We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of good food for a great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant La Gorge

Restaurant La Gorge
Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
+41 27 958 16 80
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 59 Restaurants in Saas-Fee
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Steinbach, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lots of good food for a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We went for the day's suggestion, a four-course meal at an unbeatable price. Luckily, we had made reservations. It is hard to get a seat otherwise especially with a party of four. Service was quick, friendly, efficient. Quality was implacable. We go there at least once every time we are in Saas-Fee, ie, on a yearly basis. The restaurant has stayed on our list of favourites since 2000.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Great food, lovely atmosphere well worth a visit. A great selection of local cuisine nicely presented. Suitable for cosy meals for two as well as large groups and families.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food - expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Good food - expensive. Rostis good and filling. Staff helpful but long waits on Wednesday night, chalet staff night off.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Tasty, pretty, pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Our experience was so much different . The restaurant looks like a castle, the interior is warm, the staff pleasant and interested in pleasing you and the food excellent ( Roesti, salad and calf liver ). I am one of those guys who only tip when I feel I received good service and had a special experience and at La Gorge I left a big one.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you are a tourist, we suggest you try somewhere else.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We turned up at this beautiful location, full of promise of a romantic candlelight dinner overlooking the stunning gorge. However, the experience was seriously lacking.

We were placed on a table which had been hastily put together (notwithstanding other empty tables which remained so throughout our meal) and did not have the other 'standard' decorations (candle, flowers etc).

We ordered our meal. Yet, locals who arrived after we did received their main courses before we received our starters.

When we were about to receive our main course, the waiter placed some plate warming candles on our table (which we assumed was for our meal). Shortly afterwards they brought our main course.

When we were about half way through eating our main course, the waiters came with our neighbours order and promtly started to serve from our table using the heaters they had placed on our table to keep their meal warm - treating us like the 'poor relative'.

We did not finish our meal and left. They offered us a 'better table' next time we visited - which clearly states that they knew the table they had given us was sub-standard.

We cannot recommend anyone eat here.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Gorge also viewed

Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
 
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Restaurant La Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant La Gorge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.