We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service, fine hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waldhotel Fletschhorn

Save Saved
You added Waldhotel Fletschhorn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Waldhotel Fletschhorn
Richtung Sengg, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 56 hotels in Saas-Fee
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“excellent service, fine hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the Fletschhorn during our first visit to Saas Fee. The other reviews point out that Saas Fee is a "car-free" town, so you either come by post bus from Visp/Brig or drive your car to the edge of town and park in the parking garages located there. A quick call to the hotel or pre-arranged pickup in the hotel's electric vehicles is fairly simply arranged. As mentioned by others, the hotel is in the forest about 20 minute's walk from the hotel.



The hotel is a Relais & Chateaux hotel, and easily meets the criteria regarding excellent service. My wife and i thought that this was the most outstanding aspect of the hotel. Maren Mueller was for us, the "face" of the hotel, and she ensured we were quite well cared for. 



One aspect of the hotel to be aware of...there are a lot of stairs. Some rooms clearly would be preferable is you wish to avoid the stairs. I would suggest you contact the hotel if you are physically challenged.


The hotel itself is old and is similar to other hotels of the era in this regard...dark wood, cozy and warm...but not "plush".

Room:
 
The sleeping room (n=1, so take this into consideration) was modern, and what my wife referred to as "funky". There was a separate toilet from the bath, which was fine, but there was a walk-in closet in the middle of the room with 2-meter high walls. The shower/bath was nice, but the angle of the shower head and the glass wall/separator meant that unless one was careful, you would spray water into the room.

There was an excellent balcony, tho, and the views were very wonderful. The beds were extremely comfortable and the quiet of being in the middle of the forest allowed our sleep to be undisturbed through the nights.



Food: The breakfast in the morning was very good as far as quality and quantity. The breads were hotel-made, and excellent. We were very pleased overall.



Now dinner, which as received a lot of comments already. We enjoyed the wines, of course, and the wine list can be found on their website. The Valais whites were very good. They asked if we would care to take an apero at the bar before dinner, and it appeared that whatever wine we requested, they would pour by the glass. The wine list gave a great choice tho, and pretty much any wine palate could be accommodated.



For me, the high point of my eating experience was the terrine de foie de canard, with a homemade brioche. I eat much less foie gras as I used to do...but this was truly excellent. Also worth noting from the vorspeisen were the scallops...simply delicious. For the main courses, we tried the bison, reindeer, canard, and the spanferkel (pork). All the dishes were very well done. 

So, everything was either excellent or very good.

Going to value...it clearly is similar in price and quality as other R&C properties that we have visited. I've always felt these are on the border of the value for money criteria we maintain. Yet at the same time, we are considering returning again in another season to experience the hotel and the region again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

In the week of Feb 2nd 2013, we left our chalet in Saas-Fee and walked into the Fletschhorn restaurant. The intention was to introduce ourselves with the fine Wallis wines, they have in there cellar.
The Swiss wines are nice and fine, the champagne card is impressive, but the food is fairly average for French-Belgian standards. Actually one would start wondering why swiss restaurants have it easy obtaining a Michelin star or high Gault-Millau points. The one Michelin star is just about fair, but the 18 Gault-Millau is seriously exaggerated. I was under the impression Gault-Millau was there to increase the quality of fine food, here it's more about justifying the price, regardless what is served on the table. If I compare to other Gault-Millau restaurants, I can only justify 12-13 points to Fletschhorn. Michelin is probably giving an extra for the location and interior.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

It is difficult not to get excited about the Waldhotel Fletschhorn....

It is location in the middle of the forest off the road leading to Saas-Fee. They collect you from the main Saas-Fee parking lot in electric car.

As soon as we arrived, we were led to our room which had breathtaking views of the Saas valley. Once it was time for dinner, we were well received by Mauren, who showed us to our table. The dining room was decorated with dark wood, rustic but elegant, with great views of the surrounding mountains. Service was attentive, accomodating but relaxed. Chef Markus' "land and sea" menu combined seasonal fresh ingredients mainly from Valais. I say the cuisine is alpine with mediterranean touches. Huge wine cellar - focus on Valais - led by Charlie, a well informed, funny and accomodating sommelier.

Highly recommended, not only for the food but for the service, rooms, atmosphere, and location.

Room Tip: The suite below the terrace is breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

It wasn't our first stay in the Fletschhorn.

We come back regulary attracted by the most excellent food of Markus Neff and the huge selection of wines.

There are very different rooms in the building and hidden under the terracce of the restaurant a further suite. The newer rooms feature very modern and stylish equipment, in few cases more stylish than functional...
Due to the location - about 20minutes walking distance from Saas Fee - it's very silent. You can really sleep completely undisturbed and wake up with nature. We even saw on several occasions on the road to the hotel moutain goats (chamois) and deers. If you are an early riser you may even see them from the hotel room.

The service is excellent. The staff is very friendly but not owerpowering. The knowledge about food and wine is perfect. We always let them choose the wines to each course of a six or nine course dinner; only rule never the same, and they manage to surprise you with excellent choices even if you stay several nights.

A further point: Unlike many restaurants the kitchen is open every day the whole day. So if you want to eat a gourmet dinner at lunch or in the afternoon, go ahead.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hidden hotel in the traffic free mountain town of Saas-Fe is simply wonderful. It is a "Gourmet" Relais & Chateau and absolutely fantastic. I must admit that it is one of the best places we have ever visited.
Excellent food, excellent wine, excellent setting.
I was really undecided as to whether to sing their praises on Tripadvisor, you know one of those little gems that you keep to yourself, just in case it becomes too popular, however that would be unfair, because they deserve all the praise they can get.
Would highly recommend it to anyone and everyone

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Our little hiking group spent four days at the Fletschhorn, and didn't want to leave, though our credit cards were groaning.

First, as a hotel, without regard to the food, the Fletschhorn is very good, if not exceptional. The rooms are spacious by European standards, and are tastefully decorated, but are fairly spare - I wouldn't call them opulent or luxurious. But no complaints - comfortable bed, good WiFi, nice big soaking tub, fabulous view from the wall-to-wall windows. The service is exceptional - my room was often made up while I had breakfast, and I never had the feeling that I was "in the way" of the housekeeping staff (in fact, I never saw them at all).

The location has its pluses and minuses. It's about a 30-minute stroll from town, through the forest, so it's very idyllic. Then again, it's not close to anything. But then again, the hotel's little electric box cabs are always at your beck and call.

But the dinners! My god, the dinners!!! Easily the best food and wine I've ever had, anywhere. We routinely had seven-course (including the amuse-bouche), three-hour meals, with a different wine with each course. Reasonable portions, however, so we never felt overfed or "stuffed." Every course was simply perfection, with the best ingredients perfectly prepared, seasoned ideally, and served faultlessly (on a fascinating collection of dishes, I should add). Leave the wine choice to your waiter - the wines we were served complemented each course, sometimes in surprising ways. (But I wouldn't want to be the poor soul who has to wash all the glassware!)

I wish I could afford to live there, but unless the Swiss Franc suddenly collapses.....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Beautiful location, wonderful staff, absolutely INCREDIBLE food and a great wine list.

Outstanding !!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waldhotel Fletschhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldhotel Fletschhorn

Also Known As:
Waldhotel Fletschhorn Saas Fee
Address: Richtung Sengg, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Waldhotel Fletschhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldhotel Fletschhorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.