We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable hotel a short walk to slopes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golfhotel Saaserhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Golfhotel Saaserhof to your Saves list
Golfhotel Saaserhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lehnstrasse 1 | 3906 Saas-Fee, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 55 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel a short walk to slopes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were here for a skiing holiday and much prefer to have a ski on/ski off option - this hotel provides this, just a few steps to the nursery slopes and lifts from where you can access the rest of the ski area. It is also a very easy short walk to the shops and restaurants in this lovely alpine town, which is car free. It has a spa area, which its hard for us to comment on as we didn't make use of it. The staff are all really helpful and friendly. The breakfasts are really good with plenty of choice, but we only had one evening meal, which was fine but a little on the expensive side, however there are plenty of cafes and restaurants close at hand. The rooms are very comfortable if a little warm, with basic mini bar ... but note to hotel we would have appreciated the means to make a hot drink. Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view of the mountains, but probably more so from higher up?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    24
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I went on a 5day skiing trip with three friends. The location is perfect, ski to door. Every evening we had 5 courses. Very good ski food. The staff is very helpfull. The housekeeping did a fabolous job. I would recommend this hotel for its staff and food, not for the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A hotel towards the end of the season, but excellent standards maintained. Made to feel very welcome by polite and enthusiastic staff. The rooms were of good size and maintained to a very high standard. Would recommend to any one and will certainly be going back.

Room Tip: All rooms have an excellent outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castronno, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed in this hotel twice in summer 2011 and 2012.
Both times I selected a family room, which were fine and wide even if part of furniture is a bit old. Bathroom very new. Cleanliness is perfect.
Food is very good, breakfast was excellent both for quantity and quality.
The hotel is the last building in the village directly overlooking the mountain and the glacier: view from room and balcony was breathtaking.
Swimming with downslope directly in the water greatly appreciated by my kids
(sadly the water heating system did not work once....)
The spa built directly on the rocks is really very nice and worth a visit.
Staff is very kind.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

A last minute half board holiday to the Saaserhoff / Golfhotel with a well known ski operator who puts it in the 'finest' range. This is most definitely the case! The hotel itself is 4star, with one of the best chef's in Saas-Fee who has been working at the hotel for years. It is fine dining at top level with 5 courses and you get to choose your menu that morning, so you have all day to look forward to it. There is a separate menu available for kids. Its not a quick eat, most evenings would be a 2-3 hour sitting. I saw parents take kids to bed and bring the monitor down to finish their courses. Breakfast was a buffet feast of hot - bacon, sausage, tomato / cold - ham, cheese, salmon, cured meats / eggs any style / fruit / muesli / cereals. All the staff are truly excellent, especially Petra who despite in 'training' was superb. Nothing was to much trouble. Reception staff were equally attentive and charming, especially Monica. Be prepared - It is expensive! Everything from the wine list, the daily edition 'cocktails' and they do charge for tap water. We were pleased to be HB, as you could spend a small fortune on eating out.

The room was twin beds, fresh, clean, shower and separate toilet.
Wifi was available in the room with an access code given for your stay.
There is a kids pool, slide and jacuzzi (though a bit cold) in 1 room, then there is a strictly naked zone spa. Never went in but it looked very nice. Steam / sauna / jacuzzi, over 18's only. They also had massage service, tanning machine and a gym if you had the urge.

The hotel has a basement ski room so it is door2door skiing, however this is from a blue slope drag lift, so its a fast shuse to get over the bridge, a bit of a side step up to the drag, then a ski down to the door. They have boot dryers that work overnight night. I thought the lift pass was not good value for money. Its a stunning resort but the lifts they have are old, small, slow at times and not particularly well planned as there was a lot of polling for skiers and walking for boarders. Because it's glacier skiing there are a lot of T-bar and button drag lifts. There are not so many runs compared to other resorts, 2 weeks here could be a bit of a drag...

Mountain restaurants were spacious, good food, toilets were clean. Again expensive... 2 lunches and soft drinks 20-30 quid. We had fresh snow so conditions were great for us, some slopes are south facing and would probably get very icy and some of the reds are steep and challenging. We never had long waits at the lifts, skiers and boarders were well mannered and considerate. Slopes were wide, mostly groomed and marked.

Apres ski was lively 4.30 till 6.30 then chairs and heaters were packed away and bars became very civilised restaurants.

Would I recommend Saas-Fee and the hoffhotel? Yes, definitely without a doubt. Probably the best food I have ever had on a ski holiday. Staff could not have been any better, hot showers, warm room and comfy beds.
Would I personally go back there again, probably no. The resort is small, the lift pass expensive for what you get, the Swiss Franc is crippling to the GBP and Euro and there are more places in the world to try.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front - you get some inconsiderate / pissed people entering reception late at night, ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
epsom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We wanted a comfortable hotel very close to the slopes.The room with a bath was large and comfortable but not luxurious.
Half board proved to be excellent especially as the staff took great care to cater for my wife's coeliac disease we have NEVER found any where else as conscientious about providing a good appropriate choice of food.
The drinks were very expensive but good (this is Switzerland)
The "naked spa" was good and most people used towels to preserve some modesty.
The heated ski/boot room meant warm dry ski boots each morning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Have been to this hotel twice. Great location, great food, great accommodation, but beware, they charge 5 Swiss Francs for a jug of tap water in the restaurant. We have never had to pay for tap water in any restaurant or hotel anywhere in the world so came as quite a shock!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allalin
Hotel Allalin
#3 of 55 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elite Alpine Lodge
Elite Alpine Lodge
#1 of 55 in Saas-Fee
5.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Metropol Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Dom Hotel
The Dom Hotel
#8 of 55 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#6 of 55 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Hotel  Beau-Site
Sunstar Hotel Beau-Site
#15 of 55 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golfhotel Saaserhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golfhotel Saaserhof

Address: Lehnstrasse 1 | 3906 Saas-Fee, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Saas-Fee
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saas-Fee
#9 Luxury Hotel in Saas-Fee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Saas-Fee
#22 Family Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golfhotel Saaserhof 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The team of the Golfhotel Saaserhof lives the philosophy "Fulfil the guest's wishes". For this, we offer a first class cuisine, excellent wines from our wine cellar and a forthcoming service. Without forgetting the cosy atmosphere of our rooms and family-suites.A familiar and sporty hotel situated in the heart of one of the most imposing Alpine chain in the Alps. The cosy bar with its wood of old stables from the Wallis and the fire-place is always a meeting point for our international guests. Enjoy a glass of wine, an aperitif or a cocktail while listening to stories until late into the night...Tranquillity, relaxing and regeneration in the beautiful an car free Saas-Fee. The unique climate with its pure fresh altitude air as well as the quietness within the intact nature and the huge glaciers make sure that you will spend an unforgettable stay at the Golfhotel Saaserhof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Golfhotel Saaserhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golfhotel Saaserhof Hotel Saas-Fee
Golfhotel Saaserhof Saas Fee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golfhotel Saaserhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.