We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food & superb service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Walliserkanne

Restaurant Walliserkanne
Lomattenstrasse 7 | Hotel Allalin, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
027 958 10 18
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 56 Restaurants in Saas-Fee
Price range: $16 - $55
Cuisines: European, Dessert, Seafood, Steakhouse, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Ightham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food & superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We have eaten at the Walliserkanne many times and I it is an enjoyable experience every time. The quality of the food is top notch and the service is truly professional ( something that is often lacking ). If the set menu appeals go for it ! Fantastic value and a true fine dining experience.
Can't wait to go back !

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, Kent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This family run hotel and restaurant is unique. We have eaten at this restaurant for about 10 years and the quality of the food and service never disappoints. The set menu is brilliant value for money for a fine dining experience. 5 courses of delicious, well presented cuisine. We shall be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“For the best in evening meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stay at the Allalin every year we're in Saas Fee so we're very familiar with their restaurant. It's always 5 star taste, 5 star presentation and is totally international cuisine. If you stay in Saas Fee but don't stay at the Allalin, you owe it to yourself to have at least one evening meal at their Walliserkanne restaurant.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great hotel - mediocre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This hotel is well run (of course - it is Swiss after all). The rooms are designed well and the staff are professional.

BUT the quality of the food- specifically the main courses, are far below the level of quality that their prices suggest. The food is over salted, the meat is almost always over cooked and the vegetables mushy. And whatever you do avoid their buffet at all costs.

If the prices were lower, this might be acceptable, but for all of its high-end swiss-kitsch style, this restaurant might want to think of hiring a real chef. On the other hand , to be fair, how many Swiss restaurants are there outside of Switzerland?

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012 via mobile

I had a great dinner at Walliserkanne, which I would recommend to anyone staying in Saas-Fee. I loved the decor and atmosphere - exactly what I was looking for when coming to Switzerland. The service was very friendly and the food was excellent! We had beef carpaccio, veal and a wonderful passion fruit dessert. I am definitely coming back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Walliserkanne also viewed

Saas-Fee, Valais
Saas-Fee, Valais
 

Been to Restaurant Walliserkanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Walliserkanne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.