We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulhotel run with a personal touch.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dom Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Dom Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dom Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfplatz 2, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #11 of 55 hotels in Saas-Fee
West Malling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulhotel run with a personal touch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lots of upsides to this hotel. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The decor is uber modern with gleaming wooden floors, big sumptuous beds, plenty of storage NB the ski storage in the basement is excellent - heated lockers, so no grim shoving of feet into cold unwelcoming ski boots in the morning. We visited over the Easter break and alongside the daily replenishment of water bottles and apples, we were also given a basket of Easter eggs and a white chocolate rabbit. Nice touch. Fabulous restaurant, I'm still missing the food. Breakfast also utterly divine. Fabulous breads, pastries, egg options and most excellent coffee.
The downsides, no bath. Unless you book a premium room. I need a hot bath after a day of sliding around on the snow and a shower simply didn't cut it. I was Ill on the trip - nothing to do with the hotel and having to shower whilst ill was not easy. But those are my only criticisms, it was all mostly excellent. Would not hesitate in going back.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back if you need a lie in as the church bells chime from 7 am through to 11pm. How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
53
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We came here over easter with 2 small kids and all had a great time. First, the hotel is beautifully renovated combining modern and traditional. The architect did a great job. The rooms were beautiful and modern. We wanted to go out but ended up staying in all 4 nights eating at the hotel. The first night my husband ordered meat and I had fish and both of us felt that the meal was way too salty but the other evenings after that was fine. The kitchen was o.k. but nothing special. I thought it was actually reasonably priced for Saas Fee. The dining area for hotel guests, though nice lacked atmosphere. It would be nicer if they made it warmer. One of the evenings I had ordered a chocolate cake for my sons birthday and they didn't end up charging us for it, we were pleasantly surprised! Breakfast was also o.k. but nothing special.
I was a bit worried about being in the middle of Saas Fee and though 2 evenings I heard some young kids screaming and singing in the middle of the night for a few minutes, it is actually very quiet and we all slept very well. What I loved was that they have the electric buggy that brought us to and from the lift every day...loved not walking.
The only thing missing is a spa and as someone else mentioned, if you ski on the day of departure, there is no where for you to shower and change. For some reason they forgot to bring our bags down and left them in our room. When we came back from skiing we were able to use our room again for showering. We didnt leave until 5pm and they didnt charge us extra which was nice. I can imagine though during high season that would not be possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were there over easter and had an awesome room on the second floor with a beautiful tub in the room. There was a private shower and separate toilet. The hotel is newly furbished and it feels fresh, clean and elegant. We couldn't help admiring the rustic floorboards. There were bottles of water in the room which were replenished daily and on the night the clocks changed to summer-time, we got a note. We didn't try the 'halb-pension' but dined once in the restaurant for dinner and the food was good. We got the small (snack) menu that is on before 5pm and there the burger and fish & chips are recommended. It's just that we were the only couple in the whole restaurant. I guess if the weather was good, we could've sat outside. Breakfast was always a treat with an extensive buffet and also a selection of cooked-egg offerings.

It also helped that the bar was one of the places to be in Saas Fee and over easter there was a nice, dutch jazz band playing. It was great atmosphere and extra bonus of being just a lift down.

The staff were friendly and the atmosphere in this hotel was nice and laid-back. A very easy walk to the ski-lifts and aprés-ski places although you can also catch the ride provided by the hotel. The location was very central and the church-bell nearby added a nice, european-village touch to the experience.

I wouldn't hesitate to go return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Good: great location in centre of village 5 minutes walk to ski lifts, spotlessly clean, tasteful decor, good wifi and AV for playing your own music, BBC and ITV for the Brits, breakfast, shuttle taxi, comfortable beds and linen, complimentary drinking water and apples (I think I had 3 apples a day), heated ski/boot lockers, good supply of toiletries etc. Staff are pleasant and helpful. There is a nice bar which was a bit empty during my stay but it was a quiet week - it plays great music, which makes a nice change from cheesy apres-ski euro-pop (you can't hear it in the hotel while sleeping though). Rooms are well-designed so although they are small there is room to put everything. Nice balcony on superior rooms (not sure about standard rooms). I am a light sleeper, especially at altitude, but didn't hear street noise and the church bells were not as bad as I expected from other reviews.

Average: food and wine. Both are expensive (as is the case throughout the village if you are converting from GBP or Euros). I ate in the hotel 3 times - once room service, once in the restaurant and once in the bar. It was OK but nothing special, with the exception of the fresh-baked bread rolls, which were lovely, and I liked the house fries with truffly bits. Overall the village really needs some modern, relaxed dining options for a reasonable price, and the Dom is missing an opportunity to create some competition - the restaurant is just a bit too formal and heavy, and lacks atmosphere.

Bad: no spa or sauna, and no facility for showering if you want to ski your last day past the check-out time of 12pm. Late check-outs are not given at weekends, so there should be a separate shower and changing room considering the price of the rooms. I did get a late check-out in the end after pestering the staff to find out when the people coming into my room were arriving (it turned out they were not arriving till late and I left the room at 1.30pm), but I had to make a nuisance of myself. If you are planning to ski on the morning of your check-out day you need to bear this in mind. Apparently they are planning a spa but it won't be completed for another 2 seasons - you have to pay 40 francs to use the spa at another hotel a few minutes away. There are no baths even in a superior room (there are possibly baths in the suites) - just a very small shower cubicle, which was adequate but after skiing all day a soak in the bath would be nicer. There is no real lounge area for guests, so it's a choice of your room, the restaurant, or the public bar. Superior room was fine for just me but I suspect a standard room could be a bit crowded with 2 people.

Overall - this is a lovely-looking hotel in a great location, but the restaurant and communal facilities could be better. Please install a shower for check-out day!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Dom is newly renovated with beautiful rooms (some with a modern pedestal bath by the bed :-) with lots of very nice details - Swiss-style rucksack on the wall and each room with an iPad to work the TV and mood lighting. Breakfast in the dining room is good but there's little atmosphere in this large area. This is particularly noticeable in the evening if you have dinner there. The dinner is excellent but it's just a bit stark feeling. The ski-room is excellent with lockers for each room.

Our room looked over the church square and had a balcony. This was very nice (though a bit cold to use in February), but the church bells do go off every quarter hour from 7am to around 9 or 10pm. You get used to it, but...

All in all, a very nice place to stay in Saas Fee, which itself is a beautiful village.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front will hear the church bells more, but not sure how quiet the back would be... The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at the Dom for a ski holiday and thoroughly enjoyed it. Location and the decor could not be beat - right in the center of a charming Swiss town and recently renovated (mid 2012?) with all the latest technology (the lighting and TV were controlled with an ipad.)

The basement floor had a wonderful boot room where you had your own heated locker to dry out your gear from the day skiing. You could walk directly in to the room from the outside, get out of your gear and head up to your room with minimal hassle.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful, especially Philip.

We booked a Superior room and it had plentiful space. It was nice to have a small sitting area to relax after the busy day.

We did the half board for one evening and thought that while the food was tasty, the atmosphere of the dining "hall" was not cozy and seemed cold. The service at dinner was a slower pace, so if you are in a hurry, it may not hit the mark.

I would definitely recommend The Dom to friends.

Room Tip: The superior was nice, especially for the bath to soothe aching muscles after the slopes and for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Hey guys. You probably wonder why an English lad writes on a german web page.
I went to Saas-Fee with a mate for skiing. Actually by accident we ended up at the Dom hotel. The staff was always very friendly and gentle. We chatted with a lovely young lady which was a member of staff. She told us that a change in the hotel was in progress. New working colleagues, new working atmosphere, new management and so forth. She explained that the hotel had some problems and she asked us to write our impressions and experiences on that page.
Honestly I think thats just awesome that a normal barmaid does that. The whole staff want to push the Dom hotel forward into a cool, friendly, welcoming and warm hotel and you can really feel that. The ambience and the spirit in the Dom is so gentle, fresh, charming, easy going and warm that you feel like at home.
The room was amazing. It is modern but on the same time pretty traditional with cool Swiss style elements. They furnished the room with a very comfortable and cosy bed. The warm feeling is generated by the nice wooden floor and the massive wooden bedframe. You control light, telly and radio with an iPad which I think is pretty cool. A big thank you goes to the Dom team! We had a wonderful stay and we will pop by again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dom Hotel

Address: Dorfplatz 2, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saas-Fee
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saas-Fee
#15 Family Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dom Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Dom – Where tradition and modernity meetOur hotel is situated in the center of Saas-Fee, a location with the best-possible guarantee of snow in Europe, and embedded in the typical architecture of the 19th century, when tourism was dominated by the English. In 2011 we restored this historical building, the oldest hotel in the village, at great effort and, at the same time, with great care. The interior captivates with its modern elegance paired with antique elements. Our lovingly furnished 28 rooms also offer you technological comfort of the highest standard. Each room comes with an iPad, and thus for the duration of your stay in our hotel you have access to a diverse and individually tailored information and entertainment offering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, T4B, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Dom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unique Hotel Saas Fee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dom Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.