We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant slow and unpleasantly noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gletschergarten

Hotel Gletschergarten
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saas-Fee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Gletschergarten
Save Saved
You added Hotel Gletschergarten to your Saves list
Unter Dem Biel, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Saas-Fee
crowland, lincolnshire, uk
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Restaurant slow and unpleasantly noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Food unremarkable but staff welcoming. The restaurant loses by having a constant booming noise reverberating throughout as if someone upstairs is laying a new floor. Not a dance beat, not people going up stairs in ski boots, just an irregular booming noise with gaps ranging from two to ten seconds. A couple nearer the source than we were moved tables. Staff have clearly become immune to this noise and would do well to recognise it and have the source abated. Pity really as it could be so much more pleasant.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Campos Do Jordao, SP
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Excellent atmosphere and a really nice staff. Excellent food and excellent wine sellection for a reasonable price. The owner manager is a very kind person and very helpfull on every needs. Excellent found, not so fast on serving, but excellent !!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chippenham,wilts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

this hotel is magic.the rooms are large and very clean.the service is second too none.the food is wonderful,(even if you are a veggie).we have stayed here three times,and would not dream of staying anywhere else.thankyou Wendelin,family and staff

Room Tip: top floor over looking the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We have just returned from a brilliant holiday in Saas Fee winter walking on well prepared paths in breathtaking scenery. This hotel with its welcoming hosts is a splendid base for a stay in this lovely area either in summer or winter. Centrally located and excellent value and with a mouthwatering 4 course dinner every evening, a half board stay is highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
649 reviews 649 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 216 cities Reviews in 216 cities
415 helpful votes 415 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

We only used the Gletschergarten for dinner

One of about 20 restaurants offering traditional swiss cuisine in Saas Fee, but not quite as pricey as some.

Had French Onion soup and Cheese Fondu with my buddy who I'd gone skiing for the weekend with. Food was good, the white wine (a local Vallais regional wine called Fendant) was great.

We were served by a waiter who made us laugh as he was so stern and direct - but he made us feel welcome.

The restaurant had an odd layout - like eating in a railway carriage and had a kind of faded 80's charm - some might say it needed redecorating!! my friend and I enjoyed the night, I dont think Id take my wife to impress her though, she'd be commenting on the decor most of the evening!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

We found the hotel charming ,the ultimate Swiss experience, great food and authentic hospitality . The owner, Wendelin Bauman and all the staff are very friendly.We really enjoyed the tobogganing evening.The accommodation is very central,very comfortable and keenly priced.The reason we would go back, however, is the superb hospitality on offer, especially from Wendelin and Catherine.Not only were we warmly welcomed with a complimentary drink and a bar of chocolate in each room, but also received a lovely Saas Fee tea towel and a lovely bottle of Swiss wine with a personal explanation about its origins from Wendelin, on our departure.This level of hospitality is priceless especially in the rush,rush,no time to chat mentality of today.A little gem.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

Despite suffering from 70's decor and a generally worn out look, this hotel is spotlessly clean and any lingering doubts are soon dispelled by the friendly owner and staff. The food is also good, and the only lasting pause for thought might be that the hotel is a modest walk from the ski lifts - no big deal in the morning, but after a hard days skiing a stop for refreshments is certainly needed to summon energy for the return journey!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Address: Unter Dem Biel, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Saas Fee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gletschergarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.