We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chalet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Hotel Ambassador

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saas-Fee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Hotel Ambassador
Save
You added Chalet Hotel Ambassador to your Saves list
Postfach 149, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Chalet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Havingjust returnedd from a 10 day stay in the Ambassador I had to write this review we have had such a loevly time the staff of Ruth Jordan Vicki Anna Kate and kat could not do enough for you they were so friendly and helpful and always pleasant. This is our 3rd Chalet stay and in ther summer twice in Saas Fee andit was definately the best. The rooms were clean but could do with new carpets. Food was out of this world 1000 thimes better then what we recieved in a 4 Star in Ruhpolding in Germany last year.

Thanks Ruth and all your staff for making our holiday

Janet and Paul Reilly
Stafford












stay

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leics
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Had the greatest time here. Can only re iterate the previous reviews that the hotels success is down to the great staff they had in there this year. Everything was spotless the food was fab & service excellent. The hotel is a bit tired & the wellness centre needs an overhaul but, the majority of the bedrooms are huge (avoid room 36 only because it didn't get the sun other than at 8 in the morning!). The location is really good. I would not hesitate in recommending the Ambassador to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

I have just come back from a lovely skiing holiday in Saas Fee. This is the first time we'd used ski total so didn't know what to expect. Overall the holiday exceeded my expectations.

The flight & transfers were comfortable. The chalet has an excellent location really close to the nursery slopes and lifts. The rooms and general areas are a little bit tired in terms of decor but are clean and comfortable. What set this place apart were the staff and the food! I don't think I've ever stayed at such a welcoming place. We were well really well looked after. All the staff took the time to learn our names!

The chef and his team were awesome. The food here was better than some 4 star hotels I've stayed in. Shame that we can't guarantee that the same team will be there next season.

We were lucky with the weather too so overall this was an excellent holiday.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

I still have no idea what is the official star rating for Chalet Hotel Ambassador in Saas Fee, but i would class it as fantastic 2.5 or 3 ***. It is what it is, clean, great location staffed by sweet personnel who are doing a fab job in a chalet with dated decor and ambiance. Food was varied and plenty. We paid very little money for the hotel, flights, transfers for HB accommodation, however i won't be alone in saying that we felt we were there All Inclusive basis. We had good breakfast, afternoon tea, coffee, soup, salads, various other hot drinks, jam, honey, marmalade, fruit and carrot cakes etc. Then for the evening, choice of 2 starters, 2 mains, pudding and coffe, all served with choice of 2 red and white wines. Almost forgot the cheese board in the end! :-) All in all - i loved it and our party of 16 loved it. Please have a look at my pictures to make your mind up!

Esprit-holidays / Total, who operates the hotel / holidays, are pretty good and very spot on with their management. No glitches,, however they need to spend some money and time to renovate few tired bits and bobs. But for now, thanks to them for making my holiday a pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We have just got back from a week in Saas Fee at the Chalet Ambassador, run by Total Ski, and can highly recommend this chalet hotel. It is large (has about 40 to 50 guests when full) and has great food, a nice bar and lounge area where you can catch up with fellow guests and is very well positioned for the slopes as it is only a five minute walk to the Plattjen and Langluh lifts or a couple of small drag lifts to take you up to the Felskinn cable car. This is a big advantage for Saas Fee - some of the other chalets were a good 20 to 30 minute walk from the lift system, which is not fun when carrying skis and wearing ski boots.

The rooms are also great - about twice the size of what we are used to in a chalet - and ours had a private balcony facing the slopes as well as a sofabed and easy chair. My only gripe would be that they have lots of hanging space but very little shelving or drawer space, but that is being very picky. The decor is a little 70's/80's (think brown and beige curtains and stripey furniture) but clean and well maintained. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

In my opinion perfect in every sense.

Location - excellent. Central to Saas Fee. Only a few minutes walk to the three main ski-lifts with the ability to ski back to the other side of the road from the hotel.

Hospitality - couldn't fault it. A hosted Chalet Hotel by Ski-Total whose members of staff made our stay enjoyable from the moment that we checked in; at breakfast nothing too much trouble; during the day - when a ski-hosting service was available for six days a week; during afternoon tea - where fresh cakes, biscuits, fruit and refreshments were always made available; and during the evening - providing an excellent dinner service, pre and post dinner drinks available from the value-for-money bar (with happy hour up until dinner!) and entertainment after dinner.

Food & Drink - Plenty of quality food. Always offering vegetarian selections. Breakfast was an ample buffet of juices, fruit, yoghurts, cereals, bread, croissants, cold meats, cheeses, teas and coffees. In addition hot food was prepared on an invidual basis several days of the week - with options such as porridge, scrambled eggs, eggy bread, bacon etc., on offer. Hot pancakes were also always available with a choice of sauces/toppings.

A packed lunch was available for a nominal fee - comprising bread roll with choice of fillings, crisps, water and fruit. Certainly much better value than using the mountain restaurants.

Afternoon tea was a welcome ritual at the end of a day's skiing with a selection of biscuits, cakes, pastries, fruit, teas and coffees available in the lounge, and a chance to catch up with fellow guests and swap ski stories.

Happy hour was available from afternoon until dinner was served, offering reduced price drinks from the bar.

Just before dinner canapes and complimentary drinks were always served.

Dinner - Always a choice and comprising four courses - the last course comprising chocolates or cheese and biscuits (and sometimes both!). The quantity of quality of the food was faultless and served with a choice of unlimited complimentary wine.

Comfort - A relaxing lounge/stroke bar area with plenty of seating provided a place to socialise in comfort. Our bedroom was spacious, quiet and also comfortable - with TV, balcony, sofa, refridgerator, bath and shower.

Facilities - Apart from the usual facilities that you would expect such as bar, lounge, dining areas, games room, ski-room etc., The Ambassador also has an indoor pool, small gym area, jacuzzi, sun-bed, sauna and plunge pool.

We enjoyed the experience so much, in terms of the overall ambience and facilities offered at the hotel and also the excellent service offered by Ski Total, that not only would we book with them again - we have done already!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

This hotel run by Total Ski helped make our trip last week really special. Great friendly staff, food, bar & pool. Rooms are really large compared to usual. Very good value for money. Location next to piste also perfect!

Stayed February 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Ambassador

Address: Postfach 149, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 208

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Hotel Ambassador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.