We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great value for luxury.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunstar Hotel Beau-Site

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sunstar Hotel Beau-Site to your Saves list
Sunstar Hotel Beau-Site
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obere Dorfstrasse 30, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great value for luxury.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Much cheaper than some of the other luxury hotels in Saas Fee, but their standards are high here. The hotel is constantly cleaned and the rooms were spotless. Our suite was very spacious and accommodating. They don't nickel and dime you for things here.

Lots of free amenities, pool, juice, apples, minibar (no charge). Regardless of what some websites state, there is no exercise room here.

The staff was very friendly. They were not always knowledgeable about the area but certainly were always friendly.

I have stayed in a lot of hotels and this one certainly ranks near the top.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garysteciuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaus H, Manager at Sunstar Hotel Beau-Site, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. It was great to have your here. We're really looking forward to welcoming you soon.

The whole Sunstar Beau Site Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Sunstar Beau Site is a small, friendly hotel in the heart of Saas Fee. We had a "family room" - actually a suite with a double bedroom, a separate smaller room with two bunks, and a bathroom. The rooms were a good size with plenty of storage space for bulky ski clothes (including a useful rubber mat for wet boots). Reception was exceptionally helpful - one of our daughters fell ill and they arranged a doctors appointment the same day - as were the porters who were always ready to drive us around the resort in one of the hotel's electric buggies (the only type of vehicle allowed in the village). The playroom was a big hit with the kids as was the pool. A number of reviewers have commented that the pool was cold - it's kept around 28 degrees which is perfect for actual swimming, admittedly perhaps a tad cool if you just want to float around.

The hotel is in the centre of town on the main street with a ski hire shop downstairs, a supermarket across the street and plenty of restaurants and cafes close by. It's about a 10 minute walk from the main ski lifts - if you don't fancy lugging your equipment over every day, as well as the hotel buggy there is a free bus service that stops close by, or you can leave your equipment at the Cesar Sport depot by the slopes (CHF 3 per day, with heated boot hangers to keep them dry).

We stayed half board which at CHF41 per person for four courses (half price for kids) is a good deal given the cost of food in local restaurants (e.g. CHF25 for a cheeseburger...). Service was efficient - most nights our kids did not last the full 4 courses but at least they could head off to the playroom while we finished.

My only (very minor) criticisms of the hotel are that the pillows provided very little support (we stuffed them with cushions from the sofa) and the timing of the evening turndown was somewhat inflexible - I suspect because it is a relatively small hotel and so they have fewer staff than in a larger establishment. Despite these niggles, I would have no hesitation returning to the Beau Site.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misterpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and our three children ages 8, 7 and 7 just spent the holidays in Saas Fee at the Sunstar Beau-Site hotel. We had a great time. Saas-Fee and the skiiing was was and the village was beautiful. the Sunstar hotel was outstanding. The Family room was perfect with our kids. The hotel was very clean and well appointed. The staff was very nice and we felt welcomed with our children. Also we had the meal plan the the food was outstanding. They put together a fun New Years Eve celebration involving the entire family. I would highly recommend the Beau-Site hotel and Saas Fee in general.

Room Tip: Family room was great for a family of 5. Our room had a nice view of the village and the beaufiful m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank South691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This hotel, part if the Sunstar group, gives reasonable accommodation at a fair price.
it is centrally located with a Cesar ski hire shop underneath and has a very pleasant sun terrace at the front next to the ski room for an apres ski beer. Avoid the old part of the hotel on the top floor which is poor value/dated and outside fire regs from what we saw! The new wing is much better although some rooms have a shower and no bath. The hotel taxi will take you to the slopes every 15 minutes of a morning from 8.30 free of charge but it is 10 chuffs to pick you up when you come down if you dont want to wait for the free ski bus which is way too small.
i took my friends, who are intermediate skiiers, and it was ideal for a short stay. There were some more challening runs but not enough for more than 2/3 days. Del Ponte is a great itialian restaurant in the village only 200 metres away. Be warned Saas Fee is no Zermatt but has much to recommend it if you dont mind some t-bars and want to save some money.

Room Tip: Choose the new wing and avoid the older higher rooms in the old part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Great hotel. 4* for facilities but 5* for ambience. Beautiful, traditional rooms and restaurants. Perfect location with views of the mountain bowl and little skiers shooting up and down the slopes.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LibbyKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

We stayed for a week in August and had a family apartment which was wonderful, spotlessly clean ( though no tea and coffee making facilities in the room). The spa and pool were lovely, staff very helpful and spoke good English, my German isn't up to much. The hotel is right in the middle of the village and has a lovely terrace to sit out on and have a drink. The breakfast was a bit of a disappointment, no variation throughout the week, no hot food apart from a boiled egg. Small pieces of cheese or meat and lots of bread and cereals. Would definitely recommend a stay here, I thought it looked the nicest hotel in the village.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seren0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

We really liked our stay at the Romantik Hotel Beau-Site. Our room was quiet and comfortable, and the food at breakfast and at La Ferme was very good. The young woman who checked us in could not have been cuter or sweeter. The complimentary prosecco was very nice, too. It's an incredible deal in pricey Switzerland that you get free gondola tickets with your stay, since the cost of our 2 trips up to the Hannig hiking area (flat area for hiking at the beginning, then a steeper ascent into town, past grazing sheep) and to the Allalin (great high mountain views, could see people skiing in mid-July) was the same as the cost of our room. We were able to check out at 10 A.M., store our luggage, use the gondolas until 2 P.M. , and then get a free lift to the carpark area. We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.2 mi away
The Dom Hotel
The Dom Hotel
#13 of 54 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Allalin
Hotel Allalin
#4 of 54 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Capra Saas-Fee
The Capra Saas-Fee
#1 of 54 in Saas-Fee
5.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#19 of 54 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elite Alpine Lodge
Elite Alpine Lodge
#2 of 54 in Saas-Fee
5.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#6 of 54 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Hotel Beau-Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Hotel Beau-Site

Address: Obere Dorfstrasse 30, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Saas-Fee
#6 Luxury Hotel in Saas-Fee
#15 Family Hotel in Saas-Fee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Hotel Beau-Site 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site Saas-Fee is in the centre of this car-free glacier village, set amid wonderful mountain scenery. The historic features of the hotel blend harmoniously with its elegant décor and modern conveniences. The rooms are spacious and luxuriously fitted out, and no two are the same. All rooms have been tastefully decorated using local timbers, fine fabrics and top-quality materials. Those in certain categories have a balcony. A friendly and attentive team of staff provides hospitality with a personal touch. Gourmets are treated to speciality dishes in the homely "La Ferme" restaurant and in the "Fee Chäller". The stylish lounge with its open fireplace is an inviting place to round off the day in good company. For soothing relaxation, there is also a small but smart spa centre, with indoor pool, sauna, thermal baths and massage treatments. Saas-Fee and the surrounding area offer numerous opportunities for excursions and adventure for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Sunstar Hotel Beau-Site reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Beau Site
Romantik Hotel Saas Fee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing