, next to the slopes. We walked sometimes and I second the reviewer who raved about Coftee, the local coffee shop, on the main street near the hotel. Fab hot choc and a good atmosphere into the evening. The serve alcohol too.
All in all, a very relaxing experience in a friendly and well run hotel. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed in a 1st floor room in the 3* hotel in March 2011. Room was small but very clean and comfortable. Room comprises of two single beds, a 28" flat screen tv (showing over 100 continental channels including BBC/ITV/Ch4 etc), two leather seats, small table, 2 small wardrobes (with an in-room combination safe) and a bathroom with a bath/shower.

The hotel staff (with one or two exceptions) were very friendly and helpful. As with most of the locals in the resort everyone spoke good English. The hotel also includes a spa (situated under the 3* reception area). My partner visited this a couple of times and was pleased with the sauna, jacuzzi and steam room. If you are feeling in touch with your "Euro" side then there is a seperate "naked area" but in the main area your usual swimming gear is all you will need.

The only issue we had with the hotel was the food. We stayed half board which meant that each day we received a continental breakfast and a 5 course evening meal. The breakfast was your standard self service fair comprising a selection of breads, meats, cheese, cereal, coffee/tea, juice, fruit and yoghurt. Eat as much as you like and for an optional small additional charge the hotel will allow you to take some of this away for a "picnic" on the slopes. This is something that you may want to consider if you are on a tight budget. Local supermarkets sell sandwiches costing from £3 upwards. There are several restaurants in and around the slopes but prices are high (one day we had lunch at one of the on slope restaurants of 2 burgers and fries, a 300ml bottle of water and a 500ml bottle of juice which came in at just over £30!!)

Back at the hotel the evening meal however was slightly disappointing. The dining area itself is a large open plan room (most of which is walled off) which then extends into the reception area. You are allocated a particular table at the start of your stay and are then free to arrive for your meal any time between 6.30/8.30pm. Our table was one of those on the periphery of the main dining area which overlooked the reception/spa entrance and front door - definitely not the most private of places to sit when you are trying to enjoy your meal. Felt a bit like having your meal in a corridor. We did ask to be moved one night and after the waiter huffed at having to re-set a previously vacated table in the main dining area we felt much more at home.

Each night you are presented with a menu which allows you to choose your 5 courses from a selection of 2 starters, 1 soup of the day, a buffet salad, selection of 3 mains and finally a single desert (note no tea/ or coffee is included). The presentation and components of the dishes were more often than not what I can only describe as a bit "random". Notable examples including a starter (yes a "starter") of lasagne and prawn crackers (??), a main of salmon, veg and a chinese style curry sauce (??) and desert usually comprising a tiny bowl of flavoured squeezy cream (??). The strange thing was that food was always cooked very well it just felt that whoever was putting the dishes/menu's together didn't really know what they were doing with the ingredients.

Wednesday night allows you to forgo the usual menu and sample the local fondue. With the price of the fondue in local restuarants averaging £30-40 we were expecting something special. What you get however is a big bowl of cheese and a dozen or so cubes of bread. I know this what you would think of as your classic fondue but for the price charged by local restaurants we were perhaps exepcting some hot oils or meats or veg/potatoes but I can confirm that it's just your classic bread/cheese. Would perhaps be nice as a small starter but I would think twice If I were you before passing on your usual 5 course selection as after a hard day on the slopes cheese and bread is not the most substancial meal to end your day.

Final issue with the meals was the drink. As with everywhere else in Saas-Fee the price of drinks is VERY high. Drinks are not included in your half board so each night you can add the cost of your drinks to your room tab. To give you an idea of (approx) prices : 100ml (yes that is no typo - "one hundred ml") of red wine (£4), small 300ml beer (£3), small 330ml of coke (£3.20) and my personal favourite a 50ml jug of tepid tap water with no ice (£1.50).

Despite all of the above our stay at the Europa was an enjoyable one. We went to Saas-Fee chiefly for the skiing and were happy of a hot meal and comfy place to sleep at night. If you are looking to book a week here then you could do worse than the Europa hotel. You may however want to look at one of the alternative hotels if you are a big food fan or enjoy of bottle of vino or two of an evening (talking to others at the resort would suggest that some of the other hotels include limitless servings of wine with your evening meal at no extra cost)

Good Points
-----------------
* clean/comfortable room
* robes are provided in room to chill out in comfort each night
* very good shower (water pressure is amazing which is good for getting rid of your post ski aches and pains)
* quiet location at far end of resort
* in-room safe provided at no extra charge

Bad Points
---------------
* food was school dinner standard (generally tasty but no what you might be used to in a restaurant/hotel)
* dining area could be more private
* hotel is 10 minute walk from main slopes (however free electric taxi from/to hotel is provided several times a day)
* no in room tea/coffee making facilities
* wifi is available on a per hour basis but is pricy
* as with most other hotels in resort there doesn't appear to be a real double bed option so you will have to make do with pushing singles together

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in a group of adults and small children and we could not have picked a better hotel. Even with small legs in the group it only took us 10mins to get to and from the nursery slopes though the hotel were more than happy to provide a free taxi. There is a free boot room at the Sasserhof so no lugging your skis around. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We were made to feel very welcome and comfortable. The food was first class, i've been on many skiing holidays and I can safely say I've never had better. The spa area was fantastic and a real treat after a day on the slopes. The rooms were basic but very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Nice clean and well maintained room with good views from our balcony up to the ski area and Dom.
The staff were friendly, competent and helpful. We enjoyed the variety of good, well presented food, both at breakfast and dinner and the restaurant staff were very good with children.
As others have said, there is a facility to store ski gear at the Sasserhof hotel next to the ski area so we enjoyed the short walk through the town in the morning (didn't bother using the transfer bus as it's a nice walk).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Hannigstrasse 41, Saas-Fee CH-3906, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Europa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel Europa in Saas-Fee, the Pearl of the Swiss Alps, offers a friendly, relaxed atmosphere and a wonderfull view over the Saas Mountains and the fascinating world of mountains and glaciers.Our hotel is located a bit higher up from Saas Fee centre, making it an ideal home and base for wintersport or enjoying the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Garni Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.