We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldhotel Fletschhorn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Waldhotel Fletschhorn to your Saves list
Waldhotel Fletschhorn
Richtung Sengg, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

It is difficult not to get excited about the Waldhotel Fletschhorn....

It is location in the middle of the forest off the road leading to Saas-Fee. They collect you from the main Saas-Fee parking lot in electric car.

As soon as we arrived, we were led to our room which had breathtaking views of the Saas valley. Once it was time for dinner, we were well received by Mauren, who showed us to our table. The dining room was decorated with dark wood, rustic but elegant, with great views of the surrounding mountains. Service was attentive, accomodating but relaxed. Chef Markus' "land and sea" menu combined seasonal fresh ingredients mainly from Valais. I say the cuisine is alpine with mediterranean touches. Huge wine cellar - focus on Valais - led by Charlie, a well informed, funny and accomodating sommelier.

Highly recommended, not only for the food but for the service, rooms, atmosphere, and location.

Room Tip: The suite below the terrace is breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

It wasn't our first stay in the Fletschhorn.

We come back regulary attracted by the most excellent food of Markus Neff and the huge selection of wines.

There are very different rooms in the building and hidden under the terracce of the restaurant a further suite. The newer rooms feature very modern and stylish equipment, in few cases more stylish than functional...
Due to the location - about 20minutes walking distance from Saas Fee - it's very silent. You can really sleep completely undisturbed and wake up with nature. We even saw on several occasions on the road to the hotel moutain goats (chamois) and deers. If you are an early riser you may even see them from the hotel room.

The service is excellent. The staff is very friendly but not owerpowering. The knowledge about food and wine is perfect. We always let them choose the wines to each course of a six or nine course dinner; only rule never the same, and they manage to surprise you with excellent choices even if you stay several nights.

A further point: Unlike many restaurants the kitchen is open every day the whole day. So if you want to eat a gourmet dinner at lunch or in the afternoon, go ahead.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hidden hotel in the traffic free mountain town of Saas-Fe is simply wonderful. It is a "Gourmet" Relais & Chateau and absolutely fantastic. I must admit that it is one of the best places we have ever visited.
Excellent food, excellent wine, excellent setting.
I was really undecided as to whether to sing their praises on Tripadvisor, you know one of those little gems that you keep to yourself, just in case it becomes too popular, however that would be unfair, because they deserve all the praise they can get.
Would highly recommend it to anyone and everyone

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Our little hiking group spent four days at the Fletschhorn, and didn't want to leave, though our credit cards were groaning.

First, as a hotel, without regard to the food, the Fletschhorn is very good, if not exceptional. The rooms are spacious by European standards, and are tastefully decorated, but are fairly spare - I wouldn't call them opulent or luxurious. But no complaints - comfortable bed, good WiFi, nice big soaking tub, fabulous view from the wall-to-wall windows. The service is exceptional - my room was often made up while I had breakfast, and I never had the feeling that I was "in the way" of the housekeeping staff (in fact, I never saw them at all).

The location has its pluses and minuses. It's about a 30-minute stroll from town, through the forest, so it's very idyllic. Then again, it's not close to anything. But then again, the hotel's little electric box cabs are always at your beck and call.

But the dinners! My god, the dinners!!! Easily the best food and wine I've ever had, anywhere. We routinely had seven-course (including the amuse-bouche), three-hour meals, with a different wine with each course. Reasonable portions, however, so we never felt overfed or "stuffed." Every course was simply perfection, with the best ingredients perfectly prepared, seasoned ideally, and served faultlessly (on a fascinating collection of dishes, I should add). Leave the wine choice to your waiter - the wines we were served complemented each course, sometimes in surprising ways. (But I wouldn't want to be the poor soul who has to wash all the glassware!)

I wish I could afford to live there, but unless the Swiss Franc suddenly collapses.....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Beautiful location, wonderful staff, absolutely INCREDIBLE food and a great wine list.

Outstanding !!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

We stayed at the Fletschhorn for the 2nd time this year having found it so brilliant last time we visited. The staff couldnt be more helpful and efficient, nothing is too much trouble. The food is just magic, you cant wait to get back for dinner each evening. Although the village of Saas Fee is about a 30 minute walk through the woods if you dont feel like the walk the hotel staff will take you and collect you in their electric car. It is just amazing for a relaxing holiday or indeed a walking holiday with fantastic food at the end of the day

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

We spent 3 days at the Fletschhorn and highly recommend it if you are planning a winter vacation in the Swiss Alps.
Our trip to Saas Fee was helped by brilliant sunny weather and a good deal of snow (which fell in the days before our arrival), which left the village of Saas Fee a Disneyesque winter wonderland of snow-covered forest and chalets, but the Fletschhorn added to our pleasurable stay.
Saas Fee is closed to cars, but it seems most hotels have electric vehicles, which will take you from the parking garage to your hotel and from your hotel your restaurant, if necessary. We used this mode of transport a good deal, as the hotel is located at what seemed to be the furthest point possible in the village, at the end of long, narrow and winding path from the center of the town. The remoteness added to our sense of being in fairytale chalet, though.
We arrived in the evening quite hungry, and asking about room service were presented with the restaurant menu, which was made up of upscale offerings, including quite a bit of fish and seafood (weird considering how far saas fee is from the sea). No hamburgers or club sandwiches (they should probably consider adding a standard room service menu). After ordering, we were presented the food in our room, course by course. It was a little awkward, but the food was good (no stand outs), and the servers were very kind. Prices on the high-side, but quality was excellent. We also found this to be true on our second night, when we dined in the restaurant. And, the sommelier was very helpful when I asked about local red wines. The breakfast buffet is better than standard. Of special note: Bacon! Also a very good grape juice, reminded me of the faux cold duck I used to drink as a kid at holidays. Do not order the scrambled eggs unless you like them super runny.
I would characterize the look of the hotel chalet-luxe. Not too kitschy, lots of contemporary art on the walls. Our room was spacious, with a big jacuzzi bath and powerful shower. Typical Teutonic bed with the double comforter (which I'm starting to come around to). Can't take em home bath amenities (big glass corked bottles - one contained a yummy smelling lotion). Guest gift of a large box of chocolates, nice touch). Ample dressing area for those who ski. Wide balcony with table and view of the mountains.
Service was always extremely kind and helpful. Discounts on ski lifts and parking. There is a no frills sauna and jacuzzi in the hotel, available by reservation.
General note about Saas Fee: Very good skiing, although the sun goes behind the mountain in the winter around 1p. I am a beginner and was ballsy (and stupid) enough to try to ski from the top. Not a good idea, but there are plenty of beginner pistes and the crowd is mixed about 50/50 between skiers and snowboarders. There is also a good mix between families and teenagers. And no posh attitudes.

  • Liked — Excellent service, comfortable room
  • Disliked — no room service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldhotel Fletschhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldhotel Fletschhorn

Address: Richtung Sengg, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Waldhotel Fletschhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldhotel Fletschhorn Saas Fee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldhotel Fletschhorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.