We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean facilities and very friendly service in a lovely town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Capra Saas-Fee

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saas-Fee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Capra Saas-Fee
Save
You added The Capra Saas-Fee to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lomattenstrasse 6, Saas-Fee CH-3906, Switzerland (Formerly Sport-Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very clean facilities and very friendly service in a lovely town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel is set in the upper part of town near the public parking. It is a fair walk from the slopes although much public transport is available during the day. The hotel is clean and neat and the staff is extremely friendly. The rooms are sizeable and have verandah's. The views over the mountains are excellent. The hotel's ski room near the slopes is well positioned.

Room Tip: The street rooms can be noisy especially in the early mornings as clubbers return to their hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We booked a last minute new year trip to the Sporthotel in Saas Fee and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is a good solid 3 star in terms of room and facilities however the welcome and service from the current owners made it feel more special. It is at the top of saas fee so the slopes are a 10-12 minute (pleasant) walk down the Main Street. Breakfasts were simple but fresh. We only ate in the hotel one night due to prior arrangements but the meal was lovely. The owners told us that the hotel is closing in the summer of 2014 for renovations to turn it into a 5 star property. It will be interesting to visit again if the facilities match the personal service.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eckart P, Geschäftsführer at The Capra Saas-Fee, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear PDWallace,

Thank you for your kind words and assessment of our services.
We are indeed looking forward to the restoration works commencing May 2014. Hope you will be coming back next winter though. We will keep you updated.

Kind regards from Saas-Fee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Cozy and very charming hotel. Good location, and it have ski room close to ski slope. Rooms are not so big, but it have everything you need. Beutiful view from the balcony. Staff is very careful, you can feels like home. Excellent restaurant and vine card.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eckart P, Geschäftsführer at The Capra Saas-Fee, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Dimitri S.

thank you for your positive feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Hoping to see you soon again.

All the best,
Eckart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Excellent 3* hotel with everything you would expect. The couple managing the hotel is very dedicated, helpful and friendly (they gave us a ride to the car park to pick up luggage, and did the same when we left). Definetly a place we would use again when going back to Saas Fee

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eckart P, Geschäftsführer at The Capra Saas-Fee, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Claude F,
thank you for your kind words and sharing your experience. We are delighted to see that we seem to be doing the right thing.
Happy to welcome you back soon to Saas-Fee, don't hesitate to contact us directly.

Kind regards,
Gaelle Lavanchy & Eckart Pfannkuchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Capra Saas-Fee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capra Saas-Fee

Address: Lomattenstrasse 6, Saas-Fee CH-3906, Switzerland (Formerly Sport-Hotel)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saas-Fee
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saas-Fee
#3 Spa Hotel in Saas-Fee
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Capra Saas-Fee 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capra Saas-Fee, opening in December 2014, is located in the heart of the naturally breath-taking village of Saas-Fee, Switzerland. The hotel offers understated luxury and comfort with a contemporary twist on traditional Swiss chalet style. Our aim is for The Capra to become a home in the Alps with a warm, intimate atmosphere where friends and family can reconnect with each other and with nature. The Capra's restaurant, La Locanda by Oliver Glowig, is offering both fine and casual dining in a relaxed and warm atmosphere by the fireplace. A cosy bar & comfortable lounge serves the best cocktails and offers panoramic views across the mountain skyline of Saas-Fee. The hotel has a whole host of amenities to make your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible, including a Spa, a Library, and a state-of-the-art TechnoGym fitness room. Most importantly our staff are at your service to make your stay as memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sport Hotel Saas Fee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capra Saas-Fee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.