We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all reviews here are correct !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minotel Ambiente

Save Saved
You added Minotel Ambiente to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Minotel Ambiente
Saas-Fee CH - 3906, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 55 hotels in Saas-Fee
uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“all reviews here are correct !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

I booked a 6 night stay at the Hotel Ambiente on the strength of reviews on Trip Advisor, location and cost. It's advisable to stay close to the lifts in SF - this hotel is a short walk to all of them. Linda and Silvan gave us a warm welcome and made our stay very enjoyable. The evening meal is probably the best deal in town 30CHF for 4 courses. Lunch at the top - one plate and one drink cost slightly less ! There is a small sauna, otherwise facilities are limited. Our large room ( 401 ) was at the top facing the mountain, afternoon sun and stella views. There are many repeat customers here - it's easy to see why.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

Stayed with some friends for 4 nights. Very well located close to ski lifts and also to restaurants, still a quiet place.
Rooms are good, with a nice mountain view from the balcony. Free wireless internet.
The hotel is good, somewhat basic in the looks. The dinner (we had half board) was rather good but not of gourmet class (as it was advertised on the homepage). It seemed like the chef had his day off once, when most of the menu was of canned origin. The other days were better though. Breakfast was good.
The staff was very friendly, and as in most places in Saas Fee they pick you up with the electromobile when you arrive at the bus station.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Why go to Zermatt when you can have it all here without the crowds?
This was our third stay at this wonderfully located hotel offering views of the majestic mountain peaks which encircle the area on three sides. It is located in valley adjacent to Zermatt. Like Zermatt, the village of Saas Fee does not permit autos to be driven through the village. Unlike Zermatt, Saas Fee is less crowded and a little less “touristy” than Zermatt offering a pleasant and relaxed vacation haven among the Swiss Alps. In the winter, Saas Fee is the mecca for many skiers, by summer, there is summer skiing on the Allalin Glacier and endless hiking and mountain bike possibilities.
This is a family owned and operated hotel in the village of Saas Fee which provides excellent and friendly service in a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. Your primary hosts for your stay are Sylvan and Linda Bumann who are both multilingual natives of the area and very familiar with area attractions and activities.
Upon arrival to Saas Fee either by car or Post Bus, you can call the hotel directly and they will provide you with pick up service to the hotel. This is also available upon your departure by notifying the owners of your day and time of your departure.
The rooms are a nice size by European standards and offer a dial up internet connection, satellite television, shower/Jacuzzi bath combination and blow dryer. Additionally a breakfast buffet is included which has a wide assortment of breads, meats, cheeses, cereals, eggs, fruits and juices. Half board is available for an additional charge which includes a regionally inspired four course meal which would put most cruise ship fare to shame. There are also themed nights which feature fondue and racclette. In the past few years we have spent what amounts to a month at the hotel and the meals have never been a disappointment. Seconds were also available if you did not get enough the first time around.
A stay at the Ambiente will not disappoint and leave you yearning for more.If you want to see the Matterhorn, do it on a day trip to Zermatt, but by all means give Saas Fee a try.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

my wife and I stayed in the Ambiente for ten nights in july, 2009. A south faceing corner room with jacuzi bath. Pay for 7 nights and 3nights free with KUONI. We enjoyed every minute of our ten nights. We were looked after very well by Linda and the acordian playing Silvan. The meals were lovely and were asked if we wanted any more.
A super holiday and no complaints at all.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

We have recently returned from a wonderful holiday to Saas-Fee and the Hotel Ambiente.

Over the years we have been to 16 other resorts in Switzerland but none of these prepared us for the sheer scale of the scenery in and around Saas-Fee. It is quite simply breathtaking.

As for the Hotel Ambiente, which is owned by Linda and Silvan, we chose it based on the other reviews we read on Trip Advisor and a gut feeling that it would be our kind of hotel.

From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Linda we felt at home. We had a very nice room with a balcony and a brilliant view of the glaciers and the huge mountain peaks. After settling in we went down to the lounge and Silvan appeared and introduced himself to us. Both Silvan and Linda are exceptionally good hosts with Silvan being particularly good at bringing guests together. Several times he invited us to join him for coffee and schnapps and on one occasion he asked if we would like to go for a stroll through the village and call at a local bar for drinks. This we thoroughly enjoyed and are sure would not have happened in many hotels.

The food during our stay was probably the best we have experienced in Switzerland with second helpings of soup and main course always available. The presentation of the food was also first class.

We look forward to returning one day to Saas-Fee and the Hotel Ambiente.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2007

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Ambiente in April and had a wonderful time. We had a room with a balcony and best of all a jacuzzi bath which was very relaxing for our aching limbs from skiing all day! The owners of the hotel, Silvan and Linda made our stay memorable and we would definately return again. We stayed half-board which was the best choice for us. Breakfast is a buffet which had a good choice of breads,cheese,cereals,fruit, eggs, cold meats etc...and great coffee! The evening meals were also delicious. The last night It was my husbands birthday and Silvan brought out his accordian and played Happy Birthday at dinner! He also made a wonderful chocolate cake!!
The hotel is 2 minutes walk to the lifts and round the corner is a ski hire shop. Village centre is also a short walk.

  • Liked — The hosts, Silvan
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England (Australian traveller)
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2006

We stayed at the Minotel Ambiente in March, and found it to be fantastic. We were given a decent sized room with a balcony that overlooked the mountains and the ski slopes. Spectacular! And the hotel is only a 2 minute walk to the base of the slopes. Would definately stay there again!! Very friendly and helpful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Minotel Ambiente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minotel Ambiente

Address: Saas-Fee CH - 3906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 55 hotels in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Minotel Ambiente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Saas-Fee
Saas-Fee Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minotel Ambiente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.