We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All-round Fondue Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vieux Chalet

Vieux Chalet
Untere Dorfstr. 30, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
+41 27 957 28 92
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 57 Restaurants in Saas-Fee
Price range: $15 - $46
Cuisines: Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Vieux Chalet is a cosy Valais style restaurant. It is divided in two floors, and the upper floor is suitable for groups, families and clubs up to 30 persons. Our specialities: 20 different homemade cheese fondues * Fondue fun * Raclette * Rösti * Meat fondue Bourguignonne and Chinoise * Chocolat fondue * local wines * The smoker bar, which is completely seperated from the restaurant has Wireless. In other all big sport events get shown live over Teleclub and Ski Sport.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“All-round Fondue Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Although this seems to be a Saas-Fee staple we missed it on our 1st trip but went on both our 2nd & 3rd trips. Always busy so make reservation. Very focused on fondue but other traditional dishes are available. First time had cheese fondue and was very good, but not as good as Arvu Stube. The meat fondue is more impressive; had great meat fondue, good choice of sauces, delicious fries, couldn't finish our meal. Very content and will definitely return. Good for families or couples.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“3 FONDEU”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Reasonable restaurant and for Swiss standards affordable and service is ok. We took the 3 Fondue and you can choose 3 types of fondue for 2. The local one with tomato is excellent and the one with truffle is top. They have a good wine list with amazingly good affordable local Wallis wines. If you want to have a nice local experience a good recommendation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Slow service, good Chinoise (meat) fondue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We arrived early and were told to wait in the adjacent fumoir. People arriving after us were served faster (even though we had booked). Food redeemed ineffectual service. Would be higher rated if better staffed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Three way fondue...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We were recommended a visit here by the Saas Fee tourist office to try the three in one fondue. The novelty didn't disappoint although the service and atmosphere were a little lacking.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowland, lincolnshire, uk
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Straightforward and offers what one expects”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Not the most remarkable place. Everything about it ok, food, service and pricing. Don't sit near the door though as despite the closed porch, a wind blows though with every entrance and exit. Sit in the lower part to the right of the entrance.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vieux Chalet also viewed

Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
 
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Vieux Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vieux Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.