We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rustic gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schaeferstube

Schaeferstube
Saas-Fee, Switzerland
027 957 2537
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 60 Restaurants in Saas-Fee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Swiss
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful rustic gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The restaurant is quite a hike uphill from town but it's worth it! We went for dinner and sat inside which was very cosy. The waitress was friendly and helpful and translated and described everything on the dessert menu for us! Our meal was excellent and the chef even gave us free asparagus soup, which was a wonderful delicious surprise! The steak was perfectly cooked (medium rare) and the lamb stew with rosti hit the spot after a tiring day on the slopes.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    18
    3
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Food is still good but where have all the good waiters gone??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This place has been on our must visit list for at least 5 years now. We have always enjoyed the cozy authentic atmosphere and food. The food is still good but somewhere the organization is getting lost! The waitress was A) not friendly and B) not very good! We waited very long time between appetizer and main course, to the point I was falling asleep! However when it arrived the filet was really perfectly cook and very high quality. I hope the management takes note and try's to get better staff because the current front of the restaurant will drive diners away.....

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had a very nice dinner here. The soups for starters were rich and very fresh. For the main, half of the group had the chefs recommended lamb stew with rosti and the others had a steak. For the steak you can choose which side dish you want (rosti, fries, potatoes gratin, etc) as well as the size of the steak. The meat was very tender and the side dishes were very nice.

As usual in Switzerland, the food is not cheap, but it was definitely worth it! I highly recommend it for a winter evening after a long day of skiing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We skiied in for lunch - great to be able to do that! My wife and I shared a large portion of rosti with ham and a fried egg on top washed down with a beer each. The food was good and the service was fine. It was great sitting outside eating in the sun, although it was still cold. My wife, who doesn't ski, found it an easy walk from the village. The prices were reasonable for Sass Fee.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely romantic place, good food! Lack of service! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

During this stay we were here already 3 times. The food was always good. Lamb salad, steak, Rösti worth of trying. The terrace is nice for sunny lunch even in winter. If you are a group of ap. 8-12 people ask to book a small room with a chimney near the entrance, it is very cosy no mater lunch or dinner. As was said, this Restorant must visit during your stay in Saas Fee to get a real feeling of staying in Alps. The prices are quite high as always in Saas Fee, but not higher then in very mediocre Pizzeria down the hill on the Main Street, but the quality of the food is 10 times better.
One star off for the service! They do not have a team work. One waiter is good another never smiles and forgets the order. Other one can make a mistake in you bill. If they would work it out, it would be just perfect place to enjoy your lunch or dinner alone or with party!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schaeferstube also viewed

Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
 
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Schaeferstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schaeferstube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.