We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Waldesruh

Save Saved
You added Hotel Waldesruh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Waldesruh
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Saas-Fee CH-3906, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 55 hotels in Saas-Fee
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent family hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Just got back from a fantastic week in Saas Fee. We took our 6 year old and he was treated like a friend of the family. At the kid's club Solino, he was taken up cable cars, taken around the village to meet all the animals, helped out in the kitchen and the market stall and had a wonderful time. We were able to go hiking knowing that he was enjoying his holiday as well. Our room included a small room with a door that closed that had a small single bed with a sink and he loved "his room". Saas Fee is great for kids as there is plenty to do: mini-golf, a Rondelbahn and is traffic-free except for the small electric "milk" trucks that shuttle luggage (and children) around. I would recommend that the children eat at the children's club for dinners as I think the food is more suited for them there than it is as part of the HB for the rest of the hotel. All in all it was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed here for one week for a family skiing holiday, but sadly half the family were either injured or ill, and so they stayed in bed for some days, and we couldn't have gone to a better doctor. All the staff were so friendly at that time and made them special meals to eat in bed etc. The hotel is right on the slopes so you can literlally ski right onto the slopes (this location couldn't have been better) The hotel is owned by a lovley lady, who makes it especially sad to say goodbye to and we go there lots and everyone can't wait to see her! We all can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: the rooms on the east have a veiw of the slopes, but all the rooms are equally fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We have three young children and have stayed here 3 times and at their sister hotel "Alphubel" once.

The Alphubel was good when the children were tiny as the kids club is on site. We much prefer the Waldesruh now because the kids can still use the Aphubel kids club (for free) and travel there themselves in the hotel float but the Waldesruh is on the slopes and is a smaller hotel.

The family connecting rooms are ideal for us because the 3 children share a room and have their own bathroom and are connected to our room with a tiny corridor. We all love it so much!

The Supersaxo family who run the hotel themselves are the most wonderful people: so friendly, smiley, talented and kind. They can't do enough for you.

The food is perfectly adequate; breakfast is delicious (croissants, breads, jams, boiled eggs, coffee, hot chocolate, tea, yoghurt, cold meat, cheese, fruit, cereal, swiss meusli, juice), lunch is great on the terrace (or book inside if cold) - we eat spaghettti bolognese, rosti, frankfurters, chips, baguettes - dinner is 5 courses and is perfectly edible although you wouldn't go there for the food!

The rooms are extremely clean, basic and practical which is what I want from a skiing hotel. TV in the rooms with some English channels including CBBC but no DVD (we take a portable one). The hot water can be a little random at times but the heating is brilliant - turn it up or down to your liking. We like the window shutters because they keep out light and noise and the children sleep soundly. The hotel is lovely and quiet. There is also free wifi connection.

We love the special Swiss night once a week in the Alphubel when the family entertain us with their wonderful Swiss music - fantastic fun for all the family!

Saas Fee is extremely child friendly - masses of families with small children. There is an ice grotto & revolving restaurant at the top of the lifts, a roller coaster and public pool in the village, a lovely natural ice rink right next to the hotel.

Ski school meets right in front of the hotel. We use 'Eskimo' ski school because there are only 6 in a group and they speak English, there is another new English ski school called 'Optimum'.

The runs are good, the resort is extremely high so there always snow (in my experience!), the lifts are a little old fashioned but it's no bad thing for our children to experience that - I wouldn't want them getting too spoilt!

Our children don't want to go anywhere else and we adore the price of the Waldesruh - where else can you find a wonderful, cosy, comfortable, friendly hotel on the slope for this price? My only problem is wanting a resort with more off-piste skiing. (Saas Fee has a glacier so off piste skiing is very dangerous - cravasses).

We highly recommend the Waldesruh!!

Room Tip: Ask for family combination rooms. I like the rooms which look out onto the slopes but they're a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We could not ask for warmer welcome. All the staff were very friendly and the food was also very good. the location could not be better. The only thing I could say is that the pound £
did not go far. Would love to go again in the summer.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony facing the slopes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
607 reviews 607 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 206 cities Reviews in 206 cities
387 helpful votes 387 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011 via mobile

We didn't stay here but used their apres bar most days and had lunch in their restaurant one day as it is right on nursery slopes and is ideal for meeting kids after morning lessons

Food was good and service excellent and friendly. The matriarchal owner was very nice

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver / Farnham (Surrey)
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Time for a 3rd visit? (The visit date, by the way, is fiction - last went there Jan 2009). Hotel, food, ambience, etc. averagely unexciting. Best thing about it for skiers is that you can ski virtually to the ski room and the village centre is just a few paces away. The path to the ski room really needs to be steps to avoid danger of slipping on a couple of yards of steepish slope (possibly done now?). Nice little town, though - free of traffic except for the occasional police and courtesy "milk-floats". Would I stay again? Yes if I can thoil the cost of everything else. Once on slopes, the skiing is exceptional except that due to shifting glaciers, many of the lifts are drags, so make sure you dress for warmth and against wind. The hotel, however, is blameless regarding the climate. Apres ski for my wife and me was usually a cake and a glass of herb tea but, if you're into boozy clamour, gut-throbbing music, etc., you'llbe well catered for in the village.
Apres Ski: 3/5

Room Tip: Rear room overlook the mountain and slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

We were shocked to realise that it is 10 years since we first came here. We've been to other places but this resort and particularly this hotel are our default choices for skiing and this was our 7th visit. We were met by Marco at the bus station (there's a telephone system on the side of the Tourist Information office so save on your mobile bill) and were taken back to the hotel in his electric bus. There was Franzisca and Barbera (mother and daughter) who were plainly pleased to see us as we were greeted with hugs and kisses. At this point you wonder why the heck you ever thought of going anywhere else and you still think that when it's time to leave.
Alright, the rooms could do with a spot of varnish on the woodwork. There, a criticism.
The children don't have to be under our supervision, we know they're safe somewhere in the hotel (probably the games room) so that makes it relaxing for us. For skiers it couldn't be any better with the ski room underneath the hotel and the Platjen and Langfluh bubbles fifty yards away, the nursery slope is 100 yards across level ground.
The food's good and plentiful, the service is great, the place is spotlessly clean and since the Swiss introduced a smoking ban, everywhere is nicer to be in.
Lunch. Since the Waldesruh is so easy to ski in and out of, it gets very busy at lunchtime and with good reason. Lunches are absolutely spot on and not expensive, unlike up the mountains where I reckon you get fleeced. If you know you're going to be there, book a table.
Also in Saas Fee, half way up the Hannig slope, is the Alpenblick Café. I don't think there can be better apfel strudel in Europe and the view from the terrace is wonderful.
I'm looking forward to going back to the Waldesruh and I don't even ski!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Waldesruh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldesruh

Address: Saas-Fee CH-3906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Waldesruh 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Waldesruh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldesruh Hotel Saas Fee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Waldesruh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.