We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service delivered in a friendly unobrusive way.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gletschergarten

Hotel Gletschergarten
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saas-Fee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Gletschergarten
Save
You added Hotel Gletschergarten to your Saves list
Unter Dem Biel, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Woking
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service delivered in a friendly unobrusive way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

We found the hotel charming ,the ultimate Swiss experience, great food and authentic hospitality . The owner, Wendelin Bauman and all the staff are very friendly.We really enjoyed the tobogganing evening.The accommodation is very central,very comfortable and keenly priced.The reason we would go back, however, is the superb hospitality on offer, especially from Wendelin and Catherine.Not only were we warmly welcomed with a complimentary drink and a bar of chocolate in each room, but also received a lovely Saas Fee tea towel and a lovely bottle of Swiss wine with a personal explanation about its origins from Wendelin, on our departure.This level of hospitality is priceless especially in the rush,rush,no time to chat mentality of today.A little gem.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

Despite suffering from 70's decor and a generally worn out look, this hotel is spotlessly clean and any lingering doubts are soon dispelled by the friendly owner and staff. The food is also good, and the only lasting pause for thought might be that the hotel is a modest walk from the ski lifts - no big deal in the morning, but after a hard days skiing a stop for refreshments is certainly needed to summon energy for the return journey!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

A fantastic welcome from the owner, very personal service. Good central location but at night the noise from revellers on the street means a room at the back is a good idea. While the decor is authentic Swiss ski lodg the building is really showing its age and needs a little TLC. THe only building I've ever stayed in CH without double/treble glazing. Extremely poor sound insulation, especially between floors, and very tatty decor. Ripped and worn carpets in places, doorhandles falling off, and bathrooms in serious need of refurbishment.
So if you are looking for a Marriot -style hotel, look elsewhere. Thankfully there are many plus points: excellent food, very personal service, comfortable beds, good hot water with bath for apres-ski soak, and unbeatable location.
Can't quarrel on price either, though charging for tap water in the evening seemed a bit mean and out of character for the otherwise superb hospitality.
So if noise doesn't bother you, and you like old-fashioned things...this is definitely one to look at.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

We were a famiy skiiing party, staying for a week. My parents were delayed flying in and the owner helped with the last part of the travel and stayed up to welcome them with a beer and a plate of food, even though it was well past midnight. The food was excellent -four courses each evening, to a high restaurant standard (with the amount judged well so you didn't feel bloated). Our party had various dietary requirements and these were all met. We had several children in our party and the atmosphere was friendly. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

I've been staying in Gletschergarten for several years now and I can really recommend it. The hotel is made completely out of wood, which gives it an authentic atmosphere. The hotel is run by the Bumann family, and they sure make you feel welcome.

Don't expect a luxurious welness hotel with a Michelin star restaurant, because it is not. Instead hotel Gletschergarten is a small, warm, and cosy hotel in a beautiful mountain village.

Make sure you book in advance, because during the winter and sommer months the hotel can be fully booked.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2008

I stayed here for three nights in March whilst skiing. The hotel will collect you from the bus station in their electric car. My room was on the top floor, looking out on to the main street. The wooden building is very pretty and in the centre of the village. The room rate included a four course dinner. I am vegetarian (sometimes difficult in Switzerland!) but every night, a delicious meal was prepared for me. Breakfast is also plentiful with a wide choice from the buffet.

The hotel has a ski storage room at the end of one of the runs so no walking in boots each day.

This is officially a 2* hotel but the welcome from the owner and the friendliness of staff makes it feel much more

  • Liked — Great food
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sedona, arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2008

Hotel Gletscher Garten in Saas-Fee is located very conveniently on the main pedestrian street. The rooms are quite comfortable and have a traditional solid wood construction that is espressed for a very warm feeling. The wood all creaks a bit, but this quickly becomes a part of the home-like atmosphere that the friendly staff fosters. Breakfasts are buffet-style with a nice spread of meats, cheeses, cereals, nuts, fruit, breads, juices and of course, great coffee. Dinners are well worth the half board price. They were varied and delicious, with excellent service. The ski experience is facilitated by a slope-side, heated ski and boot facility, allowing for a pleasant walk at the beginning and end of each ski day (without ski boots).
Arriving and departing by bus was made easy with complimentary electric cart shuttle to and from the hotel. I’ll stay here again when skiing Switzerland.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Address: Unter Dem Biel, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Saas Fee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gletschergarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.