We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service - great views and superb food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bergrestaurant Spielboden

Bergrestaurant Spielboden
Postfach 97, Saas-Fee, Switzerland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 56 Restaurants in Saas-Fee
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Excellent service - great views and superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

I've enjoyed lunch here a couple of times. The food is of a consistently high standard. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating - we arrived an hour before our reservation as the ski lift nearby had stopped running - that didn't pose a problem at all. Great food and really fantastic wine list.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Be certain to book, you won't be served otherwise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Service good by one waiter, although the team seem not to work by sections which makes for a confused service... 4 waiting staff involved for 2 drinks! Also food is VERY fussy for a mid-day snack but creme brûlée was delicious. Probably worth a visit but be prepared to splurge & certainly plan ahead and book your party in

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent in all ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We made an on-line reservation a couple of days before which I highly recommend in high season. After several horrible meals and situations with 1.5 hours wait etc. in other mountain restaurants, we were duly impressed by this place - very upscale with great food for such a remote location. The wine which is local and very hard to find is remarkable. The entire staff especially David is fantastic. Thank you for a lovely meal and wonderful break amidst such mountain beauty. Only tiny mistake was a long wait for our post-meal espressos but in exchange our wine was taken off the bill, classy. Recommendable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great views, fab rest stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The views from this restaurant are amazing, best photo opportunity of our holiday. Great stop for a coffee and sandwich or more!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place is superb. The food is first rate, the views beautiful and the service excellent. We were nervous taking 4 children with us but the staff were very good. Also great place to go for a hot choc mid morning.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bergrestaurant Spielboden also viewed

Saas-Fee, Valais
Saas-Fee, Valais
 
Saas-Fee, Valais
 

Been to Bergrestaurant Spielboden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bergrestaurant Spielboden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;