We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ferienart Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Ferienart Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ferienart Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dorfweg 1, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 54 hotels in Saas-Fee
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Nice Hotel if not a little predictable in it's design and decor. One thing that was a surprise (and we didn't really like) was the strange semi-open bathroom into the bedroom - not our kind of thing and a tad of a cliche in design terms. However, the place was very clean and the food was very good, particularly breakfast.

We booked fairly late for an extra break in advance of our main ski holiday with friends later in the season and got a goodish deal, the hotel staff we perfectly polite and helpful but without particulalry going out of their way - I guess it's just the different between a hotel and a catered chalet service which is what we are used to. All in all a good stay and good value without being remarkable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    46
    20
    21
    8
See reviews for
46
84
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Upon arrival, we where treated with some drinks (wine for us and soft drinks for the kids), and where explained what to find where - and how it all worked in a very friendly matter.
Overall - all the staff was nice, friend and helpful as we had 3 kids - nothing was too much.
The staff is built up of an international crew, but all of them - no exceptions - where accommodating.

Rooms: We had a suite in the main building. All just perfectly in order. Clean, spacious (with 3 children)
Restaurant: The breakfasts are buffet style, and everything one desires is there. Dinners are served from a 3 choice set menu (for each course) , and are all delicious and brilliantly made. The waiters in the restaurant are friendly, brilliant and know what they are doing.
Spa. We only used the swimming pool which again is clean, safe for the kids and a joy to have around when you have smaller toddlers. a nice swim after a day at the pistes just completes the day. The pool closes for smaller children at 1800 so couples can also have nice quite time without any children.
Two small downsides (but nothing to reduce the excellent rating of the hotel) - the kids where in the kids club for a couple of days. The food given was nothing else than chicken nuggets with chips - 3 days in a row, and pasta with tomato sauce. A little bit more creativity would have been good for them, since they didn't eat at all. The same goes for the "enthusiasm" the entertainment team radiates. Though the kids didn't complain going there - so no issue.
The 2nd point is that the bar allows smoking after 2100hrs - which is not a big issue for me, but some people might find it annoying.
This place for sure is a 10 out of 10!! What a lovely place, we for sure will go back!!!!

Room Tip: If you have the cash - take the suites. Loads of space!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had our post Valentine Celebration here and found the place very romantic and cozy. The place was really incredible! The service was top-notch and the location superb. The only thing that was a drawback was the steep price for the room we stayed at. Lucky for us, our tab was covered by a voucher from Land Rover... If you have the dough to spare, then this place will provide you the luxury that you are looking for,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for three nights in March. I had a very beautiful twin bedroom. Comfortable bed, large closet and lots of storage place which is always good in a ski week end. Large bathtub in the room makes it luxourious. The main restautant is elegant and the food was good. Breakfast was great. The spa is large, with several different saunas/steam baths, whirlpool and a larger pool where you can swim. Service was very friendly and efficient. There is a shuttle transporting guests to the cableways which makes things easy. I can only highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A one week skiing holiday with my wife and another couple became a total success thanks to the high standards of the Ferienart hotel. Top food and service, very nice pool and spa area and large comfortable room (Rainbow). Public areas were also very comfortable and we never felt crowded in spite of the size of the hotel. The peculiar open bathroom arrangement was, however, not the best soloution as it was a bit cold to step out from the shower and a bit too warm for sleeping. A large breakfast buffet with eggs cooked to order opened already at 7 AM allowing us to hit the slopes early for the fresh overnight snow. Pricy hotel, but this kind of luxury costs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romanshorn, Switzerland
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

FERIEN RESORT & SPA SAAS-FEE SWITZERLAND
The Dryer in the Spa, the savory hors d'oeuvre on a Sunday Dinner, the unique bread shelves during breakfast, the feel at home fireplace, the luxurious bath tub and high end toilet bowl from Geberit, “Wallo” (the hotel’s “Hausgeist”) since the last 128 years, plus the friendly & nice service from the staff…these were my impressions during our 3-day stay at Ferien Resort & Spa in Saas-Fee.
Surrounded by 13 four-thousand-meter peaks, this 5-star hotel is dedicated to all Winter & Wellness Freaks out there. It is located 1,800 meters above sea level in the heart of car-free Saas-Fee. With Chalet-themed rooms and its 5 Restaurants (We were in Cäser Ritz for dinner and breakfast), it was a feeling of far away from home and yet we felt at home. The six-course choice menu during dinner was a winner which was accompanied by the best White Wines from the region.
There were some minor things though that needs to be improved. The Sauna should be supervised at all times (there were a lot of loud & noisy Germans during our stay) and they have to double check the fresh fruits being offered as (the apples tasted like fertilizer!)
Facilities Highlights: Indoor swimming pool, Sauna, Gymnastics/work-out room, Spa, Solarium, Wi-Fi available (free), Internet access available in rooms.
Day Activity Tip: Take the The Alpin-Express aerial cableway up to Allalin (the world’s highest Metro). From there, you can enjoy stunning views of the Allalin (3,500 meters above sea level), the Jungfrau in the Bernese Alps and the Italian Alps. Don’t forget to bring your camera & jackets!!! Not only that, you could also enjoy your favorite tee at the Metro Alpin, the world’s highest revolving restaurant. And if you still have the energy and the time, marvel the magical world of ice at the “Eis Pavillon”, the world’s largest ice grotto!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We chose to stay at the hotel as it offered certainty of skiing [glacier resort] as well as a very full range of spa facilities for my non skiing wife. We have stayed there before but not for the last three years.
We had opted for a South Facing room in the older part of the hotel. These are well furnished but a little 'dingier' than the new 'Rainbow' rooms in the newer building as they have lower ceilings and are 'deep' - giving a rather darker entrance area and bathrooms.
The food is always a highlight - althought you might not like the 'buffet' style of some evenings [fondue, starter and desert buffets each week require you to get up and select your own items from a really extensive choice].
We were particularly impressed by the Christmas Day Gala Dinner. This started at 19.00 with staff singing carols and then went through a six course dinner with each dish being, to us, of Michelin Star standard. It was venison for the main course and overall we thought the meal was more enjoyable [or food] that our previous Christmas day at Holbeck Gyll. Some thought service slow; we didn't considering the task being undertaken.
Each evening the house pianist played a wonderful selection of background music.
Breakfasts now offer a more extended choice of hot items including Rossti, making it easy to fill up prior to a hard day on the piste.
The rooms offered a very comfortable place to relax, our balcony facing the slopes/mountains offering fabulous views.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The taxi service to and from the slopes most days being really useful.
Less good is the service at the bar during the evenings pre dinner. More staff would have helped here.
As always the Swiss Franc makes any trip to Switzerland seem very expensive but the quality of what you get is usually high.

Room Tip: Old building has smaller rooms but with good views of the slopes from South and East facing sides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ferienart Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferienart Resort & Spa

Address: Dorfweg 1, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Saas-Fee
#8 Spa Hotel in Saas-Fee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Saas-Fee
#15 Family Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ferienart Resort & Spa 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ferienart Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferienart Resort And Spa
Ferienart Hotel Saas Fee
Ferienart Resort Saas Fee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferienart Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.