We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming cozy restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arvu Stuba

Arvu Stuba
Dorf Platz (I think) | 3906, Saas-Fee, Switzerland
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 60 Restaurants in Saas-Fee
Cuisines: Swiss
Description: Arvu Stuba is referred on lots of table booking sites - but I cant find a website for them
Restaurant details
Description: Arvu Stuba is referred on lots of table booking sites - but I cant find a website for them
Budoia, Italy
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Charming cozy restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were hunting for a good traditional Swiss restaurant and found this place here on Trip Advisor. We were pleased to find it was only a short walk from our hotel The Dom. The name Arvu Stube is not on the building. You will see a little arch saying Swiss Alpine Style for the entrance to the stairs up to the restaurant. We were treated by a nice waiter that placed us at a cozy corner booth. He was kind suggesting a couple local dishes and drinks that paired well with our two fondue choices. Based on his suggestion we tried their local dry white wine called Hieda. It is similar to a Chardonnay but complimented the cheese fondue perfectly! The best part of the night was the great prices for the quality of food. Saas-Fee is expensive but felt Arvu Stube was a budget friendly delicious meal!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A true Swiss food experience in a charming atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The food was typically Swiss, the service was great and friendly although a bit slow and the atmosphere was really charming. Beware of the strong melted cheese smell, better put your coats in the wardrobe!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Genuine stuben”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We liked the genuine feel to the restaurant and the food was OK, but since it was "dinner time" and they all of a sudden filled up, they seemed very overwhelmed as if this had never happened before, so service suffered for a while. All in all not bad, but don't be too hungry or in a hurry when you go there at peak hours.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Traditional Swiss food in charming Saas-Fee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Arvu Stuba has great Swiss food, and lots of it! Fondue, Wallis teller, sausages, meat, etc. Everyone in our group of six something different to eat and the entire table was happy! A definite go-to restaurant when staying in Saas-Fee.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Romantic, delicious, authentic Swiss meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

What a lovely restaurant!

Went after a long day on the slopes. Totally charmed by the cozy atmosphere, attentive service, and delicious fondue. We were advised by the young guy at the hotel that this is the best cheese fondue in Saas-Fee. Then, trying to find the restaurant, these sentiments were repeated exactly by a woman who directed us to this little gem!

Lovely light wood interior, perhaps too brightly lit- with woodcarved panels on the walls and intimate tables. We ordered the Muscat Fondue- fondue plus a bottle of wine- which was absolutely great. My Swiss boyfriend completely agreed.

Lots of other Swiss specialties, too. All in a cozy, lovely atmosphere. Go here!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arvu Stuba also viewed

Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
 
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Arvu Stuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arvu Stuba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.